Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Titleist 913D3 Driver Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:20 pm

True. Thanks for your input. Will keep that in mind when I become a more experienced golfer in years to come. Will definitely help when I age and distance gets cut. But in the meantime, is my drive, which is about 230m-255m on the green sufficient to ensure a good score at the end of the day?
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 503
Join date : 2013-02-26
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:28 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
True. Thanks for your input. Will keep that in mind when I become a more experienced golfer in years to come. Will definitely help when I age and distance gets cut. But in the meantime, is my drive, which is about 230m-255m on the green sufficient to ensure a good score at the end of the day?

I am reminded of a quote from a Japanese golfer that I met :-

 "Ball long long but no p...(finish)!"

The game is not only about distance. A good score requires a good short game and putts to fall.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:31 pm

Yep. Good advice Gofnut. My short game is pretty consistent as well. The main thing I need to work on to drastically improve my score is to sharpen my putts. Do you have any good tips to share on how to make good putts?
Back to top Go down
costajos
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-09-12
Location : wherever I am, I am

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:32 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
True. Thanks for your input. Will keep that in mind when I become a more experienced golfer in years to come. Will definitely help when I age and distance gets cut. But in the meantime, is my drive, which is about 230m-255m on the green sufficient to ensure a good score at the end of the day?
Yes it is.. you are hitting at pga average distance standard. Maybe instead of going for more dist, perhaps short game and putting is the place to work on to lower the scores faster.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:36 pm

yep. Short chips.. 10m to 70m chips are good. But need to work on putting. Someone told me to aim for an invisible circle with a radius around the hole. Don't need to always be so ambitious to aim for a 1 putt. Go for a easy 2 putt with the first putt near within easy distance to the hole. How about you? What do you think?
Back to top Go down
Gofnut
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 503
Join date : 2013-02-26
Location : Central

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:40 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Yep. Good advice Gofnut. My short game is pretty consistent as well. The main thing I need to work on to drastically improve my score is to sharpen my putts. Do you have any good tips to share on how to make good putts?

One of my key thoughts is to maintain the same grip pressure on the putter throughout the swing.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:44 pm

And have a straight follow through swing. Maintain the swing speed throughout the follow through. Ensure that the face of the putter is faced directly at your target.
Back to top Go down
costajos
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-09-12
Location : wherever I am, I am

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:49 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
And have a straight follow through swing. Maintain the swing speed throughout the follow through. Ensure that the face of the putter is faced directly at your target.
yes i think fundamentals are there. on whether to aim on a radius to the whole.. i think will depend on how aggressive you want to play...i normally just go for it and pray.....
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:52 pm

Sounds like a pro man. Looking forward to my next game. Hope most of your putts sink nicely into the hole costajos. How about greens with lots of slopes?
Back to top Go down
ChrisD
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3469
Join date : 2009-11-04
Age : 41
Location : Live beside the King

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:53 pm

Every time u miss a 3 to 6 ft putt. Pay your flight mates $100 each.
Sure improve putting skill.
But make sure u include me in your flight.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:55 pm

haha. good one. Incentive to play well works wonders eh?
Back to top Go down
costajos
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 506
Join date : 2012-09-12
Location : wherever I am, I am

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:56 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Sounds like a pro man. Looking forward to my next game. Hope most of your putts sink nicely into the hole costajos. How about greens with lots of slopes?

lol thanks. my prob is unlike yours... i need to reach the green first... 

that is more of reading the green. can either learn from pros/dad or like through aids like aimpoint.

http://www.aimpointgolf.com/
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:02 pm

Some greens are also very fast. Like Horizon Hills and all those courses used for Professional tournaments. A light tap and the ball rolls fast and far.
The average greens like Ponderosa, Palm Villa and Palm Resort are normal speed. The ball does not roll as fast and as far.

Some greens are also have more slopes and are more challenging to read.
What are your tricks to dealing with so many different course layouts?
Back to top Go down
enwee
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4697
Join date : 2011-12-30
Location : Seletar Hills

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
Some greens are also very fast. Like Horizon Hills and all those courses used for Professional tournaments. A light tap and the ball rolls fast and far.
The average greens like Ponderosa, Palm Villa and Palm Resort are normal speed. The ball does not roll as fast and as far.

Some greens are also have more slopes and are more challenging to read.
What are your tricks to dealing with so many different course layouts?
Either play more or putt and pray..... lol! 

Anyway the title of this topic is on 913 Driver review. What does it have to do with putt....unless u tell me u use putter to putt. What a Face 
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:07 pm

Yep. sort of drifted out of topic. Currently use an old model centre shafted Odyssey Blade Putter. Got it from my dad. What's the difference between a centre shafted putter vs a gooseneck version?
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:26 am

what are you using now?
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:56 pm

Driver - Nike VRS 2012 Driver
Irons - Nike VR Pro Blades
Wedges - Nike VR Wedges
Putter- older model Odyssey Blade putter
Back to top Go down
haragolfer
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 1659
Join date : 2010-12-02

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:59 pm

so you already know you are good.  I think launch angle of driver is more likely important than driver head these days.
that said. the 913 is a more forgiving head than the 910. and the d3 always has less spin than d2 heads
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:41 pm

Guys jus to clarify

By opening the club face 2 degs it will bring the loft of the club down?
Back to top Go down
jhan18
Playing Professional
Playing Professional


Posts : 620
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 28
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:30 pm

Daztasiumz wrote:
Guys jus to clarify

By opening the club face 2 degs it will bring the loft of the club down?
Theoretically down. However now with the adjustable heads you could have it 2 deg open and no change in loft.
Back to top Go down
Khoe
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 67
Join date : 2013-01-19
Age : 21
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:35 pm

How about Irons? Are blades and normal cavity clubs the same in terms of distance? I chose the Nike VR Pro blades due to the nice look as well as nice feel upon impact. What do you guys think?
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:21 pm

jhan18 wrote:
Daztasiumz wrote:
Guys jus to clarify

By opening the club face 2 degs it will bring the loft of the club down?
Theoretically down. However now with the adjustable heads you could have it 2 deg open and no change in loft.

Thanks for the reply justin
Back to top Go down
Daztasiumz
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Republic of Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:24 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
How about Irons? Are blades and normal cavity clubs the same in terms of distance? I chose the Nike VR Pro blades due to the nice look as well as nice feel upon impact. What do you guys think?

Assuming same lofts 
I find the cavity backs giving me extra 10-12m more than my blades

But then I am satisfied with the distance with my blades
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:59 pm

haragolfer wrote:
so you already know you are good.  I think launch angle of driver is more likely important than driver head these days.
that said. the 913 is a more forgiving head than the 910. and the d3 always has less spin than d2 heads

i think d3 imparts less back spin but more side spin than d2
Back to top Go down
slinger
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5692
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wild Wild West

PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:00 pm

Khoe Enterprises wrote:
How about Irons? Are blades and normal cavity clubs the same in terms of distance? I chose the Nike VR Pro blades due to the nice look as well as nice feel upon impact. What do you guys think?

dun let distance consume u....

if u think having more distance will bring down your scores....

then top 10 golfers shd be long hitters.... but is it??


wise man says:

not scared u hit farther than me....

but scared u hit straighter than me....



jmho
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Titleist 913D3 Driver Review   Today at 2:19 am

Back to top Go down
 
Titleist 913D3 Driver Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Titleist 913D3 Driver Review
» Titleist 913 driver's preview
» Titleist 913D3 vs Callaway RAZR Fit Xtreme
» TITLEIST 915 DRIVER
» Titleist 913 driver - very good

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Friends of Golf Republic :: Titleist, FootJoy-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.