Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:59 am

Hi DGman, as promised to do a write up on this shaft on my PW

btw, please kindly forgive me for taking such a long time to do the writeup and do tolerate me should i, as only a golf amatuer, uttered something that do not make sense...keke...

I shall split up the review on 3 portion namely : Look, Ball Flight and lastly personal feel

1) Look
As most of the steel shaft such as True Temper, NS Pro and even KBS, these are step shaft by design and beside FST Hi Rev, the other stepless shaft I know of is Project X. With the current NS Pro shaft that i'm using, a stepless steel shaft is definitely something different and unique in my bag. On a personal preference, I would say YES to stepless steel shaft, just simply like the look.

Can someone help me to post picture on this portion ? i can send you the image.

2) Ball Flight
The ball flight were surprisingly good, great penetration with great ball spin that holds up the ball in the air longer as compare to NS Pro shaft. It does not give a super high launch like what NS pro did.
There are distance gain on using the FST shaft and i did the distance judgement on 2 driving range.
At TPY driving range, using the "you-know-the-quality" ball, FST shaft is about 95 to 100m range while my NS pro is slightly above 90m. At OCC range, FST shaft is about 110 to 115m while my NS pro is about 100 to 105m. Btw, my #9 iron (with NS Pro) is also somewhere about the same distance about 115m.

3) Personal Feel
It took me sometime to transit from NS Pro to this shaft. First few swing on this shaft and immediately can feel the different. Ok, DGman, this is just purely my feel, i might not be right.
The swingweight seems to be different to NS Pro, my guess is that maybe the shaft is could be much heavier.
From the ball flight, it seems like the kickpoint of this shaft is higher than NS Pro and the tip flex is also much firmer than NS Pro.
With NS Pro, when I do not hit the shot well, I could feel the vibration from the shaft however on FST shaft, I do not feel much vibration even on bad shots.

Currently, the only problem i face is the distance difference between my PW and #9 iron become pretty marginal and between my PW and my 53* wedge become much wider...keke

Would need someone to help me with the image post up...thank you.

Snowman
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:32 am

a good effort snowman.......see it is not so difficult...

can you find something negative to say about the shaft?

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:49 am

hi master

thank you...i've been thinking about the negative portion too..it seems like it is much tougher to write if I wanna add in the negative parts...kekeke

Personally, I think the only negative part is the distance gap that i'm facing now..but that is just for myself, might not happen to other golfers...keke

btw, is the shaft heavier than NS pro, or is the kickpoint higher than NS pro ?
i'm not sure am I feeling the correct thing anot...keke

snowman
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:29 pm

ok, the ball hits longer? how about dispersion? how about distance consistency?
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:30 pm

Could you tell us if the spin rates have increased? If so, by how much?

How much distance was 'lost' in the transition?

Any change to the ballflight? higher? lower? tendency to sidespin more?

What flex were you reviewing? Stiff? X-Stiff?

What wedge head was this fitted to?
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:36 pm

Come on guys, give snowman a break. If you want to find out, then go ask DGman if you can have one for trial and then post your reviews. He is new to post a FR and even maybe new to the game. So lets just appreciate the efforts that he have put in rather than asking questions that you can't really tell on the range or even on the course as the conditions differ everyday.
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:37 pm

just asking mah...


sorry lah...
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:41 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
just asking mah...


sorry lah...

No offence Muar CHee but in my opinion, the questions you asked are more swing related than equipment related. Please correct me if i am wrong. Razz
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:53 pm

hi all

sorry i just saw the message, i try to answer as much as possible..base on my own experience...

MC ask about dispersion and consistency, under the condition if i hit on sweet spot, distance consistency is there..i would say 90% of distance falls within what i have mention 110 to 115m range. Dispersion wise, i guess it is the golfer's issue rather than the shaft itself...

