Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Looking for opinions on wedges

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kookk
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-11-03

PostSubject: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:48 pm

I am looking to replace my very tired looking wedges. Currently using a 54/60 Cleveland CG10 combination if I rcall correctly. Would probably get a 52/58 combination this time round to even the lofts with my 46PW.

Would be considering the 4 wedges below,
- Clevelad CG15 because I am familiar with Cleveland Wedges ($149 from Panwest)
- Mizuno MP T10/11 coz' they look nice and match my Mizuno iron set ($???)
- Taylormade XFT wedges coz' they are cheap ($99 at Golf Direct)
- Titliest Vokeys coz' they are so popular ($170 at Golf Direct)

I will be going out to feel them but thought it would be great to get some views here especially from those who have had experiences with more than one. Most of the reviews on internet says they are all great.


Last edited by Kookk on Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
james
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 104
Join date : 2010-12-12
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:09 pm

Kkk, in my opinion CG10 is the best. I used to use them few years ago and changed to TM wedges. Still like Cleveland better. Maybe consider going for CG15
Back to top Go down
Kookk
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:15 pm

james wrote:
Kkk, in my opinion CG10 is the best. I used to use them few years ago and changed to TM wedges. Still like Cleveland better. Maybe consider going for CG15

Is Panwest only only place selling them at $149?
Back to top Go down
daveaha
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3179
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 40
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:34 pm

I prefer TM wedges. Vokey is slightly heavier than TM's one.
Back to top Go down
http://www.nufc.sg
james
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 104
Join date : 2010-12-12
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:35 pm

Im not sure if golf direct carry the CG15.
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:38 pm

not long ago, i happen to have a chance to try Nakashima wedge...and the wedge are superb.

usually wedge had alot to do with the sole grinding and this wedge's sole grinding is superb and make wedge shot so much easier and fun...
Back to top Go down
james
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 104
Join date : 2010-12-12
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:51 pm

golf_snowman wrote:
not long ago, i happen to have a chance to try Nakashima wedge...and the wedge are superb.

usually wedge had alot to do with the sole grinding and this wedge's sole grinding is superb and make wedge shot so much easier and fun...

How much does it cost? Where to find?
Back to top Go down
Kookk
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:58 pm

golf_snowman wrote:
not long ago, i happen to have a chance to try Nakashima wedge...and the wedge are superb.

usually wedge had alot to do with the sole grinding and this wedge's sole grinding is superb and make wedge shot so much easier and fun...

Wa! Where to find such exotic wedges?
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:37 pm

Kookk wrote:
I am looking to replace my very tired looking wedges. Currently using a 54/60 Cleveland CG10 combination if I rcall correctly. Would probably get a 52/58 combination this time round to even the lofts with my 46PW.

Would be considering the 4 wedges below,
- Clevelad CG15 because I am familiar with Cleveland Wedges ($149 from Panwest)
- Mizuno MP T10/11 coz' they look nice and match my Mizuno iron set ($???)
- Taylormade XFT wedges coz' they are cheap ($99 at Golf Direct)
- Titliest Vokeys coz' they are so popular ($170 at Golf Direct)

I will be going out to feel them but thought it would be great to get some views here especially from those who have had experiences with more than one. Most of the reviews on internet says they are all great.

From a purely personal perspective:

CG 15 - I haven't tried them out yet though I have one for when my other wedges wear out. I hear they feel and perform beyond expectations. Lookswise, the leading edge is rounded to the point of protruding past the hosel of which there is already some offset. It's a look that takes getting accustomed to, especially if you have been used to straight leading edges.

MP T10/11 - Tried the MPTs a long while back and found them to be adequate in all departments, and not outstanding in any. I expected them to feel softer being grain forged, or perhaps they had a smaller sweetspot and was therefore more jarring when hit off center.

XFTs - Currently still on my Y Cutters, the shape, balance and feel of which I like very much. Not sure how far that differs from the XFTs which are of the same consistently maintained wedge shapes from Y Cutters to Z Cutters and the XFTs as well. Find the TM Y and Z Cutter wedges were either lighter or balanced to my preference versus the other popular brands of wedges. The XFTs are a little heavier and closer in weight and balance to other wedges and should have a soft feel with the Poron layer between the face and the head. Also prefer the straighter leading edge of the TM wedges which doesn't confuse my alignment.

Vokeys - Very popular as you say, but I find the sweet spot and head too small, requiring more precision when playing them. Mishits tend to feel harsh as well. The face and grooves of the Vokeys tend to shred ball covers way faster than other wedges, but it does give massive amount of spin (if hit correctly).
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:46 pm

Birdie...amazing, I have the same views on those wedges as yours exactly. CG 15 good but rounded edge is love or hate factor, Mizzy is actually not soft, and TM xft is heavier and softer and has nice leading edge, Vokey spins a lot but I dont like the feel except the 58 black ni

just to add, vokeys are very prone to scratches on the face. I owned one, very new then hit bunker once, afterwards it look like a 6 months old wedge. Look at the marketplace pics on vokeys, all look very worn.

I'd recommend TM xft. Best combination of value, shiok feeling, durability (can change face) and easy to hit.
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:13 am

Lol, looks my personal opinion not so personal after all PS.

Agree with you too on the TM Wedges, best value for money all around.

