Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

Hello Everyone!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
peter.thl
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: Hello Everyone!   Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:18 pm

Hi Everyone.

I am totally new to golf and hopefully could pick up this lovely game.

Not sure if this is how beginner pick up golf but I thought it would be none-the-wiser to get a coach before I learn any bad habits.

I'm staying near Toa Payoh Playgolf Driving Range hence I thought of registering for a 1-to-1 coaching session. But given that there are quite a few coaches, not sure who is good. Any recommendation within the handful of coaches?

First of all, I love sports and currently enjoying an unhealthy amount of badminton, analyzing game play, strokes, equipment and such. I prefer a coach who also enjoy the technical side of sports. I am willing to put in a lot of effort (used to play badminton 7 days a week, 3 hours per day for nearly a year, just to improve) and need a coach who is really passionate in golf.

Second, if I wish to learn, should I just buy a second hand set of golf clubs, brand new, borrow someone's, or use whatever provided by the coach? How do I know if a club suits me? How do I know if the length too long or too short?

Third, I might have sweaty palm and I think it's useful for glove. Any recommendation?

I am really excited to learn and hopefully can psycho my wife to join me too! Haha.

Cheers! Beer

Back to top Go down
sob
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Hello Everyone!   Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:36 pm

Welcome to GR Peter!

First - not sure about coaches in TPY, can go there and rece see which coach catch your eye.

Second - get what the coach is providing you, until you sure that you steady liao.
Check out GR Market place for the deals.
Your coach should be able to advise if club is too long or short, or the bros here can