Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
golfool2009
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1313
Join date : 2010-06-14

PostSubject: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:05 am

Between the two magazines, Golf Magazine gives a more insightful (and I use that word in the loosest sense possible) review than Golf Digest....their challenge is how do you give an honest review without pissing off the big boys on which they're dependant on for their very survival. This is my attempt at decoding a few choice reviews:

1. One of the more attractive sticks in the test - Will look good in the shop and in your bag but you will be wondering why GR needs min 50 posts to sell in the Marketplace within the month

2.An admirable feel, a great look, and balanced overall performance make it an exciting option - Phui...don't buy!!!! Editor to monkey: "Find something nice to say.......Go look at massage chair or vibrator reviews and copy"

3. Well-balanced performer in a unique-looking package - Remember that flexible, cock-eyed girl with the little mustache you banged when you were drunk but never told your friends about?!??!!

4. The best driver you're probably not considering - How the hell did this Wilson driver get in the test.....?!?!

5. The top performer in its class. It ranks among the best in categories from distance to look - Die die must buy. It doesn't hurt that it's my beloved CG Black.....It must be good if the golf magazine says so.....golf magazines don't lie....or do they?!?!

Back to top Go down
chien
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1817
Join date : 2012-03-22

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:39 am

lol!

Like !

Lets do a game before cny over...
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:52 am

LOL, so true that magazines lie to us all the time. After awhile, it seems all the swing tips are the same rehashed shit and the drivers all hit "amazing" distances. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Thanks for the decoder, and now we know.
Back to top Go down
Solutions
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 84
Join date : 2011-07-04

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:03 pm

+1
Back to top Go down
snagy23
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 432
Join date : 2012-04-28

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:08 pm

+1
Back to top Go down
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2087
Join date : 2009-11-30

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:04 am

I Read MyGolfSpy for what I perceive as independent review of golf equipment

Eg they rate Mizuno Mp650 fw as the top dog fw for 2012 over TM RBZ and Cally RazrFit

They are not obliged to say good things about TM or other big OEMs like Titleist, Callaway, etc

They say it as they see it. And I like it!
Back to top Go down
Sutos101
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 57
Join date : 2011-11-04

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:31 am

pocketace wrote:
I Read MyGolfSpy for what I perceive as independent review of golf equipment

Eg they rate Mizuno Mp650 fw as the top dog fw for 2012 over TM RBZ and Cally RazrFit

They are not obliged to say good things about TM or other big OEMs like Titleist, Callaway, etc

They say it as they see it. And I like it!


Totally agreed
Back to top Go down
supernova
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 59
Join date : 2010-04-17

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:43 am

good thread. +1
Back to top Go down
schnell
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 222
Join date : 2010-12-27
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:46 am

I always had the feeling that golf magazines were paid for thier reviews..excellent insights into thwor reviews though haha lol!
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews   Today at 12:30 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Decoding Golf Magazine's driver reviews
» Golf Magazine's Club Test 2011 - New Drivers and Irons
» Surprise!!! SMALL head Driver beats Big Heads. Anyone has the reason behind this?
» Reviews: Legends Golf & Country Resort
» The Opulent Golfer - FREE online golf magazine

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.