Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review of Belly putt attachment Kit

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
volkswagenboy
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 135
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:00 pm

hi all,
Been trying hard to improve my putting stroke as i have been on a rollar coaster ride. Sometimes consistently straight to my intended direction but sometimes just does not work well. (probably its just me).
Until i chance upon the use of belly putt and think that this kinda conversion kit looks great for some training. Used it and ironically, my angle of engagment was constant using the PING software downloaded to my iphone4s.
This further increases my confidences when i last tried this out during a recent game at SICC. My friends were all blown off by my near the hole putt. Best of all dude, i got 3 single putt at around 15 yard length!!!
Thinking that probably its my another hay day, i remove this belly putt conversion kit and went for another game with my business counterpart from US. Again i am able to reproduce the constant putt but lost bit of confidences for long putts. still i won him by 5 strokes which i would normally lost at least 8 strokes.

Concluding, this belly putt conversion kit is worth the every bit of investment given its low cost compared to re-shafting and it will really help to bring down your avg scores and improves your consistency in the critical short game. PUTTING!!!

Thanks for the bro whom introduce me to this kit. It is really a good product to have and i believe those people whom have used it will agree!!!!
Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1128
Join date : 2011-12-28
Age : 35
Location : Out of bounds

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:13 pm

thanks for the review. any idea where to buy it? i've checked online at rockbottom golf but it's sold out
Back to top Go down
volkswagenboy
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 135
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:52 pm

Think some reputated shops have it on sales. Saw it at custom golf bishan range and the well known BFG at keppel?
Better don't get from online cause it cost more with the shipping. Enjoy your putt with your belly my friend and u shall be surprise!
Back to top Go down
JonL_TK
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2668
Join date : 2009-12-23
Age : 35
Location : Pasir Gudang / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:54 pm

U can get it locally at:
1. Big Fish Golf (Bukit Merah & Keppel locations)
2. Custom Golf (Bishan Golf Range)
Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1128
Join date : 2011-12-28
Age : 35
Location : Out of bounds

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:04 pm

thanks guys!
Back to top Go down
hwdq
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 60
Join date : 2011-03-14

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:30 pm

how much ?
Back to top Go down
buweeza
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 145
Join date : 2011-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 2:31 pm

Not trying to be funny.. but if tummy quite big / soft still can use the belly putt kit? I also want to have an easier time with putting
Back to top Go down
danielleecm
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 565
Join date : 2011-02-08
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:02 pm

buweeza wrote:
Not trying to be funny.. but if tummy quite big / soft still can use the belly putt kit? I also want to have an easier time with putting

hi bro, you are not being funny and your concern is valid. People do have 2 key concerns which i probably have some answer to it.
1. I dont have big belly, how to use belly putt??
Reply: Belly putt is basically using a hinge or pivot method to create a pendulum motion of the putter. Not necessary the need to have a big tummy or your belly button then you are able to use it. Tried pivoting it against my stomach or even chest method and it works fine.

2. I feel strange using belly putting style and its so pai say to use it, dont know if people will laugh at me?
Reply: The feeling is strange because people does not like the feeling of something hinging on your stomach and felt restricted. In actual fact, imagine the hinge or pivot method actually remove on the dependency of using strength on both hands except for the shoulder movement.
Likewise, people will not laugh but admire at how confident and well you putt with that consistency. Imagine my buddy making the rest of the flight mates fluming red when he recovered and PAR a few holes with an avg of 10-15 foot distance.

Note: These replies are some info i gathers from the review of users using these belly putts and not my own personnel views.
Back to top Go down
volkswagenboy
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 135
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:42 pm

cheers thumbs up!! Hooray
Back to top Go down
JonL_TK
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2668
Join date : 2009-12-23
Age : 35
Location : Pasir Gudang / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:06 pm

I don't care what my playing partners say about my 39" & 40" Belly Putters...
As long as i feel comfortable and the ball gets into the hole!

Its all that matters to me
Back to top Go down
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:07 pm

i always ask him a lot about his belly putter...but his putting is damn steady...

however i feel just can't find any love for putting with a belly putter like my titties bro can.

maybe thats why he plays 3over and i play 30over.

