Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
AuthorMessage
s-killer
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 398
Join date : 2009-11-05

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:25 am

Read that some players (including TW) actually keep their driver at home and go with an extra wedge instead. affraid affraid
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:27 am

s-killer wrote:
Read that some players (including TW) actually keep their driver at home and go with an extra wedge instead. affraid affraid
Phil uses 5 wedges...affraid
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:17 am

Good to see TW is in the mix ... Nike Golf
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:43 am

Schwartzel... booyah!


_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:03 pm

Thursday's Quotes of the Day
18 July 2013 19:37 GMT


“One for the old farts.” – 1998 champion Mark O’Meara, now age 56, on his four under round of 67, tied for second

“Beyond angry. 5 bogeys for 1 over. Two 3 putts, so frustrating when you play so well and don’t finish it off… 8th hole is a joke, 18th needs a windmill and a clown face.” – Ian Poulter tweets his feelings to his 1.5 million followers

“It was fine and fair. If you play well, there’s a good score out there for you. He’s always moaning, Poults. You can’t pay too much attention to him.” – Lee Westwood, who shot the same score as Poulter to finish the first day tied for 27th

“The organisers should let go of their ego and set the course up the way the best players can win.” – Phil Mickelson, after shooting a two under 69 to lie tied for ninth

“I think they are very foolish to express their views like that. Mickelson is very much in the hunt and Poulter is only one over. Poulter’s remarks are just childish. It’s just ridiculous. I never heard Jack Nicklaus or Arnold Palmer come out with comments like that… It’s a PhD, not an O-Level.” – Peter Alliss

“Trust me. It was tough, it was challenging, but unfair? No. I’m not saying I haven’t complained or got upset on the golf course, but I’m not a big fan of guys that whine a lot. I just don’t see any reason for it. Players need to conduct themselves in the right manner. When they don’t, it does bother me.” – Mark O’Meara

“It’s so much fun out there. Every shot is like a chess match. It’s exactly what links ought to be. It’s beautiful. The course is absolutely perfect.” – 2009 champion Stewart Cink, who carded a one over 72 to be tied for 27th

“I don’t think Muirfield is a patch on the US Open last month. Some of the greens at Merion were farcical to play on.” – 1999 European Ryder Cup captain Mark James

“We’re conscious of player comments and have taken note as we plan how to set up the greens tomorrow. I do understand some players get frustrated. Ian Poulter bogeyed four of the last five holes — he was bound to get frustrated. It’s a very testing, tough Open Championship. It’s far from unplayable.” – Peter Dawson, chief executive of the R&A

“I’m still in a bit of a daze. Nobody is expecting me to be up there. It’s a funny name in the middle of all these proven Major winners. I can say I led The Open Championship, the greatest tournament there is. It’s nice.” – Shiv Kapur who finished three under on 68, tied for fourth

“That view standing on the first tee – we were four deep at that time which is pretty darn cool… I’ll take that as my shot of the day. You won’t be seeing me next year. No way.” Sir Nick Faldo on carding an eight over 79 in his first competitive round for three years

“I made stupid mental errors. I made sloppy bogeys on four and five. I let shots get away from me – too many loose shots. I missed the ball in wrong places. Sometimes I feel like I’m walking around out there a bit unconscious. I’ve got to try to think a bit more. I’m trying to concentrate. I can’t really fathom it. It’s so brain dead.” – Rory McIlroy on his eight over 79

“I’ve known him since he was 12. I’m like big granddad here. I’m trying to give him a little caring, loving help. I like the kid. He’s a friend. I’ve been there, seen it, I know what can happen… When I saw him before the PGA, he said ‘Every part of my game is good or better than good’. Wouldn’t say that now, would he?” – Sir Nick Faldo on McIlroy

“Sometimes you have to take these home truths. He has got to regroup. It’s not as if he can take time off, but he needs a break. His brain is fried right now. His body language is terrible. He’s obviously upset with the way he’s playing. He’s embarrassed, almost.” – David Leadbetter on McIlroy

“I’ve tried to grow my hair a little bit but it completely defies the laws of gravity. So I’m not going to let that happen again.” – Rafael Cabrera Bello on copying Miguel Angel Jimenez’s style

“I been a skier, enjoy very much. You cannot distract for anything because the bull can take you. If you breaking your leg at 30 years old, you could say okay, I’m going to have sabbatic year, but at 49 you don’t want to spend any sabbatic day. I feel pissed off.” – Miguel Angel Jiminez, on how he felt about breaking his leg last December

“I get recognised more over here than in my home country. The other night we were sitting outside a little fish and chips place. The owner says ‘You’re American. You’re either on vacation or playing in The Open. You play golf, don’t you?’ I said ‘Yes’. And he couldn’t think of my name.” – 2004 champion Todd Hamilton
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:07 pm

"Whatever! 9-9 from all golfers!" - LPGA Buaya Champ, Mloy.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
18underPar
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 553
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Vancouver, Canada

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:25 pm

Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!

Back to top Go down
http://www.EighteenUnderPar.com
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:05 pm

Round 2 underway....O'Meara after 7 holes is +3, falling out of the table liao.
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:52 pm

18underPar wrote:
Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!


 Bro, I thought TW's tee off time is 9.44 AM (UK time) for 2nd round? scratch  He has in fact juz teed off ...
Back to top Go down
salaqinc
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 25
Join date : 2011-03-21

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:08 pm

UK on summer time.
It's 7 hours apart, not 8 hours now.
Back to top Go down
Rafj
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 343
Join date : 2013-04-28
Age : 44
Location : Where there's large patches of Green :-)

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:05 pm

Hope Shiv Kapur, Kiradech Aphibarnrat and the rest of the Asian guys play well today..... :-)
Back to top Go down
18underPar
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 553
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Vancouver, Canada

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:50 pm

Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!


