Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10 ... 15  Next
AuthorMessage
blong
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 223
Join date : 2012-02-13
Age : 39
Location : east

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:10 pm

Just collected my BFG irons yesterday evening fitted with c-taper S. Frankly, I am not too concerned about the actual equipment, but I found it an excellent all-round experience in purchasing the irons. This service is in my opinion rare in singapore and I really don't mind paying for it. No wonder some friends of mine spend a fortune here...... and still come back for more.

To my flight mates this sun: pls bear with the fact its going to be my 1st time using this set of clubs on the course. Very Happy So an allowance of 25% strokes would be highly appreciated.


Last edited by blong on Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:22 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:32 pm

The Fishy stick officially makes its debut 3 hours ago on the Thai Tour...after collecting the USGA certification of rules conformity.

Here's how it works with Aim-Mate.







DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:44 pm

DGman wrote:
The Fishy stick officially makes its debut 3 hours ago on the Thai Tour...after collecting the USGA certification of rules conformity.

Here's how it works with Aim-Mate.







DGman

Congrats!!! Beer
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:23 pm

just a quick update as it has been a great day for us in the local scene.

1. Yash who is one of the first Fishy stick user shot a very good round off the championship tee at the Singapore National Amateur Championship. he score a 74 (+2) and is tied 3rd with several others. his putter is ZEN and he finished very well ahead of some of the more season players including those in the National Team. Yash turned 15 last week and i am sure we will hear more of him in the future.

2. visitors to the Den would have met a Korean gentleman whom we usually refer to as the Korean Spy. he shot a 75 off a 5 handicap and outdid himself. we have a personal bet and i will be very happy if i lose this bet. Yang Jae Ho is a BFG and Zen user and most of all, he is my korean food kaki.

On the SPGA scene today....

1. Russell Lim who switched to the Fishy Stick 3 weeks ago shot one of his best rounds in the SPGA event. he score even par to match more established players like MM, Scott Barr, Qunicy Quek, Choo Tze Huang, Trent Turner and Lim Kian Kee. for someone who have recently turn A pro, its an achievement.

2. Jared Lim who switched to the Fishy Sticks about 1 1/2 months ago was sent to CNX to improve his game and particularly in the short game area. he reported that he shot his best round in an SPGA event with a 75. another round like this and he will earn his class A pro card. whatever happens, i am getting my free dinner next week.

thre are more like Marc Kawasoe who is on Steelfiber i95 returning with 73, Allen Kelly a fishy stick and Zen user who is on 78.

we hope their performance will continue and get better for the rest of the week.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
Derek
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 2159
Join date : 2009-10-20

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:48 pm

More proof that the fishy sticks are as completely useless as the CG Black driver!










*deep in thought* where am I going to hide these clubs so my wife won't see them ... Hmmm

_________________
========================================
What's in the Bag

Driver: Callway X-Hot 10.5 with Fubuki 50S (pulled from a TM Burner SuperFast)
Woods: 19 Deg Callaway X-hot Proj X Stock S Flex
Hybrid: 22 Deg TM SF i70R, Cobra Baffler 25 Deg NS950R
Irons 5-Pw:  Titleist 704 CB NSP950 (Flex Unknown - think it is R)
Wedges: Perry Gear 52 Deg DG S300 and BFG 55 Deg KBS Hi-Rev, Tourstage 60 Deg
Putter: RIFE Antigua Island with Champ Large Grip
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:49 pm

Eric, I took out the fishy sticks after month plus layoff. Even with rusty hands, they're still easy to hit. Just pure enjoyment. Awesome job u did on the set. Haven't touched the new batch set just yet, curious how i95 will play vs i99
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:20 am

Derek wrote:
More proof that the fishy sticks are as completely useless as the CG Black driver!










*deep in thought* where am I going to hide these clubs so my wife won't see them ... Hmmm

Liked..

PS you tell us.....i personally prefer the i95 but will be happy to swap your i99 for a new set of i95 if you prefer the harsher version.

on a side note, i spoke to Russell last week and he cannot stop telling me how the Fishy stick is helping him shape and play the shots he wants.
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:53 pm

DGman wrote:
just a quick update as it has been a great day for us in the local scene.

1. Yash who is one of the first Fishy stick user shot a very good round off the championship tee at the Singapore National Amateur Championship. he score a 74 (+2) and is tied 3rd with several others. his putter is ZEN and he finished very well ahead of some of the more season players including those in the National Team. Yash turned 15 last week and i am sure we will hear more of him in the future.

2. visitors to the Den would have met a Korean gentleman whom we usually refer to as the Korean Spy. he shot a 75 off a 5 handicap and outdid himself. we have a personal bet and i will be very happy if i lose this bet. Yang Jae Ho is a BFG and Zen user and most of all, he is my korean food kaki.