_________________
Callaway Razr Fit Xtreme 10.5* Ahina 60 R
PRGR EGG Spoon 15* MRC Fubuki Alpha 70S
Adams Super Hybrid XTD 19* MRC Fubuki AH R
Adams A12 Pro 23* GD Tour AD UT85 R
Callaway X Hot Pro 5-PW PX95 5.5
Titleist SM4 50*, 54*, 58* DG Spinner
Scotty Studio Select 2012 Golo 33"
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
slinger
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5692
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wild Wild West

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:53 pm

eiji wrote:
i always ask him a lot about his belly putter...but his putting is damn steady...

however i feel just can't find any love for putting with a belly putter like my titties bro can.

maybe thats why he plays 3over and i play 30over.


which is why its important that capt bob n ZX find his self-destruct button......

then u got chance to cross bet with him....
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:57 pm

But i think Ms Lee bought the Belly Extension instead..... Smile I think if i dun do something about mine, soon I will make the purchase too.
Back to top Go down
slinger
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5692
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wild Wild West

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:00 pm

duffader wrote:
But i think Ms Lee bought the Belly Extension instead..... Smile I think if i dun do something about mine, soon I will make the purchase too.


sun-tanning with gf dun make it go away leh.....
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:09 pm

slinger wrote:
duffader wrote:
But i think Ms Lee bought the Belly Extension instead..... Smile I think if i dun do something about mine, soon I will make the purchase too.


sun-tanning with gf dun make it go away leh.....

But its such situations where my belly gets appreciated. Smile
Back to top Go down
volkswagenboy
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 135
Join date : 2011-12-22

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:18 pm

hi all, never know you guys are such fun people... some notes i got from the pros from the states.

"I tried a belly for several weeks and found it interesting but not overwhelming. I will admit that my tempo with my regular putter is better since I played with the belly. I found it very hard to rush the stroke with the belly and I have since tried to keep that tempo with my regular putter with some success. So, I found the belly a good training aid. But is was hardly a Holy Grail of putting art. "

"Sergio Garcia was ranked toward the bottom of all the putters on the PGA tour. This year, however, he made a change to the belly putter and moved to 18th (I believe) in a statistical putting category, the specific category I am not certain. But what is certain is that his putting improved."

"I've been using the belly for almost 2 yrs. now and I putted better from the very first round I had it in the bag. When I was using a conventional length putter I had issues from 5 feet and in. If I missed a short one early in the round, my confidence was gone and I would miss a bunch more. I never really thought about mechanics with the belly putter, and never went through a phase where I struggled with touch or feel with it. My problems with the conventional putter were in that dreaded zone, between the ears, and the belly has definitely helped with that."

" I've had to do a bit of putting under pressure. And all I can say is that I can't see myself going back to a conventional putter any time soon. In our first match I birdied 4 of the last 12 holes, including a 40 footer at the last to win; that's more birdies than I think I have ever made in a stretch in a competition. In the last match I had to make a slippery sidehill 5 footer for eagle on the back nine, followed by 14 foot and 8 foot par putts, all to keep the match alive. I also haven't had any 3 putts, and have probably been averaging about 29 putts a round.
To put this in perspective, when I played competitively in college I averaged 35 putts a round and sometimes had 38 or more. Yes, I was an awful putter. The belly putter is a great improvement for me. "

Back to top Go down
acdc
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 33
Join date : 2011-04-04
Age : 39
Location : Lion City

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:46 pm

cheers well said....i use belly putt for training and getting my putting sequence right....good training tools.
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:42 pm

To what i know, this belly putter attachment kit is not conforming and if u play in tournaments, it may not be allowed. Am I correct?
Back to top Go down
danielleecm
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 565
Join date : 2011-02-08
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:04 pm

mengteck71 wrote:
To what i know, this belly putter attachment kit is not conforming and if u play in tournaments, it may not be allowed. Am I correct?

