Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:12 am

Back to top Go down
Stanix
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 65
Join date : 2013-04-09

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:45 am

They r still human, aft all.... hehe
Back to top Go down
hkhamateur
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3062
Join date : 2009-09-29
Age : 43
Location : North-East

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:49 am

Er...this s called, pre-putt routine..  Very Happy 
Bt on the wrong direction... Laughing
Tx dazt bro fr sharg.  Wink
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 10:58 am

improved hand eye coordination after that mistake
Back to top Go down
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:25 am

If it can happen to the Pros, it can happen to us.  Smile 
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:33 am



Sometimes Distracted
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:35 am

Back to top Go down
Mike888
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 153
Join date : 2012-07-27
Location : North

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 12:30 pm

so what the penalty?
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 2:53 pm

Mike888 wrote:
so what the penalty?

It's considered a stroke, no?

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
TDO
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2255
Join date : 2011-10-02
Age : 60
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:16 pm

Yes, I think it's considered a stroke after you have addressed the ball, never mind if you accidentally hit it while practicing the stroke.
Back to top Go down
Mike888
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 153
Join date : 2012-07-27
Location : North

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 2:53 pm

Technospaz wrote:
Mike888 wrote:
so what the penalty?

It's considered a stroke, no?

mike-- when he just picked the ball up and did not finish the hole, what would be his score for the hole?
im also wonder during social game, can someone just pick the ball up and say he/she is done for the hole? if that is the case, what would be the score? 
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:51 pm

It was matchplay. So when he picked up his ball, he (in many ways) conceded the hole.

In your social game and assuming you're playing matchplay, your flightmate can pick up the ball and say that he/she is done. I would assume that in so doing, he/she is declaring a loss for that hole. What the score is - well, that's anyone's guess. But if the ball is within a gimme range and others agree, then it's the number of strokes to that point plus one more for the "putt."

In strokeplay, picking up the ball generally imposes a 2 stroke penalty, I believe.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 503
Join date : 2013-02-26
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:57 pm

The Franklin Templeton Shootout is a two-players team event played over 3 days on 3 different formats i.e. day 1 is alternate shot, day 2 is better ball and day 3 is scramble format. The incident would have taken place on day two under the better ball format. Dustin Johnson who was Dufner's partner putted first and left his birdie attempt just short of the hole and was certain to make par. Dufner was going for birdie when he accidently moved the ball and as that counted as a stroke, his best possible score for the hole would be a par. Since partner D Johnson was certain to make par, that would be the team's score, Dufner's score became immaterial and that is why he picked up his ball.
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 503
Join date : 2013-02-26
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:14 pm

Technospaz wrote:

In strokeplay, picking up the ball generally imposes a 2 stroke penalty, I believe.


TS, I'm afraid the penalty is more severe than 2 strokes:
 
Stroke Play Rule 3-2 Failure to Hole Out

If a competitor fails to hole out at any hole and does not correct his mistake before he makes a stroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, before he leaves the putting green, he is disqualified.
Back to top Go down
Mike888
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 153
Join date : 2012-07-27
Location : North

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:35 pm

thanks for the explanation, Golfnut.
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:39 pm

Gofnut wrote:
Technospaz wrote:

In strokeplay, picking up the ball generally imposes a 2 stroke penalty, I believe.


TS, I'm afraid the penalty is more severe than 2 strokes:
 
Stroke Play Rule 3-2 Failure to Hole Out

If a competitor fails to hole out at any hole and does not correct his mistake before he makes a stroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, before he leaves the putting green, he is disqualified.

Thanks, Gofnut!

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton   Today at 1:40 am

Back to top Go down
 
Jason Dufner Putting gaffe@Franklin Templeton
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Another side of Jason Dufner
» Dufner and the waggle!
» Good putting mat. Max 300cm x 80cm
» REPORT: Red Wings make offer to Jason Williams
» Jason Smith chargedwith assaulting wife, daughter

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Tour Talk-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.