Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
AuthorMessage
NikeN
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 568
Join date : 2010-12-02
Age : 37
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 12:43 pm

Technospaz wrote:
I agree, DGman, but don't you think that given how the course played... luck was also a huge factor?

I saw golfers who hit great shots but because of a bad bounce, they ended up in the bunker while others who hit poor shots somehow were fortunate as their ball bounced in a safe manner and rolled up to the hole. It was somewhat erratic and frankly, I didn't quite enjoy this year's Open. It seemed far too hit and miss for me.

Yeah! Didnt see any shot with backspin and stop inches from hole. Very Happy
Looks like only 1 shot they do, "bump and run" for all long and short distance shot. scratch
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 12:49 pm

NikeN wrote:
Technospaz wrote:
I agree, DGman, but don't you think that given how the course played... luck was also a huge factor?

I saw golfers who hit great shots but because of a bad bounce, they ended up in the bunker while others who hit poor shots somehow were fortunate as their ball bounced in a safe manner and rolled up to the hole. It was somewhat erratic and frankly, I didn't quite enjoy this year's Open. It seemed far too hit and miss for me.

Yeah! Didnt see any shot with backspin and stop inches from hole. Very Happy
Looks like only 1 shot they do, "bump and run" for all long and short distance shot. scratch

I hear that Golffool (who is Mr. Bump&Run) will be looking to compete at the next Open. I'm sure he'll fair very well Smile

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
GooGie
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 161
Join date : 2010-09-17
Location : Central Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:28 pm

kyleyann wrote:
BTW, was Stenson using legacy black irons?

 Stenson's bag on the left, Branden Grace's on the right

[img][/img]
Back to top Go down
peace2903
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 889
Join date : 2009-07-02

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:43 pm

Congrats to phil! Was rooting for TW but looking at him so stressed out, made me stressed watching him! Guess Phil won the game and fans! And on the contrary, Adam seems so undetermined to win.
Back to top Go down
blee67
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5410
Join date : 2009-12-05
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:18 pm

Technospaz wrote:
NikeN wrote:
Technospaz wrote:
I agree, DGman, but don't you think that given how the course played... luck was also a huge factor?

I saw golfers who hit great shots but because of a bad bounce, they ended up in the bunker while others who hit poor shots somehow were fortunate as their ball bounced in a safe manner and rolled up to the hole. It was somewhat erratic and frankly, I didn't quite enjoy this year's Open. It seemed far too hit and miss for me.

Yeah! Didnt see any shot with backspin and stop inches from hole. Very Happy
Looks like only 1 shot they do, "bump and run" for all long and short distance shot. scratch

I hear that Golffool (who is Mr. Bump&Run) will be looking to compete at the next Open. I'm sure he'll fair very well Smile
You must be joking.. I thought he is already competing in the tour now under a different name?lol!


Last edited by blee on Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Online
DLWL
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 608
Join date : 2012-01-21
Age : 31

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:00 pm

It was quite a anticlimax.

Was exciting up to the stretch whr Phil's putter caught fire.

Tot the leaders will bunch up at -1 or Par to go to a playoff.

Once PM finished the round. it was quite boring.
Back to top Go down
18underPar
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 553
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Vancouver, Canada

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:37 am

DLWL wrote:
It was quite a anticlimax.

Was exciting up to the stretch whr Phil's putter caught fire.

Tot the leaders will bunch up at -1 or Par to go to a playoff.

Once PM finished the round. it was quite boring.

 totally agree... actually stopped watching after phil's round and went straight to the range to practice haha..

PGA Championship at Oakhill is coming up pretty quick, another 2 - 3 weeks?! Any picks for the season's final major yet?
Back to top Go down
http://www.EighteenUnderPar.com
wtapz
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 87
Join date : 2012-04-23

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:00 am

Love the lefty flop shot... Incredible Smile
Back to top Go down
18underPar
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 553
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Vancouver, Canada

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:56 am

In case you missed the final round of The Open, here's an awesome 70 second clip of Phil's entire final round with all of his swings!


 
Back to top Go down
http://www.EighteenUnderPar.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Today at 8:32 am

Back to top Go down
 
Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 7 of 7Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
 Similar topics
-
» Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield
» Ricoh Women's British Open Preview, Pairings, and More.
» Ricoh British Open Preview & Pairings
» Ria Bintan Open 2013 10th Anniversary (19th & 20th Oct)
» Abt British Open

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Tour Talk-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.