Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:34 pm

Putter Review

Zen Zim Tour Works with FeelTec Round Putter Grip

Length : 35.5 inches
Headweight: 360-370gms

After working with DGman for a bit on finding a putter solution, we decided to give this option a try.

It is a Zen Zim tour works with a Feeltec Round Putter Grip. The length of the putter is 35.5 inches. Since I am 6’1’’ tall I need a little longer putter and it allows me to get into a good proper setup position. When my putters are too short or too long issues creep into the stroke relative to my eye line, distance from the ball, etc.

Putter head

The putter head we decided to go with was the Zen Zim. It has a short neck with minimal offset. Very good fit for how I prefer the ball to be framed and how I like to stroke the ball. During my playing days I tried so many putters I really cannot remember, but there were a ton. However all that trial and error allowed me to learn what putter head works best for my stroke and now will gravitate solely to those types of designs. This was a better fit over the Zam (my first Zen), due to the neck and how it sets up to the ball. Finding what head shape and neck design works can take a lot of time and effort out of finding a putter and I recommend that people try all different types until they find one they really like, are comfortable with, and can improve their stroke.

This head also incorporates the RDE technology that is designed to allow a more pure roll of the ball off the face. It seems to work, as the roll is great. So I have no complaints in that department.

It also has a sightline on the flange and a dot on the top line. This for me is a great benefit, as when I line up the dot and the sightline together, I know I am in my proper set up position and feel confident that I will be able to produce a decent stroke.

The weight of the head was a concern initially as I don’t tend to play very heavy putters. But after installing the Feeltec round grip the weight seemed to even out and felt much better to me.

Putter Grip

We opted to try out the Feeltec round grip for this putter. For me it allows my hands to grab the putter a little more naturally. I have messed around with round grips in the past, but this is the first time I have tried this particular model and it feels quite nice. Not to soft or not to hard. There is just enough stick that it does not feel slippery, but not too much to where it feels like glue. All in all a great grip.

Another added benefit of the grip is the feeling of a counterbalance of the putter. Typically heavier heads on putters feel strange to me. So I was a little leary when I tried the first Zen as it was 20 grams heavier than my last putter, which I had great success with. But after moving to this model with this grip, I don’t “feel” the weight in the head. While I am not sure if this is actually the case, my feeling is that this grip is heavier than your typical putter grip, plus you need to add several layers of tape so the grip fits properly on the shaft, in essence adding weight to the butt end of the club. This in turn feels like a much more balanced putter, one with a weight that I am more accustomed to.

Conclusion

This putter has been great. I am still getting used to it, but I have seen some improvements in my putting over the previous Zen model that I had. I have played 4 or 5 rounds with it now and have had only one, maybe two three putts with it. Also after working a little with a Pelz putting tutor I had one of the best days “rolling” the ball in some time. So I think with a little more practice and a few more rounds I will continue to get used to this putter, the things that Eric and I worked on with my stroke, and the grip.

Please feel free to ask any questions as I will do my best to answer, or I am sure DGman would be willing to answer as well as he might be better versed in the particulars.





Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1129
Join date : 2011-12-28
Age : 35
Location : Out of bounds

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:42 pm

love the look of the putter head.
Back to top Go down
cenbale
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 60
Join date : 2010-07-21

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:56 pm

Nice putter
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:17 pm

there are different school of thoughts when it comes to putting. personally there is no right or wrong as different people have different ways of sending the ball to the hole.

Zen Putting Mechanics uses ZPI (Zen Putting Invocation) as a means of producing a consistent stroke that promotes a roll rather than a hit. the key difference is the putter becomes an extension of your dominant hand instead of using the shoulders which has less sensitivity to directional and distance control. The ZPI works well for those with good hand eye coordination and in the long run or under pressure, it is the key difference for success.

in order to produce a putter with less head weight but better total weight, we have been experiment with types of grips - circumference, total weight and how it would influence one's judgement and performance for directional and distance control. we even had 2 putter grips cut and joint up.

the factory whom we worked with is Feeltec and the brief was to produce a grip that was at least 13 inch long (conventional grip is 10 inches) and the weight must be purportionally distributed along the entire grip. The mould fee was simply too high to do this so we did the next best thing which was to use the lower part of a belly putter, modify this to a single grip which conforms to the Rules of Golf.

so here we are, a putter with a desired total weight (good distance control on long putts), less swing weight (to ensure the short putts are easy to aim, control and execute) and one that is distinctive and easy to use.

