Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 review on Renovated Laguna Bintan

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2087
Join date : 2009-11-30

PostSubject: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:19 pm

Folks

Anyone played recently at Laguna?

This trip advisor review sounds damn bad
Maybe they used the same contractor as Ria Bintan!

https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Attraction_Review-g1096248-d4226286-Reviews-Laguna_Bintan_Golf_Club-Lagoi_Bintan_Island_Riau_Archipelago_Riau_Islands_Provin.html

Any inputs welcomed
Back to top Go down
jhan18
Playing Professional
Playing Professional


Posts : 620
Join date : 2009-09-30
Age : 28
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:03 am

Hi Pocketace

I've not played the course but I did take a cycle around it during a weekend getaway late June. It was unfortunately in very poor shape.. Pictures and description on Trip Advsior are unfortunately accurate.
Back to top Go down
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2087
Join date : 2009-11-30

PostSubject: Re: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:17 pm

Omg!
Thanks Justin

I'm planning to play in mid November

Their official launch is early November and they invited Faldo, so we are hoping the course is ready by then 

Lemme share with you folks once I've played it in November
Back to top Go down
yogibear
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 24
Join date : 2015-01-10

PostSubject: Re: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Sat Oct 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Played there end Aug when they just opened the course after renovation..... a little disappointed with the course condition after reno. 

Only highlight was the range, which we could hit off the grass and not off the mats.
Back to top Go down
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2087
Join date : 2009-11-30

PostSubject: Re: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:45 pm

Played Laguna Bintan today (12 Nov) as last week, the launch of the SPH Golf Card with Sir Nick Faldo gracing the occasion at this course with much fanfare intrigued us. I also bumped into a few GR old timers

Overall the course I'll rate it as 6-7/ 10 as the condition is not yet up to standard but there is huge potential if they maintain the course properly as the layout is challenging but fair, and very scenic too (rivaling Ria Bintan IMHO)

Club House - I played here probably >5 years ago and it's a basic type of golf course compared to the other courses in Bintan. The club house is humble-looking and the renovation spruced up the clubhouse and the al fresco dining area 
overlooks the stunning golf course. 

Changing room is painfully crammed so unless you are a day tripper (no choice), else I'll recommend resort guests to go back to their resort and shower after the game.

Buggies appear to be new and they are not the noisy (and smelly) diesel powered ones

Practice green is generous in size and flawlessly smooth and fast. Unfortunately they could not translate my expectation to all the greens on the course 

Fairways still need a bit of work to get the grass to grow and cover up the loose top soil. There are many GUR and soggy / mouldy (covered with green moss) patches

Rough are is penalizing as your ball will sit inside the rough

Greens speeds are inconsistent on course. Some greens are good and the ball rolls thru, other greens you find yourself looking perplexed for coming woefully short on a downhill putt 

There are quite many holes with view of the sea and they were absolutely stunning!

The potential is surely there but now may be premature to play this course. That's just my opinion 

(I'll try to load pictures from Photobucket but couldn't figure out... watch this space
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: review on Renovated Laguna Bintan   Today at 6:14 am

Back to top Go down
 
review on Renovated Laguna Bintan
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» review on Renovated Laguna Bintan
» $77 For Golf Saver Package At Laguna Bintan Golf Club
» Sign up for the Golf Asia Challenge 2012 @ Ria Bintan & Get a Goodie Bag worth over $200!
» Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort
» MIURA EQPT Demo: Laguna Country Club, 4 Oct 2011, 7-730pm

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Overseas Games-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.