Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Review: Sundog Sunglasses

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
rocky
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 478
Join date : 2009-06-28
Location : SG

PostSubject: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:35 pm

Reviving some of the articles from TH days... hope everybody don't mind...


This review is for the Sundog 49103 ZONE Sunglasses (Frame: Midnight black)
(Reviewed on 25th April 2009 by Rocky)



First impressions
Having not heard much about Sundog sunglasses I did not know what to expect of these new glasses. I have grown pretty accustomed to a particular brandname of sunglasses so Sundog was a breath of fresh air for me. The Sundog sunglasses comes with a nice pouch and a carrying case. The pouch comes in a choice of red or black.

Information about Sundog
Sundog Distributing Inc is a US based company that has been developing eyewear for the past 24 years. Unlike other sunglass brands, Sundog Eyewear claim that they "do not force limited lens technologies or colours on their customers." They also offer "both polyamide and metal frames to fit a variety of head shapes and adapt to a variety of needs."
Their products are endorsed by some golfing superstars such as Paula Creamer, Hunter Mahan and Mike Weir, all of which have their own Signature Series of Sundog sunglasses.
For more on Sundog Eyewear, go to their website: http://www2.sundogeyewear.com/

Carrying Case

The carrying case is deep and fits the sunglasses snugly. The case protects the sunglasses from scratches and the occasional knocks. For individuals that like to carry their sunglasses in their golf bags, this may be a good carrying case.

Pouch

The pouch has a large "Sungog eyewear" printed on it with a useful spring-locking hook to go with it. These days, the pouch double as a lens cleaning cloth so you should have it with you when you put on your sunglasses. Personally I found this pouch useful and innovative. The hook can be latched onto any ring on your golf bag or the belt loop of your trousers. I found it convenient to hook it to my trouser belt loop so that I can clean the lens after I take a nasty, mud splattering divot.
The construction of the hook is made from plastic and springs which, in my opinion, is prone to wear and tear. My personal preference would be a small aluminium carabiner although this is very much subjective.

Lens

The lens are made stated to have been made in France. These lens are called Mela-Lens and incidentally are made from Melanin, which Singaporeans are quite familiar with. According to the website, these Mela-Lens filters "Higher Energy Visible Light" (HEVL) that creates glare in the eyes, provides better contrast, sharpened perception of details without colour shift or distortion. It also stated that golfers would benefit in the following ways:
"If there is moisture on the golf course (water from rain or a sprinkler) the light can be reflected off the water or refracted (change direction as it passes through the water). Both of these conditions can cause glare and change the way an individual perceives contours on the course surface and can affect depth perception."

The clarity of the lens is excellent. Wearing the Sundogs on in the sun is very comfortable. However, be warned. I was out in the hot afternoon sun playing a round of golf with the Sundogs. When I took them off to clean off my sweat, I was rudely blinded by the intensity of the sun. Yes, you have been warned. The lenses make a substantial amount of difference in terms of reducing the glare from the sun so proceed with caution when removing the Sundogs.
The Mela-lens do not cause much visual magnification. This is important because some lenses actually cause a bit of magnification that make them behave more like prescription lenses. Also there is no feeling of lateral or vertical visual shifting.
There are some markings on the lenses. On the left there are the words Sundog, and on the right there is the Mela-lens emblem. For those of you who are more particular, these may pose as a "permanent" distraction. On the topic of distraction, I have a preference for sunglasses that have no "lobangs" or gaps in between the lens and the frame. This Sundog has none of that.
In my opinion, polarized lens are the still best way to filter out harmful rays from our environment, as well as provide the best visual quality to our eyes. In this aspect, the visual comfort of the Mela-lens are comparable to those of polarized lenses.

For more on Mela-lens, go to http://www2.sundogeyewear.com/index.php?page=mela-lens-2

Frame

The frame is the Max Flex Rilsan Frame. In my opinion, the flexibility of the frame will be unknown until subjected to actual tests, ie attempts of breaking them!
However, I must say that these frames are extremely light and the wearer might feel a sense of weightless-ness when wearing the Sundogs. The frame grips well onto my face and head, tight enough for golfing purposes but may not be suitable for high impact and high speed sports. It does, however, have a tendency to tilt to the left.