i am sure we will heard from users who have this installed and have some pretty good experience with the new ZEN ZIM (Intermediate Mallet) which is a great putter for those who wants to move from Mallet to Blade but may find it too drastic a change or those who are using a Blade but seem more forgiveness in aiming.

so as usual if i am not cooking on sunday, its a dangerous time for the equipment junkie.

have a great weekend.....DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:37 pm

It is all about the roll for me. If I know that I am rolling it well there is a chance that I will have a super putting day.
Back to top Go down
Ngigo
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 34
Join date : 2011-09-17
Location : Alderley Square, WA 6107

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:58 pm

hi DGman,

finally got it gripped with red feeltec since you ran out of stock for the black one bounce
iskandar installed it for me, with extra-extra tape on the lower section,





it is 33" while i'm standing 5'10

it's been great, it works for me,
especially with those tips from DGman, finally i almost can say bubye to three-putts,
been playing 3 round last week, the three-putts only came 1 per game *happy*

will come back to you when i think i have enough courage to cut my zap...
thank you bunch, DGman
Back to top Go down
Yeoyc
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 29
Join date : 2011-11-10

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:04 am

If I'm out of line I apologize in advance but reviews of product by pros on forums hold little ground to me as usually the reviewer has received free product from the supplier. If I received an expensive putter FOC I would also talk it up as the best thing in the world. Human nature I guess. Can DRGJr72 give us a yes or no as to if he paid for the putter or was it a free gift. I think it makes a difference to the review.
Regards
Yeo
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:21 am

Dan is a seasoned golfer and pro. Whether or not he paid for the putter is a separate issue (though I can understand why you would associate freebies + good reviews). What matters more is his credibility which I doubt he would put at stake just for a putter.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Begbie
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1330
Join date : 2010-06-04
Age : 38

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:25 am

Yeoyc wrote:
If I'm out of line I apologize in advance but reviews of product by pros on forums hold little ground to me as usually the reviewer has received free product from the supplier. If I received an expensive putter FOC I would also talk it up as the best thing in the world. Human nature I guess. Can DRGJr72 give us a yes or no as to if he paid for the putter or was it a free gift. I think it makes a difference to the review.
Regards
Yeo

Ur making assumptions yet again... Unless u hv proof that its free or motivated by any financial gain ur just shooting stray bullets and perhaps to ur own.foot. isn't it not enough u slam our local pros abt the measly amt they make , and now an ex pro like Dan.

Any review regardless should be taken with a pinch of salt but why can't u appreciate the fact he made one ? And why do u even bother to apologize if u dun mean it...


Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:42 am

give a man enough rope and he will.........

let the fireworks begin.

DGman

Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
DRGjr72
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 486
Join date : 2011-02-14
Age : 44
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:52 am

Yeoyc wrote:
If I'm out of line I apologize in advance but reviews of product by pros on forums hold little ground to me as usually the reviewer has received free product from the supplier. If I received an expensive putter FOC I would also talk it up as the best thing in the world. Human nature I guess. Can DRGJr72 give us a yes or no as to if he paid for the putter or was it a free gift. I think it makes a difference to the review.
Regards
Yeo

To help clarify things. First the putter was not a free gift. I am not going to go into my arrangement with Eric as that is our business, but I can assure you it was not a free gift.

As far as reviews go. Most product reviews that are done, at least golf products, are done by people who receive the gear from X company and then write a review. Yes the reviews might be skewed slightly due to the fact that it is free, but that is the nature of the beast. Companies want exposure on golf sites of their gear. To do this they offer the owners free product for review. Then the product is handed out to be reviewed. I used to do reviews for GolfWRX when I wrote for them several years ago and reviewed some of my own gear that I paid for and some gear that I got for free. I never did reviews when I was a pro as I did not have time or the desire to do so.

As far as this review is concerned. I feel it was a good, honest non biased review and I never stated it was the "best thing in the world". I was merely sharing my thoughts on a putter that has a grip that has been getting some attention down at the Den. I also pointed out that I was not certain about the head weight as I typically do not use heavy headed putters and how that was mitigated by the grip and weight in the butt of the club. I also don't think it is a bad thing to highlight if I am putting decently, and I also gave a nod to the Pelz putting tutor as well.

I also want to thank the guys who pointed out that the last thing I am going to do is sully my reputation over a putter. I have been in the golf game for 15 plus years and would not ruin that because I got a putter or driver for free. Also just on a side note I am not going to play something or give something a positive review if that item does not work, regardless of whether I got it for free or not. How is it going to help X company if I have something in the bag that is preventing me from playing well or does fit me, it just does not make sense?