 Bro, I thought TW's tee off time is 9.44 AM (UK time) for 2nd round? scratch  He has in fact juz teed off ...

 Clip is from round 1 yesterday - forgot to mention that! oops!
Back to top Go down
http://www.EighteenUnderPar.com
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:54 pm

18underPar wrote:
Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!


 Bro, I thought TW's tee off time is 9.44 AM (UK time) for 2nd round? scratch  He has in fact juz teed off ...

 Clip is from round 1 yesterday - forgot to mention that! oops!

 Looks like he nailed it with a 4i, huh?
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:15 am

T1Miguel A. Jimenez-111-4
T1Rafael Cabrera-BelloE10-4
T1Zach Johnson11-4
T4Henrik Stenson-1F-2
T4Lee Westwood-3F-2
T4Tiger WoodsEF-2
T4Dustin Johnson16-2
T4Bubba Watson-16-2
T4Brandt Snedeker15-2
T4Angel CabreraE1-2
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:57 am

2nd Round Leaderboard

Miguel Jimenez -3
Tiger Woods -2
Zach Johnson -2
Lee Westwood -2
Dustin Johnson -2
Henrik Stenson -2
Back to top Go down
18underPar
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 553
Join date : 2013-05-22
Location : Vancouver, Canada

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:39 am

Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!


 Bro, I thought TW's tee off time is 9.44 AM (UK time) for 2nd round? scratch  He has in fact juz teed off ...

 Clip is from round 1 yesterday - forgot to mention that! oops!

 Looks like he nailed it with a 4i, huh?

 looks like it! i was thinking maybe even a 5i. leaderboard is packed, should be a great weekend of golf! hoping for a TW win on sunday
Back to top Go down
http://www.EighteenUnderPar.com
WY
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 300
Join date : 2012-11-27

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:16 am

Anyone know what time TW is teeing off today? Thanks
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:31 pm

18underPar wrote:
Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Turbo wrote:
18underPar wrote:
Hey everyone, Tiger just started his round while I was heading to work this morning so I didn't get to catch much of his play.  I did see this awesome shot tracer from the tee shot on the par-3 4th hole though and thought I'd share!! Check it out, 218 yards, forget what club he hit though!  The sound at impact is PURE!


 Bro, I thought TW's tee off time is 9.44 AM (UK time) for 2nd round? scratch  He has in fact juz teed off ...

 Clip is from round 1 yesterday - forgot to mention that! oops!

 Looks like he nailed it with a 4i, huh?

 looks like it! i was thinking maybe even a 5i. leaderboard is packed, should be a great weekend of golf! hoping for a TW win on sunday

 Yeah, TW is in contention now when the first round leader, Zach as well as Angel collapsed to -1 at the end of 2nd round ... I doubt Miguel can sustain after the 3rd round as he is no longer young ... considering that the condition in Muirfield is harsh & taxing both mentally & physically ...
Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:34 pm

WY wrote:
Anyone know what time TW is teeing off today? Thanks

 TW is teeing off with Lee Westwood at 3.10 PM (UK time) ... Enjoy! Swing
Back to top Go down
hkhamateur
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3062
Join date : 2009-09-29
Age : 43
Location : North-East

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 1:51 pm

Any free live streaming? Laughing 
Tx any bros. Wink
Back to top Go down
SF
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 5
Join date : 2013-02-12

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:01 pm

Thanks Turbo, long wait today.
Back to top Go down
Rafj
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 343
Join date : 2013-04-28
Age : 44
Location : Where there's large patches of Green :-)

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:28 pm

Turbo wrote:
2nd Round Leaderboard

Miguel Jimenez -3
Tiger Woods -2
Zach Johnson -2
Lee Westwood -2
Dustin Johnson -2
Henrik Stenson -2

The Open is getting pretty interesting if the wind continues to blow.... :-)
Back to top Go down
fata
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 383
Join date : 2011-07-03
Location : Fairway Green

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:40 pm

hkhamateur wrote:
Any free live streaming? Laughing 
Tx any bros. Wink

 http://www.streamhunter.eu/other-live-streaming-video.html

For the uprising bro hong .. here's the link bro...



Other Links:
Watch now:Link#1 (Download our free desktop app)
Flash:
1374310800 1374285600
10:00Golf - THE OPEN Championship
Live Streaming Video Other : Golf
open event
Saturday (20 July) 10:00 (GMT +1)


Back to top Go down
Turbo
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5879
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 90
Location : Pin Hole

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sun Jul 21, 2013 2:15 am

Leader Board after 3rd Round

1) Lee Westwood -3
2) Tiger Woods -1
3) Hunter Mahan -1
4) Adam Scott E
5) Henrik Stenson E
6) Angel Caberra +1
7) Zach Johnson +1
Back to top Go down
Rafj
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 343
Join date : 2013-04-28
Age : 44
Location : Where there's large patches of Green :-)

PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Sun Jul 21, 2013 2:17 am

Thanks for the update Turbo.

Final round is going to be really interesting.....

:-)
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield   Today at 7:13 am

Back to top Go down
 
Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 7Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Preview: British Open 2013 @ Muirfield
» Ricoh Women's British Open Preview, Pairings, and More.
» Ricoh British Open Preview & Pairings
» Ria Bintan Open 2013 10th Anniversary (19th & 20th Oct)
» Abt British Open

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Tour Talk-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.