Soft feel, weighted just right, forgiving, durable and versatile cos face can change to conforming or not conforming, hi-tech satin chrome good looks, and best of all, just $99 at you know where.

FORE! Swing


Last edited by Birdman on Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:14 am

i use the CG15 56* DSG, so it opens up really nicely with no change in bounce.

and CG14 60* which i seldom use except for shots where i really need the loft.

_________________
Callaway Razr Fit Xtreme 10.5* Ahina 60 R
PRGR EGG Spoon 15* MRC Fubuki Alpha 70S
Adams Super Hybrid XTD 19* MRC Fubuki AH R
Adams A12 Pro 23* GD Tour AD UT85 R
Callaway X Hot Pro 5-PW PX95 5.5
Titleist SM4 50*, 54*, 58* DG Spinner
Scotty Studio Select 2012 Golo 33"
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
Kookk
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 579
Join date : 2010-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:21 am

Thanks for the detailed inputs guys. Went to look and feel the wedges and somehow, I am inclining to the CG 15s.

The XFTs felt nice but I can't decide on the look. Somehow, I seem to prefer the traditional look.

Felt the MTs and the Quad cut grooves look mean. Somehow the club did not feel balanced to me.

Couldn't really feel the Vokeys but had to try it just for popularity sick.

Looks like I gotta look deeper into XFTs and CG15s


Last edited by Kookk on Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:41 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:33 am

eiji wrote:
i use the CG15 56* DSG, so it opens up really nicely with no change in bounce.

and CG14 60* which i seldom use except for shots where i really need the loft.

Sorry bro, allow me to make a correction here, DSG or Dynamic Sole Grind has variable bounce rather than no change in bounce. The front half of the sole is high bounce for when you set the wedge square on full shots, it does the job of the usual bounce on wedges. The back half of the sole is ground away so when you open up the face, you get a low bounce which keeps the leading edge closer to the ground for play off tighter lies and also makes it easier to slide the leading edge under the ball on flop shots.

DSG is also designed for the more experienced or skilled golfer since it makes the sole not as forgiving as regular wide uniform soled wedges with one consistent bounce angle. So it's important to know your skill and experience level before one decides to settle on the various 'pro' grinds like DSG, C or S. Or one could end up skulling or chunking your wedge shots more than before.

Such grinds take getting used to but once you learn how to and are comfortable with it, they make your wedge very much more versatile.

As a general gauge to decide on choosing wedges with grinds like DSG, if one is not yet proficient or confident enough with playing a variety of shots from full to flop with the 60 degree lob wedge, then one should think twice before considering such 'pro' grinds.
Back to top Go down
simoner
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1111
Join date : 2010-09-20

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:16 pm

Kookk wrote:
golf_snowman wrote:
not long ago, i happen to have a chance to try Nakashima wedge...and the wedge are superb.

usually wedge had alot to do with the sole grinding and this wedge's sole grinding is superb and make wedge shot so much easier and fun...

Wa! Where to find such exotic wedges?

For Nakashima wedges, you can look up for The Golf Studio @ Ubi Ave 1, operated by Mark Higgs. Do note that Nakashima clubs are very nice but not many people can handle hor....

I would incline towards CG15.

Can anyone advise if the lie angle of the CG15 can be tweaked?
Back to top Go down
voxster
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 24
Join date : 2011-05-17

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Wed May 18, 2011 12:28 am

i have used clevelands CGs and Vokeys before.
CGS are more forgiving, while Vokeys are more suited for low handicappers
Back to top Go down
jamezponk
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 405
Join date : 2011-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Wed May 18, 2011 8:15 am

Go for titleist bro Smile best feel of them. My personally view. After u buy the wedges u like still boils down to practicing with them before can harness the true effect of the spin and bounce Smile
Back to top Go down
Online
voxster
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 24
Join date : 2011-05-17

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Wed May 18, 2011 8:59 am

Yup, i alternated between clevelands and vokeys for a while.
Experiment with different wedges to see which one suits your game more
Back to top Go down
solarpop
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 390
Join date : 2009-06-22

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Thu May 19, 2011 11:33 pm

Switched to Mizuno MP T-11, and i'm now wondering why i stuck with Vokeys for such a long time. To me, Vokeys feel harsh and dead. The MP T-11, on the other hand, feels nice and soft just like the rest of the Mizuno forged irons. I've got mixed feelings about the DG Spinner shafts that come stock with the MP T-11 though. They seem to work fine for chipping and pitching, but anything more than half swing and it feels abit funny. Don't really know how to describe it.

In a nutshell, for the same price range i feel that Mizuno produces a better product, in terms of quality (forged vs cast), feel, and performance. Doubt i will ever go back to using Vokeys.. i'm starting to think it's all just marketing.
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri May 20, 2011 8:39 am

honma for me. No one makes em like the Japs.
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Fri May 20, 2011 9:21 am

being a Nike Slut, i use a Nike wedge

in fact, i'm still looking for 52deg VR wedge...wonder anyone selling ?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Looking for opinions on wedges   Today at 8:08 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Looking for opinions on wedges
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Looking for opinions on wedges
» lie angle of wedges
» Cleveland CG16 Wedges
» Taylormade xFT Wedges
» Cleveland CG15 Wedges

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Golf Equipment-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.