Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Titleist 913D3 Driver Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:53 pm

Hi Fellow Golfers,

I'm wondering if anyone has had personal experience using the Titleist 913D3 Tour Model Driver.  I am currently using the Nike VRS 2012 Model Driver with 9.5 Loft and Stiff flex. Currently driving about 230m-260m with a self taught 3/4 swing.

Wondering if changing to this Titleist 913D3 Tour Driver will add distance to my drives.



It boast several benefits and improvements.

Player Benefits

  • MORE SPEED over a larger area of the face for increased distance on heel and toe hits.
  • MORE DISTANCE through optimized launch with reduced spin.
  • PRECISION FIT to your game with our adjustable SureFit Tour hosel technology.
  • PREMIUM SHAFT CHOICES from our high performance stock or custom shaft matrix.
  • GREAT LOOKS from the classic shape and rich finish.
  • SUPERIOR SOUND AND FEEL from a higher standard of acoustic engineering.
  • PRECISION MADE with the industry’s tightest tolerances.



What do you golfers think?
Back to top Go down
iron eagle
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 814
Join date : 2010-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 3:24 pm

If I can drive 230m to 260m I will be damn satisfied no need to change driver!
Back to top Go down
sob
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 914
Join date : 2010-01-12

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:51 pm

iron eagle wrote:
If I can drive 230m to 260m I will be damn satisfied no need to change driver!
Lol can't agree more. tongue
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:44 pm

the 913 is touted as an "accurate" driver

the focus is on accuracy instead of distance

http://www.mygolfspy.com/2013-most-accurate-driver/
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:01 pm

Thanks for the advice people. Just checking in case my driver breaks on me. Haha.. I previously hit a solid shot on a Mizuno JPX800 and resulted in a line crack along the back face of the driver.
Back to top Go down
Ant
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 234
Join date : 2009-09-14
Location : West

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:09 pm

I won't change to the 913D3 with the current distance you having unless your % fairway hits is an issue with your current Nike driver.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:11 pm

Currently hitting rather well with the Nike driver. But just wondering what I can do to gain extra distance and have the chance to use shorter irons on par 4s and short par 5s. Previously tried to implement a full swing but am not consistent with it. My 3/4 swing works best with my current swing.
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:05 am

mind sharing with us your current FIR and GIR stats?
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:12 am

Ball mostly finds the fairway from T box. Let's say 80-90% of the time.


Second shot also gets on the green 75-80% of the time. Percentages are like 90% if left only 80-120m on the par 4s. I usually use my 58' Nike loft wedge for 80-100m and 56' wedge for 115-125m.

For par 5s, usually get on in 3-4 strokes.
Back to top Go down
willytan
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1170
Join date : 2012-12-29
Age : 40
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:18 am

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Ball mostly finds the fairway from T box. Let's say 80-90% of the time.


Second shot also gets on the green 75-80% of the time. Percentages are like 90% if left only 80-120m on the par 4s. I usually use my 58' Nike loft wedge for 80-100m and 56' wedge for 115-125m.

For par 5s, usually get on in 3-4 strokes.

Wow, you must have very fast swing speed!
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:22 am

haha... lucky I got a good coach, My dad. We golf and range together. Been playing for slightly over a year. Have been going range and occasional visits to Golf courses in Johor. Currently using Nike VR Pro blades. are these stats any good? Almost always rely on 9 or 8 iron for second shot on Par 5s. Hybrids and 7 iron need work.



9 Iron - 140m-150m
8 Iron - 150m-158m
7 Iron - 155m-165m (Needs work)


Hybrid - 190m-220m (Needs Work)


Last edited by Khoe Enterprises on Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:26 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
slinger
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5692
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wild Wild West

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:25 am

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Ball mostly finds the fairway from T box. Let's say 80-90% of the time.


Second shot also gets on the green 75-80% of the time. Percentages are like 90% if left only 80-120m on the par 4s. I usually use my 58' Nike loft wedge for 80-100m and 56' wedge for 115-125m.

For par 5s, usually get on in 3-4 strokes.

 cheers  cheers  cheers 

what u need is a really good coach to take u to the next level....


how i wish to have your distance and your stats....
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:31 am

About the distance, just have to say I'm lucky I started young at 18. And also because I've been playing squash competitively for 8 years. Currently B grade Squash player. Helps me eye the ball on impact and helps with muscle memory. Also helps that I've also got a muscular build from workouts and squash.


Don't have such deep pockets for good coach though. Haha. Will spend the time and monetary investments on golf balls at the range or green fees at Johor. Kind of sad that Marina Golf Course and Driving range will be gone in about 9-10 years though... Wonder where I can go for range practice after it closes officially.

Any ideas for other driving ranges in the east?
Back to top Go down
Pizzaman
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 414
Join date : 2012-01-14

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:34 am

Very strong hitter you are. Rory hits his 54 wedge around 100m (110yards) and you are obviously above tour standards.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:36 am

Thanks. I'm taller that Rory. 183cm (6 ft).

