Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Zen ZAM review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:54 pm

Hi all,

I wanted to share my experience with Eric (DGman) at BFG and the Zen ZAM putter that I recently was fit for there.

So long story short, I have had an issue with putting my entire professional career and it was not until a few years ago when I was on staff with TM that I was ever fit for a putter. That was an eye opening experience as it illustrated not only the style of putter that I should be using, but also the loft, lie, grip, and length. So having a basic idea and being intrigued by the Zen putters we decided to go through a short fitting and have a putter made to my specs by Eric over at BFG.

I ended up with a Zen ZAM at 35 inches and several degrees flat, and a headweight of 360 grams. I used my old putter grip as I was used to the feel and wanted to recreate it with the Zen. An hour later, and after several loft and lie tweaks to get it correct for my eye, I was on my way.

Day1: Sembawang C.C.

I have to say that I was not that impressed with the putter the first day out. I had 3 three putts and only 1 one putt over the course of 9 holes. The heavier head and slower greens were a tough combo for me. That equated to 20 putts for the nine holes. Not a good first day. I was so worried that I called Eric and suggested we maybe add length or go to a different head shape. He provided me some assurance and told me to be patient and that the greens at Sembawang can be notoriously grainy and slow. So I took his advice and left the putter alone.

Day 2: Tanah Merah C.C.

This was a much better outing and one where I actually learned to appreciate the roll that I was seeing from the putter. Apparently one of the technological advantages of the Zen is the roll that it puts on the ball, and to be honest it was evident that day. I really started to see the great roll this putter was capable of. The greens were much nicer than at Sembawang and allowed me to actually get a feel for the putter. I made a few more putts and reduced my 3 putts to one. So I had reduced the putts from 20 on day 1 to a more manageable 16 on day 2. Still not great numbers, but I was starting to see the potential of this putter. I was starting to get used to the weight and how I needed to stroke the putter accordingly.

Day 3: Laguna C.C.

Again after my round at Tanah Merah I was a little more excited about the Zen and what it might be capable of. I have to say I was rather surprised with the performance at Laguna. I will not bore you with details, but the bottom line looks like this: 5 birdies (all one putts), one 3 putt (from 80 feet), and several other one putts mixed in with some two putts. Adding all that up I saw a total of 28 putts for the round. For me that was a great putting round and if I was able to put up those types of numbers when I was playing professionally...my scores might have been a lot lower. Even Eric joked several times throughout the round "the putter will be recalled at the end of the round".

All in all I think this putter and the technology in it is something that I am going to grow with and learn to love. The roll that this putter puts on the ball is something that not even my Rife or custom fit Taylor Made tour dept. putter was able to produce. I am really excited to see my putting improve as I get more and more used to this great stick.

I know there are tons of review out there that only highlight the good and how that product is the greatest thing since the internet. Hopefully my experience with this putter has given you an honest and accurate portrayal of my new wand and how without proper guidance I might have dumped it for another putter.

I feel the technology of this putter is one of the most important features. The roll it produces is something that I have not seen. I also want to emphasize how important it is to get properly fit for a putter, whether Zen or not. That will make a large difference in anyone's putting game, even if it is only the length and lie. Combine custom fitting from a guy like Eric and you have the potential to put a great wand in your hand. One that you might not need to change for some time.

If anyone has any questions about my fitting experience or my experience on the course with the putter I would be glad to respond.

Beer

Dan
Back to top Go down
nientsu
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 3295
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:00 pm

Peekture pls?????
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:08 pm

the ZAM is the midslant of the ZA series.....its not a prototype so picture link is..

Zen ZA Blades

i have the opportunity to witness what was a great day on the green as well as the course. Both Dan and Captain did not failed to deliver.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
drawbias
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 758
Join date : 2011-01-04
Age : 50
Location : Home soil ......

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:17 pm

My 1 month experienced on zam .... Roll beautifully n stay on line, improved dispersion, responsive with the F360, bottom line, confidence enhanced when u pull the trigger.

Boss, Iomic grip arrive?
Back to top Go down
kian
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2882
Join date : 2009-06-20
Age : 34
Location : Springside

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:34 pm

drawbias wrote:
My 1 month experienced on zam .... Roll beautifully n stay on line, improved dispersion, responsive with the F360, bottom line, confidence enhanced when u pull the trigger.

Boss, Iomic grip arrive?

and won all our $$$ HELP
Back to top Go down
drawbias
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 758
Join date : 2011-01-04
Age : 50
Location : Home soil ......

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:38 pm

U didn't mentioned when I lost leh? Selective memory kian?
Back to top Go down
kian
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2882
Join date : 2009-06-20
Age : 34
Location : Springside

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:39 pm

drawbias wrote:
U didn't mentioned when I lost leh? Selective memory kian?

cant rmbr orediiiii whahahhahaa
yea! boss whens the iomic grip coming?
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:58 pm

Oei, , dun OT on threads like this hor. I am given strict orders to F whoever OT. Heheheh.

Sorry dan for the interruption to the thread.

Now back to topic... Zen, zam, great roll....
Back to top Go down
shamusan
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2789
Join date : 2010-05-10
Age : 31
Location : In YOUR fairway...

