Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ralphlim
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 481
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 37
Location : SG

PostSubject: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:23 am

I had an opportunity to visit Motor-city Detroit, MI for work reasons last week.
On the Friday aftn, while my colleagues were out drinking Budlites, i excused myself and drove to a nearby public golf course in Livonia, MI - Whispering Willows

This is a Par-70 course and relatively flat to play with some scenic holes, it is located along 8-mile junction (made famous after the movie and "Lose Yourself" song by singer Eminem)  

Rental clubs - $15
18holes - $20
Trolley - $3

Enjoy!



Club-House in nice summer weather



Driving Range - practice off grass or mat


Toughest hole on the course, Par 4 390yrds


FW is nicely cut with rough



One of the interesting Par-3
Tee-box on the far left, green on uphill extreme right, need to hit a nice soft draw to find green


No half-way houses, but a SYT will go round in a cart selling Cokes Zeros, beers or Vitamin water


walking back to the club house, i saw this logo on the tarmac, maybe it means this is a level -1 simple PGA certified course
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:34 am

Very nice!

Thanks for sharing!
Back to top Go down
costajos
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-09-12
Location : wherever I am, I am

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am

thanks for sharing Smile 

love the prices man...
Back to top Go down
jurongtiger
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1399
Join date : 2009-07-27
Location : Jurong

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:27 pm

I like SYT and beer!
Back to top Go down
dyeosh
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 187
Join date : 2012-09-25

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:46 pm

What is SYT? Sexy young thing?
Back to top Go down
beehome
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 624
Join date : 2011-12-21
Location : back lonkang

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:09 pm

Thanks for sharing, Ralph. 

Beautiful weather some more. 

How many PGA levels are there? Got to do this oso when I go to US nx time.
Back to top Go down
ralphlim
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 481
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 37
Location : SG

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:50 pm

@ Dye:SYT is Sweet Young Thing lah, Sexy or not i dunno, it is subjective!! Very Happy 
 
@Bee: yeah weather was good. I didnt have clubs or golf shoes, so crazily i went back to hotel change into berms and track shoes and drove to the course hoping to get lucky. Indeed they rented me a set of Wilsons and i bought a cheap glove and a box of cheap balls n play liao!! The club gave me a free divot tool n marker so thats a nice touch!!
Back to top Go down
dyeosh
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 187
Join date : 2012-09-25

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 1:56 pm

ralphlim wrote:
@ Dye:SYT is Sweet Young Thing lah, Sexy or not i dunno, it is subjective!! Very Happy 
 
@Bee: yeah weather was good. I didnt have clubs or golf shoes, so crazily i went back to hotel change into berms and track shoes and drove to the course hoping to get lucky. Indeed they rented me a set of Wilsons and i bought a cheap glove and a box of cheap balls n play liao!! The club gave me a free divot tool n marker so thats a nice touch!!

 Sweet is good enough, thanks for the clarification, hahaha
Back to top Go down
danielleecm
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 565
Join date : 2011-02-08
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:16 pm

thanks for sharing...one question is there any PGA certified course locally?
Back to top Go down
nrafee
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1830
Join date : 2009-12-23
Location : [strike]Tiong Bahru[/strike] Bedok

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:30 pm

$20 dollar... for 18 holes... so cheap..
Back to top Go down
ralphlim
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 481
Join date : 2009-06-22
Age : 37
Location : SG

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:31 pm

not sure about locally, i guess so since most clubs follow the USGA handicapping system

This course is Level 1, indicated as "Family Tee"
maybe if you go to Bethpage Black or Merion, you will see a Level 10 icon with the words "For Professional" only Shocked
Back to top Go down
bogeyman72
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 698
Join date : 2011-05-04
Age : 44
Location : PRC most of the time.....

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:32 pm

+1 LIKE!

Very good value for money!!!
Back to top Go down
chien
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1817
Join date : 2012-03-22

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:37 pm

Great courses in US..

Played in a public course in Pittsburg, the guy thought I was a uni student and charged me $8 student rate... 

Where to get.....?  Laughing
Back to top Go down
nutty88
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1158
Join date : 2009-07-01
Age : 48
Location : Little Red Dot

PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:22 am

Reminds me of Cinnabar Hills in San Jose. Great public course.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics   Today at 12:40 am

Back to top Go down
 
Whispering Willows Golf Course (USA) - Review + Pics
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Long Thanh Golf Course - HCM, Vietnam (Pics Intensive)
» YUJI GOLF
» KL Golf reviews?
» Sun Mountain Golf Bags
» join ntuc my golf kaki

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Golf Courses and Ranges-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.