Answer to Ghoonk question

Could you tell us if the spin rates have increased? If so, by how much?
i could not tell you how much spin rate increase because i do not have any measurement done..no trackman behind me leh..keke

How much distance was 'lost' in the transition?
In transition, no obvious lost in distance, but more in getting consistency and better dispersion

Any change to the ballflight? higher? lower? tendency to sidespin more?
As mention in my FR, ballflight is not as high as my NS Pro but penetrating, it does carry more distance. The sidespin you mention is more because of the golfer, not the shaft

What flex were you reviewing? Stiff? X-Stiff?
Well, to be honest, i do not know the flex...my best guess is R, because my swingspeed is not fast

What wedge head was this fitted to?
It's a pitching wedge, Nike Slingshot tour, how i wish it can be Miura..rite ?...keke

haha..i hope i have sexisfied..ops...i mean satisfied both MC and Ghoonk...keke

thank you

Snowman
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:56 pm

duffader wrote:
Come on guys, give snowman a break. If you want to find out, then go ask DGman if you can have one for trial and then post your reviews. He is new to post a FR and even maybe new to the game. So lets just appreciate the efforts that he have put in rather than asking questions that you can't really tell on the range or even on the course as the conditions differ everyday.

hi bro

thank you so much ..this is my first FR posting, and there are many thing i'm still learning...
so do forgive me do anything silly here...keke

really looking forward to learn as much as possible...

thank you again

take care

snowman
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:58 pm

duffader wrote:
No offence Muar CHee but in my opinion, the questions you asked are more swing related than equipment related. Please correct me if i am wrong. Razz

Simple question. Which one has lesser dispersion? Steel shaft or graphite shaft?

Even with a golfer who has a 80% consistant swing. get my picture?
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:04 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
duffader wrote:
No offence Muar CHee but in my opinion, the questions you asked are more swing related than equipment related. Please correct me if i am wrong. Razz

Simple question. Which one has lesser dispersion? Steel shaft or graphite shaft?

Even with a golfer who has a 80% consistant swing. get my picture?

hi bro

sorry, i'm not able to comment on that because i do not have a graphite shaft to make comparison with, especially with my limited experience in the game of golf...my iron was initially fix up with steel shaft...so no graphite for me..keke

but in general, i think both graphite and steel are of different make and material, making a comparison of both seems meanless..some golfers are suitbale for graphite shaft, some suitable for steel shaft..it's really hard to make comparison that way...am i rite to say that ?

snowman
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:08 pm

snowman, thanks for the answers! Looks like I'll have to get my hands on a set of 3 for my TM wedges and see how they go!
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:10 pm

THen the question will be hard swing or easy swing??? If you swing hard all the time, then you will definitely need a steel shaft... but if you swing easy, then maybe a grahite shaft can also do the job. I have seen players on graphite who still hits them super straight and i have also seen players with steel shaft, still all over the place.
Back to top Go down
S70B
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 5118
Join date : 2009-06-18
Location : Home sweat home...

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:10 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
duffader wrote:
No offence Muar CHee but in my opinion, the questions you asked are more swing related than equipment related. Please correct me if i am wrong. Razz

Simple question. Which one has lesser dispersion? Steel shaft or graphite shaft?

Even with a golfer who has a 80% consistant swing. get my picture?

DGman has stock you go try and tell us la.
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:11 pm

golf_snowman wrote:
but in general, i think both graphite and steel are of different make and material, making a comparison of both seems meanless..some golfers are suitbale for graphite shaft, some suitable for steel shaft..it's really hard to make comparison that way...am i rite to say that ?

We are looking at another perspective now. becuz ppl do make comparisons of steel shafts vs grpahite shafts when talking about shafts in general.
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:12 pm

ghoonk wrote:
snowman, thanks for the answers! Looks like I'll have to get my hands on a set of 3 for my TM wedges and see how they go!

hi bro

yes..u should..i believe good stuff falls in the great hand can perform magic..

all the best !!

snowman[left]
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:16 pm

duffader wrote:
...i have also seen players with steel shaft, still all over the place.

We must have met before Smile
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:16 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
golf_snowman wrote:
but in general, i think both graphite and steel are of different make and material, making a comparison of both seems meanless..some golfers are suitbale for graphite shaft, some suitable for steel shaft..it's really hard to make comparison that way...am i rite to say that ?

We are looking at another perspective now. becuz ppl do make comparisons of steel shafts vs grpahite shafts when talking about shafts in general.

hi bro

yes, fully understand..

i guess the comparison on ball flight, dispersion and consistency will be more meanful is both graphite and steel shaft are having similar specification, like weight, flex, torque, tip and but flex, kickpoint etc...

anyway, i leave that to our master..haha !!

snowman[left]
Back to top Go down
foolwalking
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 117
Join date : 2010-02-02

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:21 pm

Hi all,

I had played this shaft and will compare it to the KBS shafts. From my humble perspective, the Hi-Rev shaft on paper almost identical specs (120grams for S and 130 for X). I had paired it to a Callaway X-forged MD 60. I am playing stiff flex only for both.