For more on Rilsan frames, go to http://www2.sundogeyewear.com/index.php?page=frame-technology

Lens Test
To get a feel of exactly what these lenses feel like on the golf course, below are some of the pictures taken at a chipping green.


There is significant difference between wearing the glasses and the naked eye. In terms of colour retention, I will not be able to comment*. However, contrast and clarity remains the same.

I wanted to take a picture of the address position but as I was alone, the best I could muster were these. Visually, the club and ball looks like this with Sundog


The club and ball looks like this with the naked eye


Sun glare test
This test was done out of curiosity and does not follow any scientific hypothesis or theory. In writing this, I thought I could share something that I found interesting with regards to the Sundog and my own polarized lenses. I took a few shots using the sunglasses to cover the camera lens and interestingly, these were what I got. The sun looked much more intense in the Sundog lens with 2 bright lines going across the entire width of the lens.


On the polarized lens, the sun seemed less intense and more dissipated.


With the naked eye, of course, please DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!


Final Comments
As mentioned in my first impressions section the Sundog is indeed a breath of fresh air from my "tried, tested and proven" brand of eyewear. It is light and fits nicely for golfing usage. The lens are comfortable and clear. It even comes with a convenient carrying case and pouch (mine does not come with one! <_< ). Most importantly, for the price that you are paying for the Sundog, it is really value for money. To all avid golfer who are looking for a good pair of sunglasses, do give the Sundogs a try.

Please note, as of writing this review, the warranty conditions have yet to be advised. It shall be updated when there is more information.


More pictures
Sundog emblem. At some angle it does look like a dog.
http://i563.photobucket.com/albums/ss77/rockychong/Sundog%20Review/SundogReview_0050.jpg

Sundog


Nose bridge


Looking through the lens


May make sense to some... may look like nonsense to others.



A little bit about myself
Those of you who know me personally will know that my eyes are very sensitive to light. I believe that I belong to a group of people who suffer from mild to severe migrane from time to time. This problem has actually forced me to drive at night with sunglasses on. My biggest enemies are those vehicles with HID headlamps that are bluish and super bright.
My eyes are also sensitive to camera flashes, especially in darker environments. When the flash goes off, the bright spot stays on for much longer than most of you guys out there. Some celebrities such as Bono from the UK band U2, also suffer the same symptoms as me. That is why he always has his shades on. For him its part vanity, for me its for pure protection.
That is why I have to be picky about the lenses that I put on. Even branded lenses from certified opticians makes me giddy as well. Therefore when I found my first pair of sunglasses, I could only go back to the same manufacturer.

So Rocky, what's your point?
My point is, this particular Sundog was not my first choice. During the 10-15 mins at BFG, I had actually picked the Sundog with polarized gradient-tinted lens. The moment I put them on after I stepped out of BFG, I felt uncomfortable and had to go back to return. I do not know if it is the lens or the gradient tint. But for people with a similar condition as myself this is a note for you.

*I also said that I cannot comment about colour retention. This is because I am mildly colour-blind. Any comments on colour on my end will not be the best so please pardon me.


Acknowledgements
DGMan for the opportunity
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:17 am

great review! wow. do you keep a records of your FRs?
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:36 am

thats why rocky is rocky....thanks

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
rocky
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 478
Join date : 2009-06-28
Location : SG

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:42 am

MC: I keep all of them. Anyway it's just a text file. I wouldn't throw it away after spending so much time composing it. Smile
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 24, 2009 12:17 pm

nb. i lost all my thesis. hai. simple mistake: No backup.
Back to top Go down
Gray
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1270
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:47 pm

additional comment for the Sundog.

I had tried several and they suit the typical asian face i.e. with low nose bridge.

However, for those with high nose bridge like the ang mohs, it will look abit funnie unless sundogs are like oakleys with interchangeble nose attachments
Back to top Go down
cmclee
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 185
Join date : 2009-07-31
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:56 pm

HI,
just curious, what is the price range for subdog sunglasses ? Wonder how they compare with Oakley. Any comments ?

