Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
acidic88
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 236
Join date : 2011-07-03
Age : 44

PostSubject: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:46 pm

A couple of weeks ago, I was at the den practicing my putting. While taking a break, saw a plain looking fairway wood with a TourAD shaft. Out of curiosity, I decided to hit a few balls with it. Wow.. the feel is great! From Trackman, ball flight and direction is good. I am pleasantly surprised cos its stiff flex (I use regular). Decided to have another few swing with it. Dispersion is decent. A Kaki commented "this wood is aim and shoot". So I took the plunge on Saturday and got myself fitted with the Callaway Razr Hawk 5 Wood and TourAD SF-6 (SR Flex).

Review from range. Definitely longer than those fairway woods which I had tried at the range. It is <10m shorter than my 910F which is 15*. Ball flight is penetrating and slightly on the high side. What I like most is the look at address. Once I placed it down, pleasing to my eye and confident. Fully understood the meaning of "Aim and shoot". Off center hits are decent so it is forgiving. Needs to get used to the sound though. Here are some pics (sorry, too happy hitting shots and forgot to take a photo at address). Thanks to DGman, I have a great weapon in the bag.




Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:49 pm

Wah!!!!! Great acquisition

Back to top Go down
beehome
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 624
Join date : 2011-12-21
Location : back lonkang

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:51 pm

beauty!
Back to top Go down
glespaul
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 136
Join date : 2010-09-03
Location : Holland V

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 12:47 am

Have try this wood at the den must say is very forgiving much better then my RBZ, even my old R9 wood feel much more forgiving then this RBZ. I HATE RBZ heehee!!
Back to top Go down
ron81
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 295
Join date : 2009-10-11

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:38 am

This really feels great. Out of so many woods I ever tried, hardly find one to replace my trusted Titty 904, until that day I gave a try at the den, wow...
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:36 am

This combo is very lethal in terms of dispersion and ease of hitting.

Thanks to Jon_TLk, Eiji and DGman for my latest WMD.

Another set of new acquisitions and my new bag will be complete.

Back to top Go down
grooveballer
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 272
Join date : 2009-06-20
Location : Central Singapore

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:19 am

Very nice indeed! Now I'm very tempted!
Back to top Go down
hkhamateur
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3062
Join date : 2009-09-29
Age : 43
Location : North-East

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:58 am

Wow...nicz new wood, bro. Smile
So when u decided fr another upgrade later, put me in yr waitg list k. Kam sia! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 8:42 am

asahi wrote:
This combo is very lethal in terms of dispersion and ease of hitting.

Thanks to Jon_TLk, Eiji and DGman for my latest WMD.

Another set of new acquisitions and my new bag will be complete.


you are not getting your cog!! but there again, you never know till you try...still waiting for the picture.
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:19 am

Nice grip. What is this grip called? How is the feel?
Back to top Go down
acidic88
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 236
Join date : 2011-07-03
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm

Bro MT, the grip is the new range from Golf Pride called "Z-grip cord". I have used BCT and find them too rough for me. Switched to VDR which is really nice and soft. I gave this grip a try cos I like the looks alot. Very Happy Also, I perspire easily but wanna avoid BCT roughness. Very good balance between the amount of grip and softness. Not for those who like tacky sticky grips I guess. Now thinking of changing all my grips to this Z-grip cord.
Back to top Go down
acidic88
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 236
Join date : 2011-07-03
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:52 pm

Bro hkamateur, this club will be in the bag for quite a while.. hope you have the patience..
Now I'm thinking if I should be getting the 3 wood.. but on another note, I'd better get my hybrids to complete my new setup first..
Back to top Go down
ping golfer
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 70
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:07 pm

Hi all, I tried out this beast at the Den, averaging 190m with a 5W, cannot believe it myself. Great shaft and head combo, 100% satisfaction guaranteed.
Back to top Go down
TheFocalPoint
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3011
Join date : 2009-10-01

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:11 pm

I love my fairway wood too at the range or trackman when it's always a flat lie, no rough, no fear of hooking it 40m to the left or slicing it 70m to the right, no fear of duffing, no fear of topping.. Yep, i bet everyone loves their woods at the range or indoors.. Smile

It's a whole other story when you're on a downslope, ball below feet, in the semi rough, on a wet muggy day and the last hole is a Par 5 and you gotta get it on from 210m just to assure a 2 putt par to play 89.

If you love your fairway wood in scenario no. 2 above, THEN it will be in the bag for quite a while.
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:34 pm

Does BigFish carry Z-grip Cords?
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:35 pm

mengteck71 wrote:
Does BigFish carry Z-grip Cords?

i thot you saw it when you sneak in yesterday.....
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
crayon33
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 510
Join date : 2009-11-20

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:41 pm

TheFocalPoint wrote:
I love my fairway wood too at the range or trackman when it's always a flat lie, no rough, no fear of hooking it 40m to the left or slicing it 70m to the right, no fear of duffing, no fear of topping.. Yep, i bet everyone loves their woods at the range or indoors.. Smile

It's a whole other story when you're on a downslope, ball below feet, in the semi rough, on a wet muggy day and the last hole is a Par 5 and you gotta get it on from 210m just to assure a 2 putt par to play 89.

If you love your fairway wood in scenario no. 2 above, THEN it will be in the bag for quite a while.

+1
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:20 am

DGman wrote:
mengteck71 wrote:
Does BigFish carry Z-grip Cords?

i thot you saw it when you sneak in yesterday.....

It wasnt me that u saw hor .. Kekeke
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:17 am

MT.....your unbranded X marks the spot 3 wood is ready......you can ask your altered ego to come and collect...Z-grips on the 3 wood?

great that you are venturing into other brands as well instead of just the tick.
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:49 am

Unbranded?! kekekeke.

Welcome to the club, MT!
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:53 am

he is not in the same club as you but the same as Rex.....
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:54 am

nobody wanna join PCC Club?
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:00 am

DGman wrote:
he is not in the same club as you but the same as Rex.....

affraid affraid affraid

Fierce!
Back to top Go down
4dtoto
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3623
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 45
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:05 am

Y , Y , Y, damn good..lol...
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:05 pm

Cant play golf so play badminton lor Smile.. Sssshhhhhh
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.   Today at 5:54 am

Back to top Go down
 
A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» A simple fairway wood review.. my black bird.
» Fairway Wood Shaft Recommendation
» Callaway Diablo Fairway wood...my review
» Loft for Fairway Wood
» Do you carry a Fairway Wood?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.