Anyhow. Take the review with a grain of salt...as you should all reviews. It is my opinion on my putter and I figured I would share it in case there was anyone who wanted to read about it.



Back to top Go down
nientsu
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 3295
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:58 am

yeoyc

If I'm out of line I apologize in advance but comments like this holds no ground for me. Why u may ask? Cos this is a public forum and Dan is just giving a review of what he thinks. Futhermore, the real testament about this putter is how long the putter stays in Dan;s WITB, not the freebies he gets.

Anyway, you don pay for the review, so y do you bother? Its a public forum, take it with a pinch of salt.
Back to top Go down
timang84
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 965
Join date : 2011-11-05
Age : 31

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:59 am

I think trying it out is the best option. Don't like don't buy, buy already and dun like sell here. The zen putters are always popular! Just buy within yr means man.
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:31 am

why get so upset everyone...

just like the review, you can either believe it or ignore it.

from our records, Dan did have a free gift from us and it was his box of Srixon Z-star tour balls and i remember it was the start of our friendship. His contribution in helping us with marketing, copywriting, website development, photography, professional critic and many many more have helped us a lot in the last 1 1/2 years. i am not justifying his actions and it has got nothing to do with the likes of Mr Yeo but again, Dan is a good friend and i do not want him to feel out of place in this forum because of some invalid remarks made by irresponsible individual.

DGman



Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
teegem
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 417
Join date : 2011-03-30

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:44 am

COOL Eric, u r the man! cheers.
Back to top Go down
nicasio
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 422
Join date : 2009-11-25
Location : KL

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:08 am

Products review is good to share either it is good or not....and it does not matter as well whether it is free, on loan etc etc...
All the review info is personal and not biased to anyone...well done to Dan and DGman...
Cheers
Back to top Go down
Tituman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3375
Join date : 2009-10-16
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:22 am

DRGjr72 wrote:
Yeoyc wrote:
If I'm out of line I apologize in advance but reviews of product by pros on forums hold little ground to me as usually the reviewer has received free product from the supplier. If I received an expensive putter FOC I would also talk it up as the best thing in the world. Human nature I guess. Can DRGJr72 give us a yes or no as to if he paid for the putter or was it a free gift. I think it makes a difference to the review.
Regards
Yeo

To help clarify things. First the putter was not a free gift. I am not going to go into my arrangement with Eric as that is our business, but I can assure you it was not a free gift.

As far as reviews go. Most product reviews that are done, at least golf products, are done by people who receive the gear from X company and then write a review. Yes the reviews might be skewed slightly due to the fact that it is free, but that is the nature of the beast. Companies want exposure on golf sites of their gear. To do this they offer the owners free product for review. Then the product is handed out to be reviewed. I used to do reviews for GolfWRX when I wrote for them several years ago and reviewed some of my own gear that I paid for and some gear that I got for free. I never did reviews when I was a pro as I did not have time or the desire to do so.

As far as this review is concerned. I feel it was a good, honest non biased review and I never stated it was the "best thing in the world". I was merely sharing my thoughts on a putter that has a grip that has been getting some attention down at the Den. I also pointed out that I was not certain about the head weight as I typically do not use heavy headed putters and how that was mitigated by the grip and weight in the butt of the club. I also don't think it is a bad thing to highlight if I am putting decently, and I also gave a nod to the Pelz putting tutor as well.

I also want to thank the guys who pointed out that the last thing I am going to do is sully my reputation over a putter. I have been in the golf game for 15 plus years and would not ruin that because I got a putter or driver for free. Also just on a side note I am not going to play something or give something a positive review if that item does not work, regardless of whether I got it for free or not. How is it going to help X company if I have something in the bag that is preventing me from playing well or does fit me, it just does not make sense?

Anyhow. Take the review with a grain of salt...as you should all reviews. It is my opinion on my putter and I figured I would share it in case there was anyone who wanted to read about it.