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:15 pm

kian wrote:
drawbias wrote:
U didn't mentioned when I lost leh? Selective memory kian?

cant rmbr orediiiii whahahhahaa
yea! boss whens the iomic grip coming?

ya lor...

you can start your own thread abt who donated money to you kian

DONT OT ON ZEN THREAD...
Back to top Go down
samT
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 775
Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:12 pm

Can OT other threads? Joking...hahaha. Anyway, always good to see a FR from pro.
Back to top Go down
Loudmouth
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 329
Join date : 2009-11-30
Location : Eastern SG

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:37 pm

DGman wrote:
the ZAM is the midslant of the ZA series.....its not a prototype so picture link is..

Zen ZA Blades

i have the opportunity to witness what was a great day on the green as well as the course. Both Dan and Captain did not failed to deliver.

DGman

Am dreaming of having one, after reading so many review and seeing my kaki using Zen to win my $$$.

Hope can get it this Sat.

~Zennn~
Back to top Go down
kian
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2882
Join date : 2009-06-20
Age : 34
Location : Springside

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:39 pm

Not realli ot ma...I use a zen to get donations ma
Back to top Go down
S70B
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 5118
Join date : 2009-06-18
Location : Home sweat home...

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:49 am

U selling that Tour Issue Scotty anytime soon Dan? What a Face

Nice review. Hope to meet and have a game w u soon. Beer

_________________
Stay Thirsty My Friends...
Back to top Go down
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:32 am

Hi Rex,

The Scotty Tour Issue actually is in storage in the states. I thought I had it with me, but it looks like I packed it away. I don't think that I will be selling that one unless there is a day I need money for food. Sort of like my trophy from the event and experience.

I am looking forward to a game with you as well. I know that we have been talking about it for a few months and it is going to be great to get together and hit some shots.

Dan
Back to top Go down
nicasio
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 422
Join date : 2009-11-25
Location : KL

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:29 am

Zen ZAM awesome....
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:48 am

Rex...Dan has agreed to play the ASS team, i am sure its going to be fun...looking forward to your return date...

remember i told you some time ago that you need to be back by May 7, now you know why.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:03 am

Yup...I love my Zams.

Dan, do you keep your putting stroke or did you have to make a change to adjust the feel and roll from Zen?

DGman, after we take our stance and look down on the putter, is the shaft supposed to be at an angle (from the tip of the hosel)? I dont mean the lie angle nor the offset from the slanted hosel.

I think the shaft on my RH zen is set up as if it's on a forward press i.e. if I line up the putter face on a straight line, the grip end is closer to the target than the hosel....My eyes might be fooling me.

I dont see this on my LH zen. I like the LH set up better.
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:09 am

panji....bring both in for a finetuning for the RH to be set up the same as the LH.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:12 am

Bro PS, you think too much lah... The beauty of this putter is: aim and shoot!!! ... It's totally brainless kind of putting, that's why I love ZEN (the putter, not the movie... Well that one also I like)!!!!
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:07 am

thanks! coming next week. Today i have to miss indo day at the den

wmf, i swear the aiming is different, my hands have to be more forward to square the face. Well not that im putting righty again, but sometimes i practice with both sides

just like zhou botong leh 雙手互搏 Laughing
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:25 am

Got indo day meh??? Anyway I am working from home, so can't join...

Seriously bro, you try it for 1 round... don't think too much... just aim and shoot... see the result for yourself.
Back to top Go down
Winston
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1723
Join date : 2009-08-18
Age : 42
Location : 19th Hole

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:40 am

really really intrested in testing out the Zen now...confirmed .will be back in SG last week of may. Must definatly make a trip to BFG.
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:00 pm

whoaa... next week? come during lunch hour bro (12-2pm)... I will buy duck rice... hmm... or maybe something different ah... Can't think of anything famous in Seah Im or vivo (if you know, let me know and I'll bring it for you and the rest in the den).
Back to top Go down
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:03 pm

@pushslice....I made no major alterations to my stroke. The only thing I may have done slightly different is the length of my backstroke as the putter is slightly heavier so I don't need to hit it as hard.

That to me is what a well fit putter can do if your stroke is sound and repeatable. I should not have to alter my stroke much in order to utilize the technology of this putter.

The roll to me comes naturally from the putter and the technology of the face and weighting. It is just something that is nice to see and benefit from.
Back to top Go down
S70B
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 5118
Join date : 2009-06-18
Location : Home sweat home...

PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:46 pm

Eric: Sorry boss, I'm off to NYC tmr to spend some time w my sis whom I have not seen for a couple of yrs. Gonna chill there for a week before heading home on the 8th (after election day...Yikes!). Its been a hectic 5 weeks of studying and assignments where wkns are oni the time reserved for golf.

Dan: I was kidding about the TI Scotty. Most ppl wud rather give their left er.....nut than part w 1 that was given or made specially for them.

Still up for that game soon mate. Lemme look up my schedule once I'm home solid as I fly back to Florida on the 14th for another week of work.

_________________
Stay Thirsty My Friends...
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Zen ZAM review   Today at 10:57 am

Back to top Go down
 
Zen ZAM review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Review: ACE Compression Sportswear (Long Sleeve, Black)
» Nakashima Iron ,Any review , any user ??
» Ozik Radix 6 Review
» Titleist 909 D2 Driver ,any review
» Review: Tiger Shark Putter Grips

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.