Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:46 pm

In 1996 (if I remember correctly) when I was still a member of Pulai Springs, I took part in the Monthly Medal for the first time.

On Hole 17 which is a Par 4, I topped my tee shot and the ball, of all places, rolled into a white plastic bag (loose impediment?). I asked my fellow buggy mate on the ruling and whether I can get a relief or there is a penalty. He told me there should be a penalty as we are not supposed to touch the ball. Being quite new to the game and its rulings, I took his advice and add another stroke to my score. Now that really upset me as I recovered to play a bogey (without the 1 stroke penalty).

Like I said I was relatively new to the game at that time and have no clear understanding of the rulings. Until today, I am still not clear about the ruling.

Can any bros advice what is the actual ruling?

Cheers!
Back to top Go down
Ssquirrel
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1368
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:55 pm

24-1. Movable Obstruction.

b. If the ball lies in or on the obstruction, the ball may be lifted and the obstruction removed. The ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay in or on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole.
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:12 pm

U got good memory!
Back to top Go down
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:53 pm

duffader wrote:
U got good memory!

Thank bro!. Yes, at my age my memory is considered quite good. Smile I remember mostly things that are quite controversal.Smile
Back to top Go down
Roystonnn
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1324
Join date : 2009-07-05
Age : 35
Location : Sometimes Serangoon Sometimes India

PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:02 pm

Tat is probably more rare than hole in one! Hee!
In ur case also hole in one thou..
Back to top Go down
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:11 pm

Roystonnn wrote:
Tat is probably more rare than hole in one! Hee!
In ur case also hole in one thou..

Haahaaa! Yes, unfortunately no prize given for that but it's a good lesson though. But one self-imposed penalty for not being familar with the rulings back then. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling   Today at 6:50 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Ball in plastic bag - What's the ruling
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ball in a drain - qualifies for relief?
» Match Ball Standards
» Best match ball??
» Need to shout "Ball" or "4"?
» Crash Ball Center

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Ask The Pro-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.