Well said Dan. In this cyber world, with their face hidden, there are just dime and dozens of this kinds of keyboard heroes who dishes out their feelings, gripes etc etc etc...especially when they woke up on the wrong side of their bed or previous night were denied entry...... oops....OB... Embarassed
Just ignore and please if you do have future reviews of any kind, please feel free to do so for the benefits of the masses and not the exceptions. I, for one, loves to read reviews, and to believe or not is up to oneself and no one else. Have a nice day Dan. Beer

Titu aka spidey
Back to top Go down
daveaha
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3179
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 40
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:43 pm

DGman wrote:
why get so upset everyone...

just like the review, you can either believe it or ignore it.

from our records, Dan did have a free gift from us and it was his box of Srixon Z-star tour balls and i remember it was the start of our friendship. His contribution in helping us with marketing, copywriting, website development, photography, professional critic and many many more have helped us a lot in the last 1 1/2 years. i am not justifying his actions and it has got nothing to do with the likes of Mr Yeo but again, Dan is a good friend and i do not want him to feel out of place in this forum because of some invalid remarks made by irresponsible individual.

DGman




Well said Eric.
Back to top Go down
http://www.nufc.sg
schnell
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 222
Join date : 2010-12-27
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:07 pm

we should appreciate that there are ppl who are willing to share their review of their golf equipment. whether you appreciate the review anot is up to you..bottom line is that whether he got it for free or it fell from the sky doesn't matter...its his review. if you don't like it ...just close the topic and move on...geeez
Back to top Go down
shorthitter
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals


Posts : 1725
Join date : 2009-06-17
Location : Laguna National Golf and Country Club

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:31 am

I was going to comment but scared now!! pale NOT!

I have exactly the same set up as Dan, except my grip is Red, cos red goes faster.... Very Happy

On the grainy greens in Asia I actually look for weight in the head, in my mind I don't need to hit as hard, maybe not true, but when golfing any positive thought helps.

I have had untold success putting lately because through trial and error I have started strengthening my grip on right to left putts, I have found this helps me hold the intended line better, or once again so i have convinced myself.

I like the extra length, I don't have to hunch so much.

I have been a centre shafted man for a long time, but I actually now prefer the way the Zim sits behind the ball, I can align it easily.

Distance control seems a lot easier but that could be once again that i am more confident again.

I recommend you try one out, I am sure you can loan first, if it helps my putting!!! cheers

Anyone want to know if I paid for it? Beer
Back to top Go down
http://www.2telgolf.com
ljlow
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 241
Join date : 2011-03-23

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:37 am

shorthitter wrote:
I was going to comment but scared now!! pale NOT!
shorthitter wrote:
Anyone want to know if I paid for it? Beer

LIKE +1
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:23 am

i have not seen AK rolled his ZIM except at the Den. but i was told that he is very good at it. so good that there were some Laguna members who saw that and came to get a ZIM in the same configuration.

for this set up, the stroker will have no problems adapting but the knockers will not be able to use this and the biggest issue will be distance control because of the weight and weight distribution of this putter.

a stroker will usually use the putter as an extension of their dominant hand while the knockers will have wrist action and wrist release which will be better off with a lighter but more head weighted putter preferably with lower MOI.

last night i was having kopi with someone who is not on this forum and he told me about his playing partner with a long grip and a funny looking putter head. he said this golfer had 3 birdies and played 81 in their last game. so i asked him who this was and he showed me the photo on his HTC.....its none other than haragolfer.....haha...Alvin we need to work on your long putts.

DGman



Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
nientsu
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 3295
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 42
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:36 am

From what i know, SH always had issues with his putter. Since i have known him years ago, i have seen him change from blade to mallet, to putters with different necks, to shaft length, to belly non belly, to all sorts of grips and to all sorts of methods in holding the putter.

I think he has hit the jackpot with this.

Am a Zen-ist myself. I bought mine in Dec 2010 and have not looked back since.
Back to top Go down
mowen
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1471
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:38 am

Sounds like Leonard lost a few $$ to Alvin Smile
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:40 am

I don't have a Zim to review but what DGman wrote really hit me on the head

I recently switched to a big mallet Zen Oracle with a long shaft (35.5 inch) and the same Feeltec Round Grip reviewed here. I think it's safe to say that I have never putted with more confidence and ease as I do now. I realized that I do stroke my putts with my right hand. The left hand is just there for the ride. The big grip, the long shaft and heavy putter weights really helped calm my hands and wrist down a lot. As a result I don't push and pull my putts as much anymore. I used to struggle with push/pull with a small blade and lighter putter.

PS: haragolfer kena exposed! 81 with 3 birdies better start playing with the big boys (if he's not already...) Laughing
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip   Today at 5:49 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Review of Zen Zim with Feeltec Round Grip
» Review: Tiger Shark Putter Grips
» Review of the Pure Grip DTX Prototype grips
» Review : Lamkin Perma-Wrap ACE 3GEN grip
» New N-DUR grip from Lamkin

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.