Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
kevlee69
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 63
Join date : 2010-01-17

PostSubject: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:02 pm

Going to post my little review on the above. Have never been able to hit my fairway woods reliably and been through a couple of brands and finally gave up hitting them and stocked my bag with hybrids instead.

Problem is, my 3 hybrid can only go to 170-180m and I cannot lauch a 2 hydrid reliably. I needed clubs to fill my gap from 180 to 200m, especially the long par 4s at OCC. So I have been toying with the idea of getting a fairway wood for a long time but the phobia of not being able to hit it reliably has always stopped me.

Read some reviews on the Callaway X-Hot fairways and decided on the spur of the moment to go get one. Got myself the 3 wood and brought it straight to the course. No testing at the range or at the shop (bought it from Golfdirect).

It was a revelation. Fantastic off the tee and off the deck. Straight as an arrow almost every time and on off-centre hits, a manageable pull in my case. Great look at address and the gun-metal grey head does it for me. I like the size, not too big and yet not to small to inspire confidence. Consistently hitting it 190-200m. Was so happy with it I went out to get the 5 wood. Have used both for couple of games now and am convinced it is definitely a great club and not just the "new club syndrome" where you hit well for one game and it goes downhill after that. One thing to note is that I think you should have a reasonable swing speed to launch this (stock Project X Velocity shaft). My playing buddy who has a slower swing speed cannot launch this. My set is now complete and I am a happy camper.
Back to top Go down
Tokkokking
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 290
Join date : 2012-10-06
Age : 37
Location : Aljunied/Geylang

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:09 pm

Congratulations bro!! cheers
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:54 pm

Congratulations indeed Kev. Thanks for sharing your story.

Very fortunate of you to find your magic wand (in this case, two) on your first foray for fairway woods. You struck gold.

May they bring you much satisfaction and lower scores. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Shwong2003
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 59
Join date : 2009-12-06

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:24 pm

I heard good things about the X-hot Fairway Woods. However, I never had a chance to try it out. Now with such an independent and positive review, I think it is time I give it a shot. Thanks for the review.
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:26 pm

Shwong2003 wrote:
I heard good things about the X-hot Fairway Woods. However, I never had a chance to try it out. Now with such an independent and positive review, I think it is time I give it a shot. Thanks for the review.
Go to den and try the one.....it's WOW....
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:37 pm

Good and simple review. Thanks.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
scottycollector
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1129
Join date : 2011-12-28
Age : 35
Location : Out of bounds

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:40 pm

i like that u mentioned the 'new club syndrome'. at least i know i'm not alone on this.

i seem to always play a new club damn well the first time on the course, then as time progresses, the magic simply fades away

i never quite figured out why that happens. Anyone has an answer???
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:51 pm

Shwong2003 wrote:
I heard good things about the X-hot Fairway Woods. However, I never had a chance to try it out. Now with such an independent and positive review, I think it is time I give it a shot. Thanks for the review.

with a Tour AD SF shaft in there.....mmhh......i believe enwee has that in his fw too....
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
NikeN
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 568
Join date : 2010-12-02
Age : 37
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:06 pm

scottycollector wrote:
i like that u mentioned the 'new club syndrome'. at least i know i'm not alone on this.

i seem to always play a new club damn well the first time on the course, then as time progresses, the magic simply fades away

i never quite figured out why that happens. Anyone has an answer???

Errr... when using new club, you probably will focus on your swing. After get used to it, you will focus on distance??? lol!
i guess that whats happen to me! White Flag
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:23 pm

NikeN wrote:
scottycollector wrote:
i like that u mentioned the 'new club syndrome'. at least i know i'm not alone on this.

i seem to always play a new club damn well the first time on the course, then as time progresses, the magic simply fades away

i never quite figured out why that happens. Anyone has an answer???

Errr... when using new club, you probably will focus on your swing. After get used to it, you will focus on distance??? lol!
i guess that whats happen to me! White Flag

There is a saying ... New Broom Sweeps Well ... Laughing
Back to top Go down
kevlee69
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 63
Join date : 2010-01-17

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:39 pm

Hope the magic lasts ! So far so good...keeping fingers crossed.


