Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 8:56 am

Post your Q here and we can discuss the answer and find out the ruling so that we all learn the other side of the game.

Pls feel free to discuss if you think the answers are not fairly right. we are all here to learn and have fun.

santa santa


Last edited by chocoman on Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:17 am

some basics:

* You are allowed no more than 14 clubs on the course.

* You and the ball must be hit behind and between the markers when teeing off from a new hole. In addition, you cannot be more then two club lengths behind the markers.

* If you swing and miss the ball, it will count as a stroke. If the ball falls off the tee before you take a swing you may replace it without penalty.

* If you make a bad swing and top the ball off the tee it still counts as a stroke and must be played where it lies.

* Loose natural objects (leaves, tree branches, rocks) may be moved on the course, while growing vegetation (tree branches, bushes, tall grass) may not be moved, bent, or broken.

* If you hit someone else's ball by accident, you will be penalized by two strokes in stroke play, or the hole will lost in match play.

* Put an identification mark on your ball. If you can't identify it as yours, it's lost.

* If your ball becomes unfit for play you may replace it without penalty on the hole where it becomes unfit or between holes.

* Advice may only be given by your partner or your caddie.


credit to: http://www.squidoo.com/golf-rules-for-beginners
Back to top Go down
TObe
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 235
Join date : 2009-09-24
Age : 33
Location : West side

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:40 am

* Loose natural objects (leaves, tree branches, rocks) may be moved on the course, while growing vegetation (tree branches, bushes, tall grass) may not be moved, bent, or broken.

OH NO... i broke this rule w/o knowing. Had shifted the tree's branch with many leaves such that it stayed "hooked" to a sister branch so that my take away doesn't do free 'gardening' for the course.

Well, thanks for sharing so now we know!

Then again, the above rule begs some clarification:
-what if I was in the same scenario as above (with branch in my take-away's path), and did a "practice" swing which somehow removed the branch from the swing path? Any diff if unintentional (i.e. didn't know that branch was in the way)?
-next question, if the scenario was such that the branch is in the way of your body (while the ball is on a good lie and you can manage a swing/chip that does not result in club touching the branch), can you mvoe/bend it to stand for address?
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:53 am

TObe wrote:
* Loose natural objects (leaves, tree branches, rocks) may be moved on the course, while growing vegetation (tree branches, bushes, tall grass) may not be moved, bent, or broken.

OH NO... i broke this rule w/o knowing. Had shifted the tree's branch with many leaves such that it stayed "hooked" to a sister branch so that my take away doesn't do free 'gardening' for the course.

Well, thanks for sharing so now we know!

Then again, the above rule begs some clarification:
-what if I was in the same scenario as above (with branch in my take-away's path), and did a "practice" swing which somehow removed the branch from the swing path? Any diff if unintentional (i.e. didn't know that branch was in the way)?
-next question, if the scenario was such that the branch is in the way of your body (while the ball is on a good lie and you can manage a swing/chip that does not result in club touching the branch), can you mvoe/bend it to stand for address?

anything growing or alive should not be moved.
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:15 am

TObe wrote:
* Loose natural objects (leaves, tree branches, rocks) may be moved on the course, while growing vegetation (tree branches, bushes, tall grass) may not be moved, bent, or broken.

OH NO... i broke this rule w/o knowing. Had shifted the tree's branch with many leaves such that it stayed "hooked" to a sister branch so that my take away doesn't do free 'gardening' for the course.

Well, thanks for sharing so now we know!

Then again, the above rule begs some clarification:
-what if I was in the same scenario as above (with branch in my take-away's path), and did a "practice" swing which somehow removed the branch from the swing path? Any diff if unintentional (i.e. didn't know that branch was in the way)?


answer: rule 13-2/14- 13-2/14 Breaking Branch Interfering with Backswing on Teeing Ground

Q. On the teeing ground, a player broke off a branch of a tree which was interfering with his swing. The player maintained that such action was not a breach of Rule 13-2 because his ball was not yet in play. Was the player correct?

A. No. The player was in breach of Rule 13-2 for improving the area of his intended swing. Although Rule 13-2 allows a player to eliminate irregularities of surface on the teeing ground, it does not allow him to break a branch interfering with his swing. The penalty would apply even if the player, before playing his next stroke, re-teed elsewhere on the teeing ground — see Decision 13-2/24.



