Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Thomasq
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 3
Join date : 2015-06-02

PostSubject: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:10 pm

Hi 

I want to learn golf.

I am thinking sign up for course with ModelPro Golf Swing.

They have the cheapest beginner course.

Is this a good coaching academy?

Tks

Quek
Back to top Go down
iuh
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 195
Join date : 2012-05-04
Age : 36
Location : West..

PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:57 pm

Hi

When I first started, I joined a class of 6 for 10 lessons, comes with PC at ModelPro. Initially, I can't really tell the difference. We were taught the basics and continued to whack hundreds of balls blindly each session. The coach does teach you the basic and that's about all. For introductory to golf, the price for the lessons is really very tempting.

I looked for another coach (Paul Creasey) after the lessoN's with ModelPro and he taught me everything from scratch. Grip, stance, swing etc. It was really difficult to drop all the bad and wrong habits and learn everything all over again.

if you are serious about picking up the sport, I would suggest looking for a coach which many members here can recommend and keep the class small because getting the basics right is really important.

Just my personal review of ModelPro.
Back to top Go down
Thomasq
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 3
Join date : 2015-06-02

PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Tue Jun 02, 2015 8:40 pm

Thanks iuh for advise.

I saw ModelPro's advert through civil service club. However when I try to search for this company, company website or information about the coach Mr Peter Lim, I cannot find any information. I am not sure if Mr Lim is a certified coach as civil service club just says "he has many years playing golf". 

I scared the Proefficiency card he issue 'boh pa kay', as my brother advise me to look for a PGA certified coach instead. Else next time when try to get handicap will be problem.
Back to top Go down
Thomasq
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 3
Join date : 2015-06-02

PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:03 pm

Tried call ModelPro. Phone not in use.
Tried email. Email bounce.
Company & coach seems dodgy to me.

Have spoke w a another instructor recommended in this forum & will start my lessons at OCC instead 2 weeks later.
Back to top Go down
kissthegreen
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 523
Join date : 2014-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Fri Jun 05, 2015 12:34 am

I am a firm believer of 1:1 coaching. Otherwise, 1:2 (still shaking my head).
There's a reason why the price is tempting... As the saying 'U pay peanuts u get monkeys'.. 
I sent my missus to a good coach (focus a lot of fundamentals) and when I see her swing now, I get envious too,, she is not a power hitter but has a nice graceful tempo that is repeatable.. And yes, I am self-taught in my 1st year of golf and it showed then.. Only got into point lessons slightly later...
Back to top Go down
eyz4eva
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 103
Join date : 2014-05-31

PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:59 am

Just pay more and go for a SGA recognized coach.

Peter Lim is USGTF certified coach, who issued PC which is not recognised by any local golf course.

Furthermore, he's always busy with his forex trading.

If you wanna learn at Bishan, maybe you can check out Honshin.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy   Today at 10:18 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Review of ModelPro Golf Swing coaching academy
» Best (Value) Compact Camera to capture Golf Swing
» Creating lag in your golf swing... whats the deal?
» Junior Golf Lessons at the Muru Golf Academy
» Anyone interested to go for Intermediate Golf Course

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Ask The Pro-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.