Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Grip recommendations / reviews, pls

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
etsk22
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 109
Join date : 2010-02-10
Location : Central East

PostSubject: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:58 pm

Dear all

Have the intention to change the grips of my irons.

Appreciate it if nice GR Khakis could give their views and recommend a suitable pro shop and the charges respectively.

Thanks for sharing.

Cheers,
Back to top Go down
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:32 pm

I buy my golf pride multi-compund grip. Then fit it myself buy putting satay stick inside. The best experiment that I ever had. The satay stick really grip in between my fingers. You should try bro. Best!
Back to top Go down
Cyp_PGA
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1141
Join date : 2009-11-11
Age : 27
Location : Gold Coast , QLD

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:22 pm

I want To ask u Kestion ?

- What The Size of ur glove

- Are u sweating easily ?

iF U HAND SWEAT ATER 3 HOLE AND UR SIZE A 24 TO 26 ... I SAY TAKE GOLF PRIDE MULTICOMPOUND GRIP MIDSIZE WHICH FOR ME ALLOWED U TO NOT GET UR GRIP SLIPERY
Back to top Go down
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:34 pm

Cyp_PGA bro, u very correct. I used to put layers of tape on my grip to make it thick but not nice lah. So i decided to use mid size multi-compound and put satay stick inside. Wow! midsize grip is for me. I thought mid size grip for ang moh hands only. My glove size is 25. So i think my 'brother' size also like ang moh. Laughing
Back to top Go down
etsk22
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 109
Join date : 2010-02-10
Location : Central East

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:00 pm

Cyp_PGA wrote:
I want To ask u Kestion ?

- What The Size of ur glove

- Are u sweating easily ?

iF U HAND SWEAT ATER 3 HOLE AND UR SIZE A 24 TO 26 ... I SAY TAKE GOLF PRIDE MULTICOMPOUND GRIP MIDSIZE WHICH FOR ME ALLOWED U TO NOT GET UR GRIP SLIPERY

spot on, bro.

I've sweaty palms n grip size is only 24.

What's satay stick n is it easily to diy?

Thanks all for sharing.
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:47 am

if you insert a satay stick at the bottom of the grip where you left hand rest, your create a rib thats thicker than the usual rib allowed. In this way you get a sense of guide when you grip the club.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:01 am

You are very correct bro DGman. It really slot your fingers to the grip. Anyway we use our fingers to grip not the whole hand. To DIY, if you don't have vice clamp and first time for you it's difficult.
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:59 am

you can tape the stick to the shaft using 2 small single side adhesive tape, then wrap the stick with the shaft using the usual double sided adhesive. that way its very easy to instal but a shaft holder or vice clamp is needed.

also its best to spilt the satay stick into half the thickness, as it is, its just too much rib.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
alvin7379
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2916
Join date : 2009-11-24
Age : 37
Location : Anywhere Comfortable

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:05 pm

Eh... does mine have satay sticks inside? sounds interesting and good to try out....
Back to top Go down
http://www.visualtech.com.sg
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:18 pm

Bro Alvin, you should try. Very steamy one. Your ball will go straight one. Because the alignment is always on the fingers and the finger grip is very important. Once your finger grip is there, all u need is just your shoulder move. Sure hit it square. TRY IT AND YOU WONT REGRET! Its my innovation. It's call HELME SATAY GRIP!
Back to top Go down
alvin7379
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2916
Join date : 2009-11-24
Age : 37
Location : Anywhere Comfortable

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:27 pm

helmeahmad wrote:
Bro Alvin, you should try. Very steamy one. Your ball will go straight one. Because the alignment is always on the fingers and the finger grip is very important. Once your finger grip is there, all u need is just your shoulder move. Sure hit it square. TRY IT AND YOU WONT REGRET! Its my innovation. It's call HELME SATAY GRIP!

So is used satay stick preferably or new one? hehe... just joking...

okok... will drop by the den to try fix it up to see if it helps! Smile
Back to top Go down
http://www.visualtech.com.sg
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:36 pm

Make sure it cow satay stick not chicken because if chicken wait later hit the ball got chicken wing. Then the ball will slice.
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 3:16 pm

anyone changed to the new Golf Pride Tour Grip with more tacky feel?
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:38 pm

mengteck71, i cannot work my mind ard wrap grips. something seems wrong about it. but it may be just me.

Multi compound or BCTs for me man. Anything else just looks fancy.
Back to top Go down
HyBriD
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 764
Join date : 2010-01-27
Age : 52
Location : Metro Manila, Philippines

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:58 pm

Hey,

Has anyone tried No1grip?

Do you have it in Singapore?

How does it perform vis-a-vis Iomic?
Back to top Go down
http://facebook.com/pnchung
etsk22
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 109
Join date : 2010-02-10
Location : Central East

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:10 pm

helmeahmad wrote:
Bro Alvin, you should try. Very steamy one. Your ball will go straight one. Because the alignment is always on the fingers and the finger grip is very important. Once your finger grip is there, all u need is just your shoulder move. Sure hit it square. TRY IT AND YOU WONT REGRET! Its my innovation. It's call HELME SATAY GRIP!

I might probably be a golf idiot cos I still clueless despite the elaborations given by bro.

Any pro shop to recommend to get the "simple" job done?

DG man from Bigfish? helpmeahmand from?

Thanks.
Back to top Go down
Winston
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1723
Join date : 2009-08-18
Age : 42
Location : 19th Hole

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Tue May 11, 2010 10:04 pm

Hi all..am begining to suffer from slippery golf grips due to the hotter weather I am experiencing here in HCMC now. Averaging 36-38* every day for the past 2 weeks.

I read that Golf Pride munti-compound is good. If it is not available here in Vietnam, anyone has any good recommendations for alternatives??

Also if can elaborate or show pics on how the satay stick thing would work, it would be great.

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Tue May 11, 2010 10:13 pm

Golf pride is really good.....why don you get someone to courier over to you....
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Tue May 11, 2010 10:17 pm

I'm a big fan of the Golf Pride BCT cord grip. Others swear by the Golf Pride Tour Velvet (GPTV), while others love the Golf Pride New Decade Multi Compound (NDMC).

I've used Lamkins in the past, but their cord grips seem to be heavier than the GP ones.
Back to top Go down
Winston
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1723
Join date : 2009-08-18
Age : 42
Location : 19th Hole

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Tue May 11, 2010 10:19 pm

Courier is one thing. The !@#(*%& govt here will tax me. Unless I can get someone to hand carry for me. Which also means that customs officer at airport might give them trouble..

Had a friend hand carry some golf clubs up to HCMC. it was packed nicely as it had to be checked in. Went she picked it up, customs was giving her trouble saying it was new product, must tax etc etc. She just told them it was her boss' driver and it was use. If cannot, she will leave it with them and her boss will come and talk to them.

Customs officer LPPL and let her pass
Back to top Go down
keithngzx
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 46
Join date : 2010-04-14

PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Fri May 28, 2010 10:40 pm

I'm using multicompound for my driver and fairwy woods, they are excellent! wearing size 25 gloves so changed to mid sized grips got less blisters.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Grip recommendations / reviews, pls   Today at 5:53 am

Back to top Go down
 
Grip recommendations / reviews, pls
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Grip recommendations / reviews, pls
» CleanMPG Reviews the Throttle Rocker-II
» REVIEW of Truelinkswear PHX golf shoes
» Digital Camera for golf videos - recommendations / reviews
» New Leather Grip Tester needed

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.