Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review of the Taylormade Penta TP

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:05 am

he should be going to San Diego

_________________
Callaway Razr Fit Xtreme 10.5* Ahina 60 R
PRGR EGG Spoon 15* MRC Fubuki Alpha 70S
Adams Super Hybrid XTD 19* MRC Fubuki AH R
Adams A12 Pro 23* GD Tour AD UT85 R
Callaway X Hot Pro 5-PW PX95 5.5
Titleist SM4 50*, 54*, 58* DG Spinner
Scotty Studio Select 2012 Golo 33"
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:26 pm

the penta sounds great; i'm thinking of getting a box to compare with my pro v1x

any idea where can i get it in sg and the damage?
Back to top Go down
icejazz
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 168
Join date : 2009-07-01

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:46 am

S70B.. Great post.

I was at TM cathay and one of the staff there told me he tried the ball.

The review is " drive like ProV1X and on the green behave like ProV1"
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:37 pm

@ zhenxua, the ball will be available widely sometime end april or early may, no exact release date. From what I understand, there is high demand for this ball in the US, so we have to wait for enough stock for this part of the world. Expect the pricing to be pegged against the ProVs.

Having played my best round recently with this ball, I'm sold on it's performance. The ball generally launches higher than any other premium ball I've tried without any manipulation to do so, which is what I've been seeking since I tend to launch the ball low.

Off the driver, the ball explodes off the face with a crisp feel that has some give to it. Impact is satisfying, to me at least. Nice parabolic trajectory that ends high. I can't quite comment on the roll since it was a wet day when I played.

Impact off the irons felt good as well. Again, I got the feeling that the ball seemed to explode off the face. Trajectory was surprising, the ball squirted out low, then climbed to a high apex at the end of it's flight before falling straight down onto the green with no roll. I haven't seen this type of ball flight since the days of balata balls. I like it since on the day I played the ball, it gave me the ability to attack a pin position over a bunker with no fear of the ball running off the green. More than once, I was surprised to find my ball around the pin. It seemed laser like accurate, landing as softly off a 5 iron as off a wedge. Again, conditions were damp. Some may say there is a slight ballooning issue, especially in the wind, I was not able to test this.

The few chips I had, the ball reacted well to my commands, checking and releasing nicely to the hole. I don't have the ability to suck the ball back, so can't comment on that. In any case, I always prefer my chips and lobs to check and stop for predictability, or release and roll when I want it to, which this ball does very well.

Off the putter, I could not feel any discernable difference from the Pro V1. If any, the Penta is very slightly harder on longer putts.

The Penta is a very durable ball, not only shearing less, but holding its colour even if there is some shearing. The Pro V1 on the other hand does show some greying where the shear marks are, although much less than the previous version.

One trait of the Penta not mentioned as yet is how the ball is much longer on mishits compared to other balls. One of the more important traits of the ball which I feel is very pertinent to amateurs like us who mishit more often than not. I mishit my irons off the tee twice on a par three and both times I was still pin high wtihin birdie range. My flight mates were surprised too at the results saying "sure or not, you mishit?" So I guess LDP technology does work.

I must admit I had my doubts when the Penta first came out. I thought why pay for 5 layers when my swing speed is not fast enough to compress the core, which supposedly only benefits those with pro-like swing speeds. But this ball is as close to one size fits all as you can get since the theory is that each layer activates at different swing speeds, from slowest on the outside to progressively faster swing speeds where the core is. The core is the softest part of the ball at 30 compression, overall compression of the ball is 83 if I remember correctly.

The five layer Penta came about when TaylorMade spoke to players about what they liked or disliked about the balls they played. Answers that came back showed that there were always compromises. Each ball performed well in certain areas but not in others. For example, one that drove well may not play well around the greens, or played great off the irons but not off the driver. The Penta with its five layers is TaylorMade's answer for a ball that performs well in all areas for all players.

My additional 2 cents to S70B's extensive review.


Last edited by Birdman on Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:35 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:21 pm

All i saw in your post was the bit about sucking balls.
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:48 pm

ghoonk wrote:
All i saw in your post was the bit about sucking balls.

Lucky I said that I don't have the ability to....

Razz
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:39 pm

bro birdman,

Thanks for the added review.
Now, you still got a spare sleeve for sale? I want leh....hehe...... Cool
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:31 pm

Hey Asahi, Ur welcome, as long as you find the information useful, or at least good reading on the throne.

