Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

Help a total newbie

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
navik
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer

PostSubject: Help a total newbie   Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:28 pm

Hi everyone, I'm a total newbie to the game of golf and happened to stumble onto this forum in the midst of my search for places to learn to play golf. Hope that the "old birds" here could offer some guidance.

1) Anyone has any recommendations as to where would be a good place to learn? I've browsed around, and Star Golf @ MBGC and Ultimate Golf @ Natural Park Driving Range seems not bad (at least to a noob like me)

2) What do I need to get started, e.g. do I need to get golf-specific shoes while learning?

3) What should I look out for when comparing the lessons offered by the various academies?

Thanks

Last edited by navik on Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
JohnBGLee
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Help a total newbie   Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:22 pm

Welcome on board.

Depending on your budget and your preferred location.
Would you want to travel to the West if you are staying in the east ?

There are many many coaches around.
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Help a total newbie   Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:26 pm

First of all, welcome to GolfRepublic.org, navik!!

I would recommend that you recce and look for a place and school that you are comfortable with. Also make it a point to talk to the pros or observe how the pro conduct lessons and make sure you are comfortable with them.

Golf shoes, i think are a must. As for clubs, you can first borrow a set from a friend or your pro.
Back to top Go down
Daniel Ng
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer

PostSubject: Re: Help a total newbie   Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:03 pm

Hi,