On the SPGA scene today....

1. Russell Lim who switched to the Fishy Stick 3 weeks ago shot one of his best rounds in the SPGA event. he score even par to match more established players like MM, Scott Barr, Qunicy Quek, Choo Tze Huang, Trent Turner and Lim Kian Kee. for someone who have recently turn A pro, its an achievement.

2. Jared Lim who switched to the Fishy Sticks about 1 1/2 months ago was sent to CNX to improve his game and particularly in the short game area. he reported that he shot his best round in an SPGA event with a 75. another round like this and he will earn his class A pro card. whatever happens, i am getting my free dinner next week.

thre are more like Marc Kawasoe who is on Steelfiber i95 returning with 73, Allen Kelly a fishy stick and Zen user who is on 78.

we hope their performance will continue and get better for the rest of the week.

DGman

sorry to quote my own thread but it will make it easier for those who have not seen the earlier entry...

1. Yash got to the final 16 (which was his goal). he have to meet our top 3 national player and they were levelled on the 18th. Unfortunately Yash lost on the 19th hole. its a tough competition cos the players have to complete 18 holes in the morning, then play off in the afternoon. for most players playing 18 holes is already tough, imagine 36 holes.

2. Yang had his best outing yesterday but he got ahead of himself after the turn and missed out the final 16 by a stroke.

i spoke to Yang today and asked him why he played so well on the first day, his answer shocked me (you guys can grilled him when you meet him)....he took out the Fishy wedges for the tournament and apparently he was putting everything very close to where he wants it. i am still in disbelief and of course he is trying to buy a sumptuous Korean dinner so that he can continue to use the wedges.

for the pros...

1. Jared got his A Pro card with a 75 on the first day and even par 72 on the second day...next week makan have turn from Oasis porridge to Petra Sentra.

2. Russell continue to play well with a under par 71 today and he is looking to win some money from this tournament.

its been a good week...plus Najibapark thread. i can sleep well tonite.

DGman

meanwhile for those who have PM frostEE for reservation of the BFG irons, i thank you for your support.



Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
blong
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 223
Join date : 2012-02-13
Age : 39
Location : east

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:33 am

And Eric, another one, I was walking in Serapong on Hari Raya, and my caddy Tiu, asked me how come nowadays he's noticing more and more people using the BFG branded irons..... I told him bern di ming pai, yao ji chi ma..... (home grown brand, must support)
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:42 am

Thanks Lucius for your support....

we are slowly but surely growing day-by-day with our range of products which include the fish logo.

its tough to build a brand - one need vision, back up product promise with performance, constantly create brand value, lots of advertising funds, sponsorship and a good network of distributors. we think we have the first 3 in check but the rest will be a long time coming. we do not anticipate to spent lots on advertising and certainly sponsorship but we believe with a good functional product, we will slowly convince our audience that its worth their while to invest some time checking out BFG products.

for the best week, i had a few calls from some of the Singapore pros asking me about Russell new set of irons. Hopefully that number will grow. Golfers like Attiwit, Allen Kelly, JiaLi, Jared, Xi Suan, Yash and all the other GRians who come to know of BFG irons and supported us gives us the confidence and resources to develop a "bern di pai ji", we are not "ming" yet.

i hope that GRians will understand that we do not have deep pockets to flog our products using conventional advertising methods. Instead we have to publicise our products as best as we can using whatever resources thats available to us. so sometimes when we get boring or try too hard, please excuse us and we have a job to do too.

on a side note on local brands - it always pains me when i think of Creative Technologies - a local brand which could have been great but limited resources rob them of their chances of their global branding and sales position. Even when a giant copied their technology and everyone thought "why would a giant brand like iPod copy Creative? In the end Apple settled out of court for guess what $100 million. Now why would they pay Creative $100 million if there was no infringement.

$100 million is peanuts compared to the 336 million units of iPod sold to date.

Back to a more realistic front, we are hoping to cross the 100 set mark on the local front by this week..

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
Ssquirrel
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1368
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:27 pm

Had the chance to try these irons (golf kaki's club shafted with SteelFiber i95) on the course today.

Very impressed with them.

Had one memorable shot: Par 3, island green. I pulled out my 4hybrid; then my kaki said.. why you need hybrid? I was considering the 4h or 5i. After he tee'd off, I decided to borrow his club. Lined up my shot and swung. Bad swing, I chunked the shot and hit behind the ball. I thought the ball was surely going to be wet. To my surprise the ball made it across the water! I then turned the club over and looked at it and was shocked that it was a 6i! As this kaki and my distances are about the same (old man distances); I thought it was a 5i before I hit the shot.

