Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

 Rule 28

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer

Posts : 2448
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 60
Location : Surabaya

PostSubject: Re: Rule 28   Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:02 am

shorthitter wrote:
Begbie wrote:
Now i can apply this rule whenever my ball hit bunker in mbgc.. Bring back to last position i hit my shot and take 1 penalty .. Correct or not ?

Correct big man..... I mean Begbie..... Beer

Correct indeed but why most of us do not use much of that. I guess maybe

1) Unless you are sure ball went into bunker before take the penalty of one stroke and hit again near from the original spot. To be sure, we walk all the way to the bunker to confirm ball in bunker and walk all the way back to the original spot.

What happened when I hear bro Begbie hit his drive 280 meter ? long way to walk bro (just kidding).

2) If it is a fairway bunker (low edges), still can hit out and advance the ball without taking the 1 stroke penalty. Good player, hit with wood 5 to on the green (you know who la), okay player advance 100 - 140 meters, beginner might be big problem ( beginner better take lessons from pro SH) cheers
Back to top Go down
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

Posts : 76
Join date : 2012-01-09

PostSubject: Re: Rule 28   Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:53 pm

Good thread to save a few strokes in case we get into an unfortunate situation Smile

One shot I can think of is missing a 3 feet downhill put and the ball rolls away 10 feet+. Better to try again at the 3 ft point I believe.
Back to top Go down

Posts : 2158
Join date : 2009-10-20

PostSubject: Re: Rule 28   Wed Aug 07, 2013 10:11 am

Can't say I agree with you about missing a downhill putt from 3 foot and the ball is still on the green ...

If your 3 foot putt was originally for Par, you take unplayable, you are making next putt for Double Bogey ... with the mental image on your ball rolling 10+ feet past the hole in your mind ... that's a really tough thing to deal with mentally

If you choose to play where it lies ... 2 putts uphill from 10+ feet should be given, and you still have a chance for a bogey if you make the putt ...

Of course if you putt off the green into a collection area and have to get up and down for double, then I would completely agree that taking the unplayable and replaying the first shot is a much better idea

What's in the Bag

Driver: Callway X-Hot 10.5 with Fubuki 50S (pulled from a TM Burner SuperFast)
Woods: 19 Deg Callaway X-hot Proj X Stock S Flex
Hybrid: 22 Deg TM SF i70R, Cobra Baffler 25 Deg NS950R
Irons 5-Pw:  Titleist 704 CB NSP950 (Flex Unknown - think it is R)
Wedges: Perry Gear 52 Deg DG S300 and BFG 55 Deg KBS Hi-Rev, Tourstage 60 Deg
Putter: RIFE Antigua Island with Champ Large Grip
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content

PostSubject: Re: Rule 28   

Back to top Go down
Rule 28
Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
» Vermont to revoke rule allowing ATVs on state land
» False start rule causes problems when applied sporadically
» False start rule makes athletes edgy for USA Champs
» 2 Contrasting Views on the False Start Rule
» The 107% Rule

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.