-next question, if the scenario was such that the branch is in the way of your body (while the ball is on a good lie and you can manage a swing/chip that does not result in club touching the branch), can you mvoe/bend it to stand for address?
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:22 am

-next question, if the scenario was such that the branch is in the way of your body (while the ball is on a good lie and you can manage a swing/chip that does not result in club touching the branch), can you mvoe/bend it to stand for address?[/quote]


13-2/1 Explanation of "Fairly Taking His Stance"
Q. Rule 13-2 states that a player must not improve the position or lie of his ball, the area of his intended stance or swing or his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole by moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed (including immovable obstructions and objects defining out of bounds). An exception permits a player to do so in "fairly taking his stance." What is the significance of "fairly"?
A. Without "fairly," the exception would permit improvement of position or lie, area of intended stance or swing or line of play by anything that could be said to be taking a stance. The use of "fairly" is intended to limit the player to what is reasonably necessary to take a stance for the selected stroke without unduly improving the position of the ball, his lie, area of intended stance or swing or line of play. Thus, in taking his stance for the selected stroke the player should select the least intrusive course of action which results in the minimum improvement in the position or lie of the ball, area of intended stance or swing or line of play. The player is not entitled to a normal stance or swing. He must accommodate the situation in which the ball is found and take a stance as normal as the circumstances permit. What is fair must be determined in the light of all circumstances.
Examples of actions which do constitute fairly taking a stance are:
• backing into a branch or young sapling if that is the only way to take a stance for the selected stroke, even if this causes the branch to move out of the way or the sapling to bend or break.
• bending a branch of a tree with the hands in order to get under the tree to play a ball.
Examples of actions which do not constitute fairly taking a stance are:
• deliberately moving, bending or breaking branches with the hands, a leg or the body to get them out of the way of the backswing or stroke.
• standing on a branch to prevent it from interfering with the backswing or stroke.
• hooking one branch on another or braiding two weeds for the same purpose.
• bending with a hand a branch obscuring the ball after the stance has been taken.
• bending an interfering branch with the hands, a leg or the body in taking a stance when the stance could have been taken without bending the branch.
13-2/1.1 Player Attempts to Take Stance Fairly But Improves Line of Play by Moving Interfering Growing Object
Q. A player's ball lies under the branch of a tree. In attempting to take his stance fairly, the player improves his line of play by moving the branch with his body. Before playing, he realizes he could have taken his stance without moving the branch. He abandons his stance and the branch returns to its original position or is returned to its original position by the player. The player then approaches the ball from a different direction, takes his stance without disturbing the branch and makes his stroke. What is the ruling?
A. There is no penalty. When fairly taking his stance the player is required to take his stance in the least intrusive manner that results in the minimum improvement in the position or lie of the ball, area of intended stance or swing or line of play. However, as the branch moved as a result of the player's attempt to take his stance fairly and was returned to its original position before the stroke was made, there is no penalty. Any doubt as to whether the branch returned to its original position should be resolved against the player.
The same principle would apply to fixed artificial objects (e.g., a boundary stake) if the position or lie of the ball, area of intended stance or swing or line of play is improved as a result of the player's attempt to take his stance fairly but the object is returned to its original position before the player makes a stroke.


i hope that answers ur Q. the key word here if " fairly taking his stance"

Penalty For Breach of Rule:
Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.


Last edited by chocoman on Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:22 am

Good thread, Choco!

Q: If my ball lands on the OB line, I assume that I can hit it but the club cannot touch any portion of the hazard prior to the downsiwng, right?

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:47 am

Answer;

1) the whole ball needs to over the white stakes/ white line drawn on the course in order to be classified an an OB ball. If the ball is in OB, u r to take a penalty of one stroke ( penalty of stroke and distance) and go back to the last place where u hit the shot, if it is the teeing ground, u r allowed to re-tee.
2) If ur ball is not in ob, u r allowed to take a stance in the ob area to hit ur ball. I dun see the reason as to why the club cannot touch any portion of the hazard prior to the downswing when ur ball is inbound. ( I am using common sense in this part)



excerpt from Rules of Golf:-

27-1. Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes
a. Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance
At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.
Except as otherwise provided in the Rules, if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance.
b. Ball Out of Bounds
If a ball is out of bounds, the player must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5).
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:48 am

Ob is not hazard. No penalty if your ball is in play i think. If it is water or bunker, you practice and touch the hazard it is considered testing conditions of hazard.

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:50 am

Hmm... what if it is on the OB line? Is that OB?

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:54 am

sunny wrote:
Ob is not hazard. No penalty if your ball is in play i think. If it is water or bunker, you practice and touch the hazard it is considered testing conditions of hazard.



Water Hazard marked by the red stakes: This is also a one stroke penalty, these are your options: you can either hit from the same spot in the hazard ( cannot ground ur club) or drop in the drop zone or in the line that your ball entered the hazard at (the point where the ball last cross the mergin of hazard) ).