These are very nice long and forgiving irons. As a weekend social golfer, I'm more concerned about forgiveness of the clubs. The bad shots are more important to me, as I have more bad shots than good shots..

Now.. to decide if it's time to change irons..... albino
Back to top Go down
samT
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 775
Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:11 pm

If you chunked a shot and still walked out dry, I think dun think liao. The irons did a magical thing for you Smile
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:21 am

its not magical....but the BFG irons are supposed to be forgiving. its not the first time, on a very uneven lie, i topped a 135 meter on a narrow approach. it went the full distance straight to the target. everything was right except it was not airborne as intended. it was a bit of luck and a bit if club head design that aided the outcome.

the distance on hole 8 was 162 meters, our TSS master not only chunked the 6 iron (which he told was a 5), it carry all of 145 meters across the lake. from there it was a no brainer that he made par. in fact he used them twice, on the treacherous 8 and 17 hole. i can see he was surprised with the ball flight and impact of the CB003 with i95. 2 pars on those 2 holes are better than acceptable even for a handicap 5 masquerading as a 19 handicapper.

in fitting for the BFG irons, customers are encourage to talk about the bad shots and the no of incidents and the result. a good shot will always be a good shot. its how the bad shots and how it turn out that is important for fitting a golfer and determining what's suitable.

PS (pun intended), he is already enquiring.....who knows he may be playing them sooner than expected.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
crayon33
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 510
Join date : 2009-11-20

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:27 am

Looking forward to the day when we can have a BFG irons, woods and putter
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:31 am

hehe its not going to happen...after the wedges, we follow the garmen policy....stop at 2.....unless there is incentive.....haha

special announcement at the stroke of midnight today.....

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:08 pm

wow... sounds like an incredible review Very Happy
Back to top Go down
ahnah
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1042
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Sengkang

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:09 pm

pippin wrote:
wow... sounds like an incredible review Very Happy

Sis, u wan ? go and order lor.
Back to top Go down
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:12 pm

ahnah wrote:
pippin wrote:
wow... sounds like an incredible review Very Happy

Sis, u wan ? go and order lor.

oh I'm sorry... if you don't catch my meaning lol!
Back to top Go down
ahnah
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1042
Join date : 2011-07-26
Location : Sengkang

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:14 pm

pippin wrote:
ahnah wrote:
pippin wrote:
wow... sounds like an incredible review Very Happy

Sis, u wan ? go and order lor.

oh I'm sorry... if you don't catch my meaning lol!

ok now i catch it .
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:18 pm

I played with schnell's 5 iron on kranji 3 hole about 2 weeks ago. And can you spell SWEET! Schnell will tell you my jaws dropped and i have been seriously thinking about blowing some mullah for his combination of I95 aerotech and bfg irons(jap spec)... oh my aching wallet.

So anyway, the great shot, which by the way does not happen often for a five iron, since i don't have a 5 in the bag. It carried to the center of the green 160m out. no left, no right, just laser guided straight. The ball rolled out back fringe and suffice to say i have not hit anything that has taken my breath away like that in awhile..... and i hit alot of things, twigs, roots, bushes and ponds included.

Back to top Go down
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:22 pm

@ Hara... a very credible source u are

Glad it works for Schnell and potentially u too
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:32 pm

we will reveal the secret of why the BFG is friendly.....soon.

of course its nothing compared to the major brands........in terms of ad dollar. so owners will not get a lot of bragging rights.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
S70B
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 5118
Join date : 2009-06-18
Location : Home sweat home...

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:34 pm

Eric

Playing these clubs are like shall we say 'playing with fire'? lol!

The temptation for most to 'touch' them is always there. ROFL

Also, if SS thinks they are good, you can be sure it offers some merit of credibility.

_________________
Stay Thirsty My Friends...
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:51 pm

well i saw the ball flight and i saw his reaction...thats why i got so motivated, went home and cooked these...

a leek and potato soup with wholesome chicken stock (from the carcass left over from the last Beer chicken).



roast chicken over a bed of onions, carrots, potato and mushroom (added much later). the juice from the slow roasting chicken was natural condiment for the vege roast.



finally.....the chicken literally tear off from the bones while retaining its tenderness and natural favour.



oh no... a recipe on an iron review.....what the heck, we are out of stock anyway.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:27 pm

Golf ... food and wine... a good combo...

Some of us would like tat ciggy too lol!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons   Today at 12:02 am

Back to top Go down
 
Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 5 of 15Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 10 ... 15  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Reviews: BFG CB003 Forged Irons
» R9 forged irons review
» Callaway Legacy forged irons
» Dynacraft Forged Irons
» How do take care of Forged Irons?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.