ROFL

Spare sleeve for sale? Penta TP is a rare commodity at this point in time. Even if got, I don't know how much to sell you. If I do get extra, I'll let you know so you can have a ball to try out.
Back to top Go down
asahi
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 10361
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 39

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:34 pm

Bro BM, thank you in advance for your kind offer. Way cool!
Hmm....seems like me not the only one who likes to surf the forum while on the throne! Razz
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:40 am

asahi wrote:
Bro BM, thank you in advance for your kind offer. Way cool!
Hmm....seems like me not the only one who likes to surf the forum while on the throne! Razz

Hopefully I can get my hands on some more before they hit the market here so the novelty of giving you one measly ball will at least mean something.

And I suspect that there many more on the throne while on the forum. Perhaps that's why the forum background is black?

ROFL
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:18 am

@Birdman: reading your post gives me the impressions that you have orgasmic experience using this ball... must try...
Back to top Go down
fatmax
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 82
Join date : 2010-03-03

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:55 am

Now i m in OZ, saw the balls on sale in golf shops for 25AUD per sleeve!!!

I m now extending my service to purchase these Pentas for whomever,

Please PM me BY 1600H SG time. I will check my PMs @ 1600H SG time, whomever PM me with the below format.

1) Mob number?
2) How many Sleeves?

Do not reply here, just direct PM me with Orders. Balls will be in SGP on Sat am for pickup, hopefully in time for sunday game!

However i do feel its a tad steep on pricing here in OZ, oh well... for novelty sake i guess...
Back to top Go down
joshcct
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 311
Join date : 2009-08-07

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:11 pm

fatmax wrote:
Now i m in OZ, saw the balls on sale in golf shops for 25AUD per sleeve!!!

I m now extending my service to purchase these Pentas for whomever,

Please PM me BY 1600H SG time. I will check my PMs @ 1600H SG time, whomever PM me with the below format.

1) Mob number?
2) How many Sleeves?

Do not reply here, just direct PM me with Orders. Balls will be in SGP on Sat am for pickup, hopefully in time for sunday game!

However i do feel its a tad steep on pricing here in OZ, oh well... for novelty sake i guess...

Waoh...that makes it same price as Pro V1...
Back to top Go down
sunny
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 3575
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:11 pm

dun need to worry...just join our monthly game next month and stand to win either Pro V1 or Penta....

_________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.
Back to top Go down
Http://thescarletibis.wordpress.com
laybeedlang
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 140
Join date : 2010-01-20
Age : 41
Location : Jurong West

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:53 pm

Found the TM Penta selling in Kuantan at about S$78 per box. Anyone interested?
Back to top Go down
hardrock
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2443
Join date : 2009-07-12
Age : 46
Location : Choa Chu Kang

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:10 pm

laybeedlang wrote:
Found the TM Penta selling in Kuantan at about S$78 per box. Anyone interested?

in malaysia?
Back to top Go down
laybeedlang
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 140
Join date : 2010-01-20
Age : 41
Location : Jurong West

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:39 pm

Yup at the parkson store at Kuantan megamall
Back to top Go down
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:21 pm

palm resorts is selling at RM43.80 (member price) per sleeve


Back to top Go down
rangereye
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 647
Join date : 2009-08-11
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:35 pm

zhenxua wrote:
palm resorts is selling at RM43.80 (member price) per sleeve

Are you a palm resort member and will you be going there anytime soon?
Back to top Go down
http://www.wizgolf.com.sg
zhenxua
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 4638
Join date : 2010-02-11

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:50 am

rangereye wrote:
zhenxua wrote:
palm resorts is selling at RM43.80 (member price) per sleeve

Are you a palm resort member and will you be going there anytime soon?

i'm not a member, used digdug's member card as i was playing with him
Back to top Go down
laybeedlang
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 140
Join date : 2010-01-20
Age : 41
Location : Jurong West

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:30 pm

i've just found out that MST outlets in Malaysia are selling them already. Found some at Tebrau Jusco yesterday. I believe the Jusco at Bt Indah should have also. RM175 per box after discount.
Back to top Go down
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:49 am

saw it at golf house yesterday, S$90
Back to top Go down
rangereye
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 647
Join date : 2009-08-11
Age : 41

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:51 am

saw in Far East.. $72..
Back to top Go down
http://www.wizgolf.com.sg
laybeedlang
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 140
Join date : 2010-01-20
Age : 41
Location : Jurong West

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:05 pm

golf house will give 20% discount, so it's also $72
Back to top Go down
TLHENG
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 282
Join date : 2009-08-03

PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Wed Apr 28, 2010 12:06 pm

Was in los Angeles recently and played a few rounds with the penta ball. For me, it played better than the pro v1x I have been using. Gives better distance and very nice sound at contact. About US$63/box of 12 balls inclusive tax.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review of the Taylormade Penta TP   Today at 5:56 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Review of the Taylormade Penta TP
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 3Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Review of the Taylormade Penta TP
» TaylorMade Penta
» Don't buy so many Penta TP5
» R9 forged irons review
» Taylormade R11 driver arrived in town.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.