Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 interesting encounter

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
audi
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-11-16
Age : 30
Location : jakarta

PostSubject: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:13 pm

played a game today. it was par 3, and i shot very close to the pin, was very happy with that shot. then my friend's turn to hit the ball. his ball landed quite near to mine and rolled and hit my ball. my ball went inside the pin. so what score did i get? birdie or what?
Back to top Go down
jurongtiger
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1399
Join date : 2009-07-27
Location : Jurong

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:16 pm

Albatross HIO
Back to top Go down
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:53 pm

i think u need to replace your ball to the original position
Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1129
Join date : 2011-12-28
Age : 35
Location : Out of bounds

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 7:54 pm

Correct me if i'm wrong, but I think you have to place your ball back at its original position, or as close as possible (since you probably won't know the exact spot).

However, your friend will simply play his ball from where it ended up after hitting your ball. ie if it had hit your ball and went into the hole, it's a hole in one for him.
Back to top Go down
jurongtiger
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1399
Join date : 2009-07-27
Location : Jurong

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:48 pm

I see...

This is covered in Rule 18-5, Ball at Rest Moved by Another Ball. There is no penalty to either player as long as this procedure is followed: The person whose shot struck the ball at rest plays his ball as it lies; the person whose ball was moved returns the ball to its original position.

Failure to replace the ball that was moved to its original spot; or moving the ball that did the striking (rather than playing it as it lies) results in loss of hole in match play or a 2-stroke penalty in stroke play.

"18-5. By Another Ball
If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced."
Back to top Go down
Slicer51
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2449
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 59
Location : Surabaya

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:24 pm

audi wrote:
played a game today. it was par 3, and i shot very close to the pin, was very happy with that shot. then my friend's turn to hit the ball. his ball landed quite near to mine and rolled and hit my ball. my ball went inside the pin. so what score did i get? birdie or what?

Sorry, everybody is correct on this. You did not get the HIO, maybe next time bro Smile

Interesting that it happened to you and you post this question thread. May I know how did you play that hole when you have not receive all these answers?
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:10 am

If no one seen your friend's ball touches yours. U can claim HIO. If everyone seen, it replace the ball to the original place.
Back to top Go down
hkhamateur
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3062
Join date : 2009-09-29
Age : 43
Location : North-East

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 7:39 am

Slicer51 wrote:
audi wrote:
played a game today. it was par 3, and i shot very close to the pin, was very happy with that shot. then my friend's turn to hit the ball. his ball landed quite near to mine and rolled and hit my ball. my ball went inside the pin. so what score did i get? birdie or what?

Sorry, everybody is correct on this. You did not get the HIO, maybe next time bro Smile

Interesting that it happened to you and you post this question thread. May I know how did you play that hole when you have not receive all these answers?

Bro Slicer51, think bro audi claimed a Albatross HIO by nt knowg. Wink
Mayb i was wrong. Cool
Back to top Go down
audi
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-11-16
Age : 30
Location : jakarta

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:10 am

Slicer51 wrote:
audi wrote:
played a game today. it was par 3, and i shot very close to the pin, was very happy with that shot. then my friend's turn to hit the ball. his ball landed quite near to mine and rolled and hit my ball. my ball went inside the pin. so what score did i get? birdie or what?

Sorry, everybody is correct on this. You did not get the HIO, maybe next time bro Smile

Interesting that it happened to you and you post this question thread. May I know how did you play that hole when you have not receive all these answers?

i did not replace the ball to the original position and i did not putt it in as well. so in that par 3 i only hit once from the tee off box. but i claimed a birdie for that hole cos i knew i did not put the ball in pin.
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:17 am

audi wrote:
Slicer51 wrote:
audi wrote:
played a game today. it was par 3, and i shot very close to the pin, was very happy with that shot. then my friend's turn to hit the ball. his ball landed quite near to mine and rolled and hit my ball. my ball went inside the pin. so what score did i get? birdie or what?

Sorry, everybody is correct on this. You did not get the HIO, maybe next time bro Smile

Interesting that it happened to you and you post this question thread. May I know how did you play that hole when you have not receive all these answers?

i did not replace the ball to the original position and i did not putt it in as well. so in that par 3 i only hit once from the tee off box. but i claimed a birdie for that hole cos i knew i did not put the ball in pin.

in a competition...

if its match play and if your opponent have conceded the putt, you walk away with a birdie.

In stroke play you are DQ cos you did not complete the hole.

in social play....birdie is about right although its standard to complete a birdie putt no matter how close your ball sit. and yes placing the ball to the original position or closest is what you need to do.

golf in a sense is the game of life and there are no mulligans and the rules are the rules no matter how stupid it may appear to you.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
audi
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2011-11-16
Age : 30
Location : jakarta

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:51 am

Ok noted. This is the first time that I face this kind of situation. Even my caddy doesn't know about this ruling. Thanks DGman
Back to top Go down
kamen
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 470
Join date : 2012-12-18
Location : In your heart, Babe.

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:08 am

DGman wrote:


in a competition...

if its match play and if your opponent have conceded the putt, you walk away with a birdie.

In stroke play you are DQ cos you did not complete the hole.

in social play....birdie is about right although its standard to complete a birdie putt no matter how close your ball sit. and yes placing the ball to the original position or closest is what you need to do.

golf in a sense is the game of life and there are no mulligans and the rules are the rules no matter how stupid it may appear to you.

DGman

"Golf in a sense is the game of life and there are no mulligans and the rules are the rules no matter how stupid it may appear to you."

This is a great quote!
Back to top Go down
https://www.facebook.com/spcasingapore
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:02 pm

jurongtiger wrote:
Albatross HIO
Eh, how come Albatross? Should be Eagle since it's 2 under. Albatross is 3 under.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: interesting encounter   Today at 5:48 pm

Back to top Go down
 
interesting encounter
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Interesting things to do near Yate
» Interesting article: Car (and bike) batteries are not 12 volts
» Interesting Rumours about WWE Stars..
» Interesting facts about Super XV over the past two years.
» The Most Interesting Man in the World on "The Gym"

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.