Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

51 deg, p , sw - difference?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Slaygay
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: 51 deg, p , sw - difference?   Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:43 am

Newbie here. Trying to understand whether there's a need to buy all the different wedges? Right now I am using p for all types of chipping shots
Back to top Go down
Slicer51
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: 51 deg, p , sw - difference?   Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:59 am

It is good to have at least 2 more wedges. Like the 54 or 56 and 58 or 60 loft.

Higher loft like 58 & 60 good to use for bunker. 54 or 56 give you a higher ball launch and hope to stop the ball from rolling too much.

May I know what loft is your pw ? and how far you hit with it ?

I felt wedges like the rest of the irons that give you a different distant from different loft. Let says you full swing your PW for a 100m. What do you use if you like to hit 90, 80, 70, 60, 50, 40 or 30 m ?
Back to top Go down
nrafee
Caddy
Caddy

PostSubject: Re: 51 deg, p , sw - difference?   Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:29 am

If full swing on pw is 100, Half swing should be about 50m.
A gap wedge will give 90, half swing 45
Sw 80, half swing 40.

Hence that's why slicer recommend you get 2 more wedges.

Then again, if you can adjust your swing on your pw to give you the right distance, well you can do without more wedges right Smile
Back to top Go down
EastCoastHack
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer

PostSubject: Re: 51 deg, p , sw - difference?   Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:30 am

I found this information helpful when wondering about the "gap" between my PW (44) and SW (54):

http://www.leaderboard.com/LOFTINFO.htm

http://www.ralphmaltby.com/47

Back to top Go down
jeffman88
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: 51 deg, p , sw - difference?   Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:54 am

Slaygay wrote: