Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Ball on edge of the cup blown in.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:11 pm

For the above situation, do i need to replace the ball at the edge of the cup after i have started walking towards the hole?
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:20 pm

I think that will be valid... I term that as selective putting using the wind to assist
Back to top Go down
Uncle Lau
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1505
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 51
Location : AMK Detention Barrack

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:23 pm

If you counted 1min, than the ball drop in ...no penalty. After 1min than need to replace.. scratch

If i am not mistaken lor. So far remember in the Golf Rules Book got something like this situation.

scratch
Back to top Go down
lennylim
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 224
Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : The Little Red Dot

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 9:24 pm

MC, i also believe its ok that its wind assisted, and no need to add 1 stroke.
i read before somewhere that if the ball is at or near the lip of the hole, u can wait like for 10 - 15 sec and see if it drop in. if it does, good for u, if not, u have to take another stroke.
Back to top Go down
Alan
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals


Posts : 44
Join date : 2009-08-27

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:40 pm

Rule 16-2 Ball overhanging hole.

the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deem to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise there is no penalty.
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:02 pm

If you replace the ball at the marker and the ball is at rest but subsequently start rolling (due to the slope or other factors like wind) and hole out, then it is deemed to have holed out at the previous stroke.

You just need to pick the ball and no additional stroke.

True or false?

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
mowen
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1471
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:11 pm

Just for fun .. asking

Player putt ... ball stop at the edge ... player thought never go in ... attempted to knock in
but before he contact the ball .. the ball drop in ... how ?

could it be the qi gong of the player .. cause this player hits 270m with his driver so maybe he got gi gong in his hands ...

: )

what i did that day is i gave him the putt cause the putter did not touch the ball .. just for fun this qn ?
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:16 pm

That is within the 10s so you should give him. Unless he address the ball before attempting to knock it in. That is ball move after address and 1 stroke penalty. Haha i talking crap now

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:24 am

ok then. i shot 92 at ponderosa yday. hiakz hiakz.

mowen, just for fun answering. i would take it as he have to replace the ball back to the original position as he has deemed the ball already since he is already attempting to hit the ball. but that is for tournament and i would apply it to those who has already pissed me off. i usually very friendly one.
Back to top Go down
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:42 am

dun think its necessary to replace the ball, juz add one more stroke to the score if it falls into the hole after u hang ard the ball from more than 10 seconds
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:46 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
ok then. i shot 92 at ponderosa yday. hiakz hiakz.

mowen, just for fun answering. i would take it as he have to replace the ball back to the original position as he has deemed the ball already since he is already attempting to hit the ball. but that is for tournament and i would apply it to those who has already pissed me off. i usually very friendly one.

Actually my crap answer is the actual. If he never address the ball and the ball fall in within reasonable time. There is no penalty and he has holed the ball in the last stroke. If it was too long, then he need to add 1 stroke penalty. If he address the ball, then he violated the ball move after address penalty. Even if it is the wind that blow the ball.

Eg, Mr Harrington addressed the ball getting ready to putt. Strong wind. He took a step back and wait. Wind blew the ball and ball moved. So he assessed himself 1 stroke penalty as the ball moved after address.

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
Ssquirrel
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1368
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:13 am

mowen wrote:
Just for fun .. asking

Player putt ... ball stop at the edge ... player thought never go in ... attempted to knock in
but before he contact the ball .. the ball drop in ... how ?

could it be the qi gong of the player .. cause this player hits 270m with his driver so maybe he got gi gong in his hands ...

: )

what i did that day is i gave him the putt cause the putter did not touch the ball .. just for fun this qn ?
Where to learn this Qi Gong? One of my kaki's Qi quite strong, but usually is mostly gas lah...albino
Back to top Go down
freedrop
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 691
Join date : 2009-06-23
Location : 19th Hole

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:05 am

Alan wrote:
Rule 16-2 Ball overhanging hole.

the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deem to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise there is no penalty.

That penalty is for undue delay? Rule 16-2 seems to read so.
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:17 am

i guess the penalty is imposed so that after you wait 10s, you would just tap it in without waiting. If not during tournament if you ball is overhanging hole, you will wait 1 day and 1 night for it to drop if it means winning or forcing a playoff etc etc...

but that is just my opinion.

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:32 am

anyway.. for my story is that.. i have already been putting quite bad for the front nine.. but i am still trying to get used to a new putter...

but i was putting fantastic for the back nine. at the last hole, i already did a miserable 5-on for a par 5. I was hoping to sink that last putt of at least 8 feet. i read the correct line, but gave it too much of a strength and it rolled slightly beyond the hole and kinda creep back abit as it was uphill. it rested right at the edge of the cup.

i was doing my usual grunting, sighing and screaming. then as i started to walk to the hole. a gust of wind blew and my ball went in!


BOGEY~
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:45 am

sunny wrote:
If not during tournament if you ball is overhanging hole, you will wait 1 day and 1 night for it to drop if it means winning or forcing a playoff etc etc...

lol!
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:19 am

sunny wrote:
i guess the penalty is imposed so that after you wait 10s, you would just tap it in without waiting. If not during tournament if you ball is overhanging hole, you will wait 1 day and 1 night for it to drop if it means winning or forcing a playoff etc etc...

but that is just my opinion.

With the recent spate of tremors, my guess is that you won't have to wait that long.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
alucard
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 254
Join date : 2009-08-14

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:12 pm

another question, after lining my putt, i remove my marker. but as I stand over the ball, it moved cos it was on a slope. I called a extra stroke on myself, but my flightmates said it shouldnt be a penalty.

So, penalty or no penalty?
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:20 pm

there is no penalty.

But if you have addressed the ball, then it is penalty

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:42 pm

i think is penalty
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:45 pm

there is no penalty for that unless you are the one who moved the ball. But it is a penalty if you address the ball.

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:47 pm

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0406/1224267751263.html

another senario
Back to top Go down
golof
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 20
Join date : 2010-07-29

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:32 pm

The 10-Second rule applies.... cheers

Am a certified R&A Rules official... Beer
Back to top Go down
golof
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 20
Join date : 2010-07-29

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:34 pm

[quote="alucard"]another question, after lining my putt, i remove my marker. but as I stand over the ball, it moved cos it was on a slope. I called a extra stroke on myself, but my flightmates said it shouldnt be a penalty.

So, penalty or no penalty?[/quote]

There is no penalty, but you need to putt from the new position.

:beer:
Back to top Go down
alucard
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 254
Join date : 2009-08-14

PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:00 pm

Thanks guys for ur responses!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ball on edge of the cup blown in.   Today at 12:05 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Ball on edge of the cup blown in.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ball on edge of the cup blown in.
» Opie Oils - Castrol Edge - 1 litre free & handy boot pouch & oil change kit
» Best match ball??
» Need to shout "Ball" or "4"?
» Crash Ball Center

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.