Bro mengteck71, check was done before and the reply from Authority is that this belly coversion putter is the same as R9 or R11 drivers with adjustment enabled. In competition, no adjustment shall be made and you conform.
Hope that this answer I got is reasonable. Thanks
Back to top Go down
Begbie
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1330
Join date : 2010-06-04
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:07 pm

danielleecm wrote:
mengteck71 wrote:
To what i know, this belly putter attachment kit is not conforming and if u play in tournaments, it may not be allowed. Am I correct?

Bro mengteck71, check was done before and the reply from Authority is that this belly coversion putter is the same as R9 or R11 drivers with adjustment enabled. In competition, no adjustment shall be made and you conform.
Hope that this answer I got is reasonable. Thanks

Just to side track, when you mentioned authority the first thing that came to mind was the Police.... Topic OFF
Back to top Go down
danielleecm
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 565
Join date : 2011-02-08
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:10 pm

Oh sorry about it. Just wish to be on general form and not too direct from which body cause I don't wish to offend any authority over here. My mistake.
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:52 pm

Just to make it clear.. So as long as we dont do any adjustment to the length and play with same setting throughout it will be conforming?

If that is correct, it is definitely worth the try Smile
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:11 pm

although we sell the belly putter kit, i have to elobrate a little bit more about rules.

if there is a split grip, they must both be of the same diameter and round.

the belly putter kit uses an extension with a grip which is round. most golfers only need to cut a hole (with tool provided) on their existing putter grip (which is usually flat on the top) and secure that extension.

i say this to everyone who buys, the putter kit is a bridge for golfers to try out what belly putter can do for them. if use in tournaments where the rules of golf are applied, the user will be penalised for using a non conforming equipment.

from the rule book.

c. Two Grips

Appendix II, 3(v) provides that:
A putter may have two grips provided that each is circular in cross-section, the axis of each coincides with the axis of the shaft, and they are separated by at least 1.5 inches (38.1 mm).
If a putter were allowed to have two non-circular grips, it would be possible to mount the grips such that their cross-section would not be “generally similar” throughout the entire length (see Design of Clubs, Section 3b). For this reason, putters which have two grips must have two circular grips.

Where a putter has two grips, these grips are only considered “separate” if the gap between them is at least 1.5 inches (38.1 mm) in length. If such a gap does not exist, the total length from the bottom of the lower “grip” to the top of the upper one is considered “one grip.” Therefore, in both of the instances mentioned above, it is unlikely that the grip would conform if two conventional grips were used. Either the exposed piece of shaft between the two “grips” would constitute a waist, or the fact that two grips met in the middle would cause a bulge. The second example may be overcome if the lower grip was a continuation of the top grip, that is, a continuation of the same taper.

If a putter does have two grips, the upper grip must be at least 5 inches (127 mm) in length. If the grip does not satisfy this requirement, it would be considered to be ‘molded for the hands'.

Note that it is not permissible for wood or iron clubs, including chippers, to have more than one grip.

DGman

as i have always insisted that we inform our customers - the belly putter kit is for social golfers and for golfers to evaluate if a belly putter is suitable for them.
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
JonL_TK
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2668
Join date : 2009-12-23
Age : 35
Location : Pasir Gudang / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:12 pm

Correct me if i am wrong:

1. Rule states that both grips have to be same shape/diameter
- Most putters have a flat grip as compared to the BellyPutt which has a round grip. Thus this would make it illegal?

2. Rule states that for a split grip, it has to be 1.5 inches apart.
- Now this shouldn't be an issue in most cases

Nonetheless, i think this is a fantastic training tool.
Try it out and if BellyPutting is the way for you... Invest in a properly fitted Belly Putter
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:20 pm

Ms Lee you are spot in....here's a link to give you a better idea.....

Rules on Grip

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review of Belly putt attachment Kit   Today at 7:54 am

Back to top Go down
 
Review of Belly putt attachment Kit
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Review of Belly putt attachment Kit
» Belly Putt -- new toys ??
» Belly Putt Club Conversion Kit
» Belly Pan Review
» Review: ACE Compression Sportswear (Long Sleeve, Black)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Golf Equipment-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.