Lateral Hazard marked by the yellow stakes: you now have the option to take the line of entry ( using an imaginary line and the pin as a reference), and drop your ball as far back on this line as you desire. So if you hit it right into the water, you can draw a line from where your ball entered to where you hit, and you can drop anywhere along this line. The penalty stroke would apply the same as the red stakes.

if ur ball is in hazard and u wanna hit it from the hazard ( no penalty), u r not allowed to ground the club. however, the new ruling allows u to mark ur ball and identify your ball. the old ruling does not give you that option. Laughing Laughing
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:00 am

Technospaz wrote:
Hmm... what if it is on the OB line? Is that OB?

some course marked their OB WITH

1) ob stakes only. this case ur whole ball has to cross to be in OB. half ball= no ob. stand behind the white stakes and have ur marker to withness the whole ball has not crossed into the OB. if u r unsure. take out a string and tie both ends od the white stakes to determine. Laughing

2) ob stakes and OB line drawn on the ground. OB= if ur whole ball crosses the white line.
Back to top Go down
TObe
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 235
Join date : 2009-09-24
Age : 33
Location : West side

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:06 am

Wow, great. Many thanks. Very useful!

So in "fairly taking a stance", the backing up into a branch is OK - this means that this may be ok for the 2nd scenario (depending on the circumstance).

IN addition, if a ball's position requires either backing into a tree branch or doing a left-hand (for a rightie) swing to make a shot - is it reasonable to opt for the "backing up" choice?

Btw, I had an awkward situation 2 weeks back when the ball rolled down the lateral hazard area near the fence. It was a 40deg downslope (sloping down to the left, facing target) with about 2m width, then perimeter fencing. Thus, it was not possible to take a normal stance (fence was in the way). I had thus, the following options I thought of:

- Take a drop, plus penalty stroke.
-PLay as it lies, but with left handed swing w/o grounding club
-wedge out backwards with normal swing

I chose the leftie swing (for fun and try luck) which stayed in hazard but had better lie. But are there any other options available that would have made it easier w/o flouting the rules? (I understand that hazard is a penalty but golf is also bout playing smart, in addition to being skilled) Any advice?

Sorry for the troublesome questions bro!!! Still very noob...
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:15 am

chocoman wrote:
Technospaz wrote:
Hmm... what if it is on the OB line? Is that OB?

some course marked their OB WITH

1) ob stakes only. this case ur whole ball has to cross to be in OB. half ball= no ob. stand behind the white stakes and have ur marker to withness the whole ball has not crossed into the OB. if u r unsure. take out a string and tie both ends od the white stakes to determine. Laughing

2) ob stakes and OB line drawn on the ground. OB= if ur whole ball crosses the white line.

Thanks, Choco. Very useful!

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:21 am

choco...may I recommend your sig to be 'Got Choco, you will know'....you the MAN
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:24 am

Duval_S wrote:
choco...may I recommend your sig to be 'Got Choco, you will know'....you the MAN

this is a learning experience for me too.....


"you are what u give'

btw.. i may be wrong in providing those answers..... Laughing
Back to top Go down
TObe
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 235
Join date : 2009-09-24
Age : 33
Location : West side

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:37 am

Duval_S wrote:
choco...may I recommend your sig to be 'Got Choco, you will know'....you the MAN

I beg to differ, bro.

--> "Got Choco, you cannot break rule" haha
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:41 am

Bro, a suggestion, pls don't use RED and BLUE... instead use question in italic and answer in bold or ... headache lah looking at it.

Question: If I tee up and the ball seems to be heading for bushes/hazards, can I call for Provisional ball?
If can, what if I found it just outside the OB/hazards marks, do I still use the Provisional one?
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:58 am

watermyforrest wrote:
Bro, a suggestion, pls don't use RED and BLUE... instead use question in italic and answer in bold or ... headache lah looking at it.

Question: If I tee up and the ball seems to be heading for bushes/hazards, can I call for Provisional ball?
If can, what if I found it just outside the OB/hazards marks, do I still use the Provisional one?

u wan panadol?

Laughing
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:59 am

watermyforrest wrote:
Bro, a suggestion, pls don't use RED and BLUE... instead use question in italic and answer in bold or ... headache lah looking at it.

Question: If I tee up and the ball seems to be heading for bushes/hazards, can I call for Provisional ball?
If can, what if I found it just outside the OB/hazards marks, do I still use the Provisional one?

i used red and blue to distinguish the Q from the A.

if u got any seconder.. i change to italic. cheers cheers
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:17 pm

Can I second it?
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:18 pm

oops... Can I second it?
Back to top Go down
chocoman
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2154
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:46 pm

there's quite a lot of text involved

that's got blue and red.


anyway.... i am waiting for seconder and a thirder and a fourther.


he he
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:22 pm

chocoman wrote:
Duval_S wrote:
choco...may I recommend your sig to be 'Got Choco, you will know'....you the MAN

this is a learning experience for me too.....


"you are what u give'

btw.. i may be wrong in providing those answers..... Laughing

For the simple fact that you're trying to help out, that's commendable on its own.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:08 pm

ok lor... you answer my question in red... until we have seconder, thirder and fourther... or until Anthony Kim start winning again.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here   Today at 4:33 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here
» Golf rules
» GOLF RULES
» THE 18 MOST MISUNDERSTOOD RULES OF GOLF
» The Original Golf Rules 1744

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.