Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

Tweaking your drivers

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
iceballx
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: Tweaking your drivers   Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:29 pm

Hi all,

I am still new to golf. I just got my R11S. I wa wondering how tweaking the driver from O+ N to C+ and changing the loft would help my game.
I have been reading online but i am just confused. Any gurus here that can enlighten me?
Back to top Go down
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Tweaking your drivers   Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:40 pm

Very much trial and error.. If your ball is going left, set to open face might help, and vice versa. Play it in the range with different setting to determine which one suits you.
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Tweaking your drivers   Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:40 pm

If you are hitting straight most of the time, don't bother.
Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Tweaking your drivers   Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:41 pm

here's my basic understanding. i'm sure there are many more ppl on this forum who have a better understanding and will be able to give a better explanation.

O = open club face
C = closed club face
N = neutral

Here is what the different settings are supposed to help u with (in a ultra simplified way).

(i) Closed club face. This is aimed at beginners who tend to slice the ball. (If you're right hander, slicing means curling the ball like mad to the right) As slicing is caused by an open club face at impact (in addition to an out to in swing path), closing the club face is supposed to reduce slice.