Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

Hello everyone!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
brandonlim
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: Hello everyone!   Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:38 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm not a golfer but I'm interested and want to learn the game. I read from the older posts that most of you get a coach to teach you how to play?

i'm still a student and don't have income yet, i need help on where to buy clubs, where to play (preferably with student deals).

Is it really necessary for someone like me with 0 knowledge of golf, besides from those learn from games to have a coach? or cause i'm budget, can i self learn like through books and off the internet?

Thanks for helping a newbie out!
Back to top Go down
outlander
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Hello everyone!   Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:18 pm

Best to learn from a coach. It's much harder to change once you pick up bad habits.
Back to top Go down
kakaxi
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Hello everyone!   Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:33 pm

Yup. agrees. Coach can see your mistake and correct you. best to at least complete a 10 sessions lesson.
Back to top Go down
paul@golf
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Hello everyone!   Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:43 am

Hi hi, welcome Brandon. It's true if u decide to go self-taught, it ll be more difficult to unlearn. U can ask ard some bros here might guide u along wi e right info
Back to top Go down
zhikang
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Hello everyone!   Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:28 am

Hi brandon, i'm a student here as well and I have been self-learning golf for the past few months. I started around Nov-Dec last year but I didnt start with absolutely 0 la, when I was younger I had a couple of sessions with a coach but it was nothing serious.