Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:59 pm

I traded my Cobra 3W stock shaft for a Play-off shaft.
All I need is to pay $20 for the fitting cost. ( introductory offer )
My first shaft was based on Louis's estimation of 230 cpm.
I found it totally out of wack and jokingly accusing him of cheating my $.

He change it to a lower CPM, I think it was about 218cpm.
This time it was much better but not really perfect.
Perhaps I have not got use to the shaft yet.
Before I could test it any further, Louis change it to the same CPM as my favourite 5W.
It is a Cobra 5W Graphit Design stock shaft. (206 CPM)

After the third change, I tested it at the range.
This time it lauches higher, strighter and a good 10m longer.
My driver swing speed is about 87MPh.
This 3W(206cpm) gave me 190m carry at the range.( hit off the deck)
It is really not bad consider that kind of price I'm paying.

Looks: Embarassed quite ugly looking
Feel: cheers cheers cheers The feel is sweet and well balanced.
Performace: cheers cheers cheers cheers Lanches higher, straighter and longer.
Value: cheers cheers cheers cheers cheers
Quality: scratch Only time can tell.

Conclusion:
The shaft looks "Cheap and Ah Beng" but at $125 it is giving me better launch, straighter and longer distance what more can I ask? The interesting here is - you can change your shaft until the CPM suite you at $20 per change. A better option is to bring your favourite club and get the CPM measure to keep out the guessing.

One thing that I won't be able to tell is, can the shaft last?
If you have any old club lying around, there's no harm trading it.

Caveat- I'm not a technical player. I don't know much about spin rate, angle of acttack, smash factor etc..... My review is just based on my feel and end results.
I'm doing it out of goodwill and for the benifits of the GR and you can be assured the review is unbais.





Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
shamusan
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2789
Join date : 2010-05-10
Age : 31
Location : In YOUR fairway...

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:15 pm

Got pic?
Back to top Go down
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:46 pm

Tks for sharing ... Smtg interesting tat u seem to believe in ... Tks to Louis too
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:08 am

shamusan wrote:
Got pic?

Tomorrow.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
simoner
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1111
Join date : 2010-09-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:50 am

Louis fitted my Ping i20 driver with the Playoff CPM shaft too, estimating the CPM to be 236. The original Project X Black 5.5 stock shaft has a CPM of 230. I actually hit it further and straighter.

I gave my feedback to Louis after my 1st game at MBGC after was fitted with the club the day before.
http://www.golfrepublic.org/t17640p15-correct-shaft-cpm-can-help-you-hit-straighter-and-longer#307180

Performance wise, the shaft is great. Looks wise - it could be much better. Another feedback I passed on to Louis is how long can the shaft can maintain the CPM - guess that's the golden question.
Back to top Go down
davis.suliman
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 49
Join date : 2012-07-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:40 am

so does this mean lowering the cpm will launch the ball higher? and how does one lowering the cpm? butt trim?

as far as i know (most likely i'm wrong) butt trim will move the kick point down the tip hence making the ball launch higher
but i'm not sure about spin rate...maybe all the masters out there would like to share an insight

Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:13 am

davis.suliman wrote:
so does this mean lowering the cpm will launch the ball higher? and how does one lowering the cpm? butt trim?

as far as i know (most likely i'm wrong) butt trim will move the kick point down the tip hence making the ball launch higher
but i'm not sure about spin rate...maybe all the masters out there would like to share an insight


I guess so, but need the pros to confirm.
Instead of triming they have a wide range of CPM.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:53 am


Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:54 am

Close-up view of the shaft.


Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
davis.suliman
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 49
Join date : 2012-07-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:02 am

TigaWood wrote:
Close-up view of the shaft.



that's a nice looking driver there you got! Smile
Back to top Go down
gingerus
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 221
Join date : 2012-01-08

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:08 am

I've got fitted with the playoff shafts for both my driver and woods. In my humble opinion, the shaft for driver is low launching and generates alot of backspin which causes a loss of 20m distance as compared to my stock shaft. Sad to say, the fitting process is based on your feedback and trial and error instead of actual figures, everytime you go back to change it, theres a $20 fee. Ive given up on the shaft and gone back to my stock shaft now.
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:28 am

gingerus wrote:
I've got fitted with the playoff shafts for both my driver and woods. In my humble opinion, the shaft for driver is low launching and generates alot of backspin which causes a loss of 20m distance as compared to my stock shaft. Sad to say, the fitting process is based on your feedback and trial and error instead of actual figures, everytime you go back to change it, theres a $20 fee. Ive given up on the shaft and gone back to my stock shaft now.

My first shaft was ill-fitted or rather ill estimated.
Suggest you get your favorite club to measure the CPM and fit accordingly.
Assuming you need 5 changes to get it right ( longer and starighter )
It will come out to be $225, I suspect many wouldn't mind paying.
There after, you can do it on all your other clubs.

The only issues I have is, for the irons it will be to costly (to me).
At $100+ I can get many good and branded iron shaft.

BTW, I'm not technically incline how come low launch generate a lot of backspin?
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
davis.suliman
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 49
Join date : 2012-07-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:35 am

TigaWood wrote:
gingerus wrote:
I've got fitted with the playoff shafts for both my driver and woods. In my humble opinion, the shaft for driver is low launching and generates alot of backspin which causes a loss of 20m distance as compared to my stock shaft. Sad to say, the fitting process is based on your feedback and trial and error instead of actual figures, everytime you go back to change it, theres a $20 fee. Ive given up on the shaft and gone back to my stock shaft now.

