Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

A brief review of Muang Kaew golf course which i played yesterday.

No pictures, but the course was beautiful. From the 1st tee box, the layout was open and very forgiving of wild drives. Most holes were lined with a few small trees at the sides.

The challenge of this course, i feel, is that the bunkers guarding the green are very ominous. Water features are spred out throughout the course, which makes up for the straightforward hole layouts.


The course even from the white tees were not short, there were more than a few holes which i had to lay up to reach the green.

The greens were true and fast. Faster than what we are used to in Singapore. My playing partners were guessing 10 -11. Doesn't make a difference for uphill putts, but the downhill ones are huge potentials for 3 putts. Which i had more than my fair share of.

The fairways were very well maintained, the uncle playing with us had many 240 meter drives, our 3wood drives were averaging 200. Mainly, i yhink because the fairways roll out so much.

We finally had a young pro- mateur join us the 3 last holes who showed us how the holes were meant to be played. On the 18, the friendly 15 year old hit a wedge into the green which spun back from center green to front. This prompted my good friend and i to examine his bag. Seems, this kid was playing pro v1 with his titty v4 wedge with a secret weapon for a shaft. This was a hands on testimony for the shaft, i feel. Brilliant on fullswing.

Overall, i would play this course again, being that it is so close to the city. Was hoping to play Lakewood which was recomneded by fellow forummers, but no time leh. Presidents and Royal was on our list too, ahhhh.. So many courses so little time.



Thank you Blee for your recomendation.
Back to top Go down
blee67
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-12-05
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:37 am

So how you find the short par 4 (I think it 16th hole) with the table top green?
Back to top Go down
crayon33
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 510
Join date : 2009-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:08 am

Would have loved to have brought my callaway rarz fit and bomb a few down the firm and quite wide fairways.

This course plays to the bomber and as alvin has shared, the bunkers are there to make us shorter (but hopefully accurate) players play on level even field. Speaking of which, the fairways are generally level and mud free and greens are really very well maintained.

Only gripe: maybe last tee off gave us the most experienced caddies. They certainly knew where the breaks on the green are and how to assess the wind and offer suitable club selection. I know some golfers may prefer caddies who score more in the looks department and this could be only minus point.
Back to top Go down
wilkang
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 2780
Join date : 2009-10-21
Age : 42

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:08 am

Sounds like it's a must try course.

What's the course fee like?
And do you go through any agent for the booking?

_________________
Golf is a sport to love. To treasure. To cherish.
Back to top Go down
mloy
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 4560
Join date : 2009-09-11
Age : 87
Location : East

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:22 am

Muang Kaew is a very nice course. Played there many many moons ago. The female caddie are very chio and I like their uniforms. That time it was a walking course not sure now though.

Bookings were done direct to the Golf Club. I called and inform them when I will be playing. The number is (02) 3163918. Played on a weekday as weekend is pretty expensive. A must play course.

_________________
Laughter is the best medicine
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:08 pm

Hotel concierge called to book, we tipped him small. The green fees w/o buggy, 2500 baht. Buggy 600 bht caddy fee 300 bht cash. Tip the nice lady 300 bht after her good read of green got me 1 birdie. But crayon is right, dont hold your breath for syts here. Taxi from city, 150 bht. All in, the people and company just makes it all lovely.
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:18 pm

Hole 16 , bunkers all around the green, almost no back door. The pro drove the green, short by 10 meters, i blocked mine right, lucky me got the fairway. Pitch on, green too fast cannot hold, rolled out to fringe. Man, i needed a wedge with dg spinner shaft there.
Back to top Go down
crayon33
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 510
Join date : 2009-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:29 pm

As in most courses in BKK, we were allowed and chose to walk. I was allowed to play in my running shoes though my playing buddy could not pull a Justin Rose Faux jeans off and had to wear proper pants ha ha.

Back to top Go down
blee67
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-12-05
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:31 pm

I recall using the buggy before but it is buggy on track.

and I still remember the par 5 hole after the halfway house whether you can do a tigerline over the carpark/road on the road... Very Happy
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Wed Mar 21, 2012 11:24 am

muang Kaew is nice, like the course...I remember the one that you required to hit over the car park approached? so far if I play in Thai, I would choose walking.
Back to top Go down
Match84
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 102
Join date : 2009-11-19

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:31 am

Went to BKK last weekend for a short golfing trip. Personal review for this beautiful course

Course: 1x18 hole 
Condition of course: Well maintain especially the fairway and rough 
Walking course (First time trying walking for a full 18, can feel the shagged after the game)
Crowd: Consider crowded since it was a Friday, back to back having flight but still able to take our time to complete the round

Just note that inside the course, there are a few stall selling drinks and food so not necessary to carry any cooler box. 

Lastly, some photo to share.

1. Club House entrance 


2. Practise green


3. 1st Tee Box


4. Signature hole (Par3) with HIO prize 
Back to top Go down
Noriki
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 190
Join date : 2013-12-11

PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Sat Aug 09, 2014 1:22 pm

Nobody complaint about the noise from the Expressway above? Not noisy?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand   Today at 5:16 am

Back to top Go down
 
Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Review of muang Kaew golf course in thailand
» Review on Impian Emas golf course
» REVIEW of Truelinkswear PHX golf shoes
» My Review of Nirwana Bali Golf Course (Pics Intensive)
» Asian Tour Pros practicing In Hua Hin Thailand

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Golf Courses and Ranges-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.