Looks :

I do rate the look for the Hi-Rev. Nice shaft label Smile. However vs the KBS black nickel, it's akin to day & night. The KBS look is the best bar none now. The novelty factor will be the stepless look if you like that. I had played a satin PX previously on my wedges and i find it comestically pleasing Smile

HR - 7 out of 10
KBS - 9 out of 10


Performance (Trajectory & Spin)

As far as i am concerned, the Hi-Rev has less kick than that compared to the KBS. This could be due to the parallel tip (Pls correct me if i am wrong). I personally find the KBS giving me more "feel" especially when executing the flops shots. I don't think that there is any "extra" spin with the Hi-Rev vs the KBS.

Ball flight was stronger on the Hi-Rev vs the KBS with a lower trajectory on the Hi-Rev. So i am not sure about losing distance on the Hi-Rev.

HR - 8 (Lower Trajectory but less "feel" )
KBS - 8 (Higher trajectory but better "feel")


Overall, given that the bias of the 60 degree lob wedge, I will rate the KBS as a slightly better choice over that of the HR. However that said, the HR will be an excellent choice for an approach wedge (52 or 54).
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:22 pm

duffader wrote:
THen the question will be hard swing or easy swing??? If you swing hard all the time, then you will definitely need a steel shaft... but if you swing easy, then maybe a grahite shaft can also do the job. I have seen players on graphite who still hits them super straight and i have also seen players with steel shaft, still all over the place.

i know but i am now talking about same user here. why u middle eastern chap so hard to understand my english?
Back to top Go down
golf_snowman
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2851
Join date : 2009-07-16
Age : 44
Location : Dreamland

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:26 pm

foolwalking wrote:
Hi all,

I had played this shaft and will compare it to the KBS shafts. From my humble perspective, the Hi-Rev shaft on paper almost identical specs (120grams for S and 130 for X). I had paired it to a Callaway X-forged MD 60. I am playing stiff flex only for both.

Looks :

I do rate the look for the Hi-Rev. Nice shaft label Smile. However vs the KBS black nickel, it's akin to day & night. The KBS look is the best bar none now. The novelty factor will be the stepless look if you like that. I had played a satin PX previously on my wedges and i find it comestically pleasing Smile

HR - 7 out of 10
KBS - 9 out of 10


Performance (Trajectory & Spin)

As far as i am concerned, the Hi-Rev has less kick than that compared to the KBS. This could be due to the parallel tip (Pls correct me if i am wrong). I personally find the KBS giving me more "feel" especially when executing the flops shots. I don't think that there is any "extra" spin with the Hi-Rev vs the KBS.

Ball flight was stronger on the Hi-Rev vs the KBS with a lower trajectory on the Hi-Rev. So i am not sure about losing distance on the Hi-Rev.

HR - 8 (Lower Trajectory but less "feel" )
KBS - 8 (Higher trajectory but better "feel")


Overall, given that the bias of the 60 degree lob wedge, I will rate the KBS as a slightly better choice over that of the HR. However that said, the HR will be an excellent choice for an approach wedge (52 or 54).

hi bro,

thanks for the write up.

I intially was thinking about getting my 60* for this shaft but i was advise to have it fix on PW is better, as the main purpose is to test the trajectory and distance carry, and since I know my PW distance on NS Pro well, it has become an obvious choice fot this shaft.

KBS is a good shaft, how i wish i can test on it also..keke

snowman
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:30 pm

mUAr_cHEe wrote:
duffader wrote:
THen the question will be hard swing or easy swing??? If you swing hard all the time, then you will definitely need a steel shaft... but if you swing easy, then maybe a grahite shaft can also do the job. I have seen players on graphite who still hits them super straight and i have also seen players with steel shaft, still all over the place.

i know but i am now talking about same user here. why u middle eastern chap so hard to understand my english?

Then I dun think you need to compare cos a common user will not have graphite and steel shaft irons together in the bag. Razz
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:31 pm

duffader wrote:
Then I dun think you need to compare cos a common user will not have graphite and steel shaft irons together in the bag. Razz

I am sure that someone out there have graphite 5 to PW and Steel wedges for SW and LW.
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:32 pm

duffader is middle eastern meh? Or you referring to me?
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review   Today at 10:01 pm

Back to top Go down
 
FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» FST Hi Rev Wedge Shaft review
» Shaft review : attas 4u VS tour ad bb
» Wedge shaft - Is heavier better?
» Ozik Radix 6 Review
» DG Spinner Shafts for Wedges

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.