My first shaft was ill-fitted or rather ill estimated.
Suggest you get your favorite club to measure the CPM and fit accordingly.
Assuming you need 5 changes to get it right ( longer and starighter )
It will come out to be $225, I suspect many wouldn't mind paying.
There after, you can do it on all your other clubs.

The only issues I have is, for the irons it will be to costly (to me).
At $100+ I can get many good and branded iron shaft.

BTW, I'm not technically incline how come low launch generate a lot of backspin?



yeah, i'm always confuse which would be best for an average joe swing say 100mph:
1. high launch low spin (tour ad DI)
2. low launch low spin (diamana whiteboard)
3. low launch high spin(playoff)
4. high launch highspin (to kill superman perhaps)

i don't even consider the medium range...
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:51 am

100mph is no average Joe speed.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
gingerus
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 221
Join date : 2012-01-08

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:58 am

TigaWood wrote:
gingerus wrote:
I've got fitted with the playoff shafts for both my driver and woods. In my humble opinion, the shaft for driver is low launching and generates alot of backspin which causes a loss of 20m distance as compared to my stock shaft. Sad to say, the fitting process is based on your feedback and trial and error instead of actual figures, everytime you go back to change it, theres a $20 fee. Ive given up on the shaft and gone back to my stock shaft now.

My first shaft was ill-fitted or rather ill estimated.
Suggest you get your favorite club to measure the CPM and fit accordingly.
Assuming you need 5 changes to get it right ( longer and starighter )
It will come out to be $225, I suspect many wouldn't mind paying.
There after, you can do it on all your other clubs.

The only issues I have is, for the irons it will be to costly (to me).
At $100+ I can get many good and branded iron shaft.

BTW, I'm not technically incline how come low launch generate a lot of backspin?

im not technically inclined as well, but from what i know, high backspin will balloon your shots high and descend much faster causing a loss on distance. The worst combination is having such high backspin and yet the launch is low which equates to me losing 20m as compared to my stock shaft. Any pros wanna shed some light on this? for $225, i would rather go to a clubfitter that has the equipment to find out what is your swing like with actual statistics and find a shaft that will work best for you. my 2 cents worth
Back to top Go down
davis.suliman
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 49
Join date : 2012-07-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:03 pm

TigaWood wrote:
100mph is no average Joe speed.

hahahah maybe 85mph-90mph then???
Back to top Go down
shamusan
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2789
Join date : 2010-05-10
Age : 31
Location : In YOUR fairway...

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:55 pm

wow... sorry bro but its an ugly shaft for sure... looks like chinaway stuff
Back to top Go down
Khorkar
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2978
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 42
Location : Sinkapoh

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:23 pm

Aka....very beng shafts....but so long as it works...doesn't matter la...

Anyways, Graman used to have bright yellow/green shaft and Bubba Watson use a pink shaft. Si beh O-biang.... if it takes to you 250m, then your golfing partners will be wonder what in the world kind devilish shaft is this... Wicked!!!


Last edited by Khorkar on Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
shamusan
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2789
Join date : 2010-05-10
Age : 31
Location : In YOUR fairway...

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:27 pm

eh... i disagree... colors are one thing... but at least have nice design... the look of the "play off" looks really cheapie
Back to top Go down
pippin
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 717
Join date : 2010-07-13

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:37 pm

Hmmm looks fine to me... Loud n cheapie like loudmouth wear ... Probably all made in china anyway
Back to top Go down
simoner
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1111
Join date : 2010-09-20

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:37 pm

Funnily, I am getting about 10-20 metres for my driver with more roll. I guess it means lesser back spin.

Agree with the comments that the looks of the shaft could be btter
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:55 pm

I just came back from a 9 hole round at Keppel.

I'm very happy with the performance.
Had 5/5 on the fairway, perhaps is because it's a 3W.
1 drive: Started from the 1st Tee had a solid 210m drive.
2 drive: 2 hole. Slightly top the shot but distance was still OK. 190m
3 drive: 3 hole. Hit a solid drive but ballon up due to strong head wind. 200m
4 drive: 7 hole. Did not hit it on sweet spot. 190m
5 drive: 8 hole. Full load on the shaft could feel the shaft reacting.
The club head seem to closed, there was a tinge of draw.
I was expecting a long drive, but it was only 160m.

This is a rather soft shaft but nevertheless it suits my swing.

Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:58 pm

shamusan wrote:
eh... i disagree... colors are one thing... but at least have nice design... the look of the "play off" looks really cheapie

Agree, the fonts are quite cheapo.
I believe they can easliy get it changed.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
jeffman88
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1374
Join date : 2010-08-17
Location : Where the sun rises...

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:07 pm

Seems amongst GRians product design aesthetics is as impt as engineering performance...

Yups theres always this triangle of value we deal with constantly ie AESTHETICS, PERFORMANCE and PRICE...

once PlayOff takes off in terms of its PERFORMANCE quality and a designer improves the overall aestherics of the shaft I am sure the marketeers will also jack up the PRICE ....
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:09 pm

simoner wrote:
Funnily, I am getting about 10-20 metres for my driver with more roll. I guess it means lesser back spin.

Agree with the comments that the looks of the shaft could be btter

20m affraid What's your CPM?
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )   Today at 1:02 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Review on Play-off shaft( CPM Concept )
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Red playoff shaft from Bob's golf
» AP2 710 and MP53
» Yamaha v forge iron set
» The New Fubuki J - the heritage of the Alpha and the feel of the B (pcis)
» Playoff shaft by Bob's Golf

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.