Btw how's that Titleist 913D2 Driver working for you? Been eyeing the 913D3 for a while.
Back to top Go down
goh.YF.52
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 125
Join date : 2012-11-17

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:44 am

If you have just started one year only, what you face is normal.
Mid and long irons are normally beginner problems where you cant hit it properly or lie angle problems cause short iron lie angles is neligible due to the steeper swing but mid and long irons you have a shallower swing which makes lie angle more prominent.
Seeing you saying that 90% of the time you are left with less than 120m on par4, you currently do not have much issues with scoring as all you need are wedges and driver.
Back to top Go down
Pizzaman
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 414
Join date : 2012-01-14

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:46 am

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Thanks. I'm taller that Rory. 183cm (6 ft).

Btw how's that Titleist 913D2 Driver working for you? Been eyeing the 913D3 for a while.

913D2 is pretty forgiving... long and straight for me... I'm a Titleist addict so I will say just buy the D3 if you eye for so long...
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:48 am

Sounds awesome. Any idea how much that will set me back? Second hand one. The first hand will burn too deeply into my pocket. If you don't mind me asking, roughly how much and where did you buy your 913D2?
Back to top Go down
HitSoft
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 232
Join date : 2013-05-04

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:01 pm

I've given both the D2 and the D3 a hit so here's just some thoughts that might help you out with making a decision.

Both offers the same feel to me, and size wise the D3 really isn't that much smaller than the D2 putting it down by the ball. However, I was averaging about 8 yards further with the D3 on a good centre strike compared to the D2 keeping the shaft, loft, and most other swing parameters constant on GC2. This could be down to be 200rpm or so less spin the D3 offered. 

However, the thing that helped me make my mind up was the averages. The D3 had much worse dispersion compared to the D2, definitely about 10 yards shorter than the D2 on off centre hits. So unless you're after the one shot that bombs a mile down the fairway every now and then, I would say he D2 would be a better fit for a nice and easy golf game.


Last edited by HitSoft on Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:02 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Typo error)
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:06 pm

Thanks for the helpful review. The 913D2 definitely sounds more forgiving than the D3. Would be best if could find somewhere to demo both clubs. But in the meantime my Nike VRS 2012 driver will have to suffice. Currently averaging good centre hits with it. Average hits 235m-255m on the green. Previously forced to buy the Nike as I broke the back face of a second hand Mizuno JPX800 with a strong and solid shot on the green at MBGC. Solid parallel line crack along the striking line.
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:35 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Ball mostly finds the fairway from T box. Let's say 80-90% of the time.


Second shot also gets on the green 75-80% of the time. Percentages are like 90% if left only 80-120m on the par 4s. I usually use my 58' Nike loft wedge for 80-100m and 56' wedge for 115-125m.

For par 5s, usually get on in 3-4 strokes.

from your stats, you must be looking to score below par on a more consistent basis.

in this case, i do agree with you that you need more distance from your drives.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:05 pm

Yep. Don't want to make any drastic changes to the swing. Maybe in a few months when the time to change driver comes, can consider switching to a Tour Driver. What do you think?
Back to top Go down
willytan
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1170
Join date : 2012-12-29
Age : 40
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:10 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
haha... lucky I got a good coach, My dad. We golf and range together. Been playing for slightly over a year. Have been going range and occasional visits to Golf courses in Johor. Currently using Nike VR Pro blades. are these stats any good? Almost always rely on 9 or 8 iron for second shot on Par 5s. Hybrids and 7 iron need work.



9 Iron - 140m-150m
8 Iron - 150m-158m
7 Iron - 155m-165m (Needs work)





Hybrid - 190m-220m (Needs Work)

With your short iron statistics, may I ask if your shots have high or low trajectory? Do they have just drop n have minor roll or drop and roll a lot?

MBGC H6 Par 5_510m- Example;
Driver - 250m
7iron - 160m
58* wedge - 100-110m
Putter - 1 - 2 stroke (easily a birdie or par)

Seriously I wish I can have a game n learn from you if chances permits.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:11 pm

They go high. Very slight roll on the green.
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:15 pm

if you don't want to change your swing, the next best thing you can do is to look for a good fitter.

WizGolf and BFG are 2 good club fitters that come to my mind.

they can help you to find the best shaft-head combo to help you:
1) hit the sweet spot more often
2) improve the smash factor
3) find the ideal attack angle and launch spin

all these will result in your maximum distance, with the same swing.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Today at 12:26 am

Back to top Go down
 
Titleist 913D3 Driver Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 3Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Titleist 913D3 Driver Review
» Titleist 913 driver's preview
» Titleist 913D3 vs Callaway RAZR Fit Xtreme
» TITLEIST 915 DRIVER
» Titleist 913 driver - very good

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Friends of Golf Republic :: Titleist, FootJoy-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.