Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
darenlim
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 426
Join date : 2010-03-17

PostSubject: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 5:40 pm

I played in a tournament and this happened to me. Can anyone tell me what the proper ruling is on this? I've played golf for 15 years but have never encountered this, even pros and top amatuers are baffled as well.

I hit my 1st ball into the direction of OB, as I am uncertain I declared to hit a Provisional ball (2nd ball). My 2nd ball also went to the same direction towards OB, therefore I declared another Provisional ball (3rd Ball). Unfortunately, the 3rd ball also went to the same direction towards OB. I declared to play another Provisional (4th Ball) and this time its center of the fairway.

Balls are marked numbers 1-4 respectively to my 1st-4th shot.
I found my 1st ball (marked No.1) but no. 2 and 3 are OB.
Am I allowed to play my 1st ball?
Back to top Go down
botak
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1236
Join date : 2009-08-27
Location : Everywhere... but the golf course :(

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 5:55 pm

just a thought, and i know i'm not exactly answering your question... if you're playing stableford scoring, the tournament organizers may have a stated a rule to say that if you're more than +3 on the hole, just pick up ur ball and play the next hole


Last edited by botak on Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
jimmychoo
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1255
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 99
Location : Teban Garden

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:04 pm

Provision Ball is played when you are not sure whether the previous ball you hit is within play or not. So if your 1st ball is playable, you can forget about the other 3 and continue to hit your 2nd shot with your 1st ball. Smile
Back to top Go down
ligermu
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 21
Join date : 2009-06-30

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 6:14 pm

my humble 2 cents worth .......

provisional balls are so that if your original ball was OB or not found
than you play your provisional ball.
in this case you have found your original ball, but was the original ball OB?
if not OB then you play the original ball as per normal.
if orignal ball was OB than you play the 4th provision ball (as your
2nd and 3rd provisional balls were OB) and this case add 7 strokes.

rgds
Back to top Go down
tronos
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1121
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:10 pm

isnt there an 'unofficial' rule that is ur first 2 drive is OB, u use a wood, hybrid or iron to tee off the 3rd
Back to top Go down
darenlim
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 426
Join date : 2010-03-17

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:31 pm

Thanks for the clarification ligermu Smile
Back to top Go down
shorthitter
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals


Posts : 1725
Join date : 2009-06-17
Location : Laguna National Golf and Country Club

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:49 pm

So long as your 1st ball is in play all the others are non exsistant regardless of where they are.

You are playing 2nd shot... Very Happy
Back to top Go down
http://www.2telgolf.com
Kopi Towkay
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 531
Join date : 2009-06-22
Location : One Degree North!

PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:17 pm

shorthitter wrote:
So long as your 1st ball is in play all the others are non exsistant regardless of where they are.

You are playing 2nd shot... Very Happy


And as Walter Cronkrite would say "That's the way it is"
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.   Today at 8:16 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.
» Court: Shanked shots an expected risk
» Spy shots - Toyobaru RWD car
» Bunker Shots - Common Faults
» Bunker shots and practice areas

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.