Turbo wrote:
NikeN wrote:
scottycollector wrote:
i like that u mentioned the 'new club syndrome'. at least i know i'm not alone on this.

i seem to always play a new club damn well the first time on the course, then as time progresses, the magic simply fades away

i never quite figured out why that happens. Anyone has an answer???

Errr... when using new club, you probably will focus on your swing. After get used to it, you will focus on distance??? lol!
i guess that whats happen to me! White Flag

There is a saying ... New Broom Sweeps Well ... Laughing
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:14 pm

so so tempting.. unfortunately my Yonex is still serving me well.. lucky can save abit of $$..
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:58 pm

DGman wrote:
Shwong2003 wrote:
I heard good things about the X-hot Fairway Woods. However, I never had a chance to try it out. Now with such an independent and positive review, I think it is time I give it a shot. Thanks for the review.

with a Tour AD SF shaft in there.....mmhh......i believe enwee has that in his fw too....

It's DI not SF also it's an antique yamaha head........but the Xhot with SF, it's OMG.........strongly advice weak in will people not to touch it.
Back to top Go down
h0ok_fighter
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 36
Join date : 2012-05-19
Age : 34
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:22 am

Letting mine go to a bro who wishes to give this a go. Stock shaft stiff, x hot, fairway 3. Looking at $220 to part with this 2 month old beauty.

Sorry to hi-jack!

PM or whatsapp me at 98345554

Back to top Go down
krone
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 56
Join date : 2013-03-25

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:44 am

h0ok_fighter wrote:
Letting mine go to a bro who wishes to give this a go. Stock shaft stiff, x hot, fairway 3. Looking at $220 to part with this 2 month old beauty.

Sorry to hi-jack!

PM or whatsapp me at 98345554


Tried the x-got 4 hybrid. Couldn't really get it to launch at the range but was awesome on the golf course surprisingly
Back to top Go down
krone
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 56
Join date : 2013-03-25

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:45 am

krone wrote:

Tried the x-got 4 hybrid. Couldn't really get it to launch at the range but was awesome on the golf course surprisingly

Anybody know why?
Back to top Go down
EastCoastHack
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 258
Join date : 2012-07-30

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Thu May 16, 2013 8:32 am

The X-Hot FW gets 5 stars from the Golf WRX team in a review released yesterday:

http://www.golfwrx.com/97868/callaway-x-hot-fairway-woods-editor-review/

I've had one in my bag for a few rounds now and I love it. It replaced a CG Black FW which replaced a Razr X Black FW. I finally have a FW I can hit! Mostly.

Back to top Go down
mtheseira
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 102
Join date : 2013-05-14

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Thu May 16, 2013 9:41 pm

got to try this out soon, using a diablo octane FW now
Back to top Go down
michaelcheah
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 111
Join date : 2011-05-25
Location : In the east ...

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 8:31 am

this is a good club ... tried it and bought it on the spot Wink
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 9:00 am

any demo to borrow? Smile worry once tried will have to drop the Yonex.. Sad
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 9:03 am

Dun try, regret forever.

Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 9:06 am

orh..good advice.. Smile
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 9:40 am

asahi wrote:
Dun try, regret forever.

+1....
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 9:59 am

mengteck71 wrote:
orh..good advice.. Smile

you have one day to try out mine.....which is on a Tour Ad SF. but you need to return it on sat latest cos i need this for dinner in Bangkok.....

Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Fri May 17, 2013 10:49 am

DGman wrote:


you have one day to try out mine.....which is on a Tour Ad SF. but you need to return it on sat latest cos i need this for dinner in Bangkok.....


Can buy your FW and irons and golf bag? Friendship price?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review   Today at 10:16 am

Back to top Go down
 
Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Callaway X-Hot Fairway Review
» Callaway Diablo Fairway wood...my review
» Review of Callaway Razr X Black Driver
» Callaway Hex Chrome Ball Review
» Callaway Speed Regime Golf Balls - SR1, SR2 and SR3

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.