Thanks !
Back to top Go down
rocky
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 478
Join date : 2009-06-28
Location : SG

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:59 pm

Hi cmclee

They are about 50% to 60% of the price of an Oakley.
Please PM DGMan for pricing. He is the distributor of Sundog.

Regards
Back to top Go down
setzer
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 70
Join date : 2009-07-28

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:23 pm

cool! thanks for sharing.. will go PM DGman for pricing

cheers
Back to top Go down
nix10
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 20
Join date : 2009-07-23

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:14 am

Can share the range of price for sundog glasses?
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:17 am

we are a reseller....the price is $135 and there is a 20% discount for golfrepublic forumers. just state your nick wehn you come.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:24 am

Hey Eric, Sundogs are not powered sunglasses, right? This means that for those who wear glasses (like me), they can only use Sundogs if they wear contact lenses.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
DGman
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 6384
Join date : 2009-06-18

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:40 am

yup jason....you and i have to get the likes of puma fitted at queensway if we do not want to wear contact.

DGman
Back to top Go down
http://www.bigfishes.com
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:42 am

DGman wrote:
yup jason....you and i have to get the likes of puma fitted at queensway if we do not want to wear contact.

DGman

Sigh... gotta go with the basics. Thanks anyway, boss!
Back to top Go down
nix10
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 20
Join date : 2009-07-23

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 5:11 pm

Available for viewing at OCC BigFish Outlet?
Back to top Go down
frosTEE
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1068
Join date : 2009-06-20

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:04 pm

yup available for viewing from
Mon - Sat
12pm - 7pm
Back to top Go down
colin2011
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 154
Join date : 2009-07-14
Age : 44

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:10 pm

frosTEE wrote:
yup available for viewing from
Mon - Sat
12pm - 7pm

interested to take a look at the sunglasses......

also maybe to change my driver grip Razz
Back to top Go down
Ssquirrel
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1368
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:27 pm

frosTEE wrote:
yup available for viewing from
Mon - Sat
12pm - 7pm

interesed to take at look at frosTEE;.. oops. I meant sunglasses...

also maybe to grip something/someone... Razz
Back to top Go down
jaketang
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2648
Join date : 2009-06-20
Age : 41
Location : East

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:29 pm

Ssquirrel wrote:
frosTEE wrote:
yup available for viewing from
Mon - Sat
12pm - 7pm

interesed to take at look at frosTEE;.. oops. I meant sunglasses...

also maybe to grip something/someone... Razz

Laughing dun anyhow grip...
Back to top Go down
opus
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 179
Join date : 2009-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:12 pm

i have no idea why my white sundogs turned pink after 3 months....
any my friend's white sundogs turned yellow after 3 months
Back to top Go down
mUAr_cHEe
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 7236
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Sillypore

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:21 pm

hui hui.... welcome!
Back to top Go down
opus
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 179
Join date : 2009-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:22 pm

hi MC....u from sillypore? hahah
Back to top Go down
olivewine
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 108
Join date : 2010-01-24

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:44 pm

Hi DGman, cannot find a polarised version of the glasses at BF today... can let me know when you have stock available? Thanks in advance!
Back to top Go down
helmeahmad
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 199
Join date : 2009-12-02
Age : 42
Location : east side

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:29 pm

Brothers and Sisters of GR, i got SUNDOG shades for $ 90. interested msg me at 91541751. thanks.
Back to top Go down
TheFocalPoint
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3011
Join date : 2009-10-01

PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:18 pm

opus wrote:
i have no idea why my white sundogs turned pink after 3 months....
any my friend's white sundogs turned yellow after 3 months

i think they put tumeric powder (kunyit) in the plastic.. then kanna the Sun, become Dog.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Review: Sundog Sunglasses   Today at 4:55 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Review: Sundog Sunglasses
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Review: Sundog Sunglasses
» SunDog Shades vs Oakley Shades
» Sunglasses with prescription
» Review: ACE Compression Sportswear (Long Sleeve, Black)
» Nakashima Iron ,Any review , any user ??

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.