Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JoeYee
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 17
Join date : 2010-05-05
Age : 49
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 14, 2010 6:08 pm

Looking for a replacement for my hybrid that was with me for 10 years, and was thinking about the Adams Idea A70S, or A7. I know the Black series looks cool too but somehow from the review, its seems that the A7's series are more forgiving.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top Go down
http://kyjoegolf.blogspot.com
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 14, 2010 9:32 pm

I play Adams Idea Pro tour issue hybrids and they are as good as can be. Easy to hit, easy to elevate but a little anti-left. For one, it is really hard to hit a draw but they are pretty low spin and goes long. That's the tour issue, though. I heard that the retail versions are different, even more easier to hit but they tend to go left and spin much more.

Playing my 18* with Altus and the 20* with hM2 Black Tie shaft.

In general, Adams hybrids are user-friendly and go long. I have yet to hit the A7-series but I am pretty sure they maintain the characteristics. Hope this helps.
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 14, 2010 9:42 pm

I am using the 16deg ADX hybrid pro with Tour AD shaft. they are great. straight and forgiving
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
mysticsea
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 488
Join date : 2009-09-07
Location : EW23

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 14, 2010 9:54 pm

i hit the A7 3H... 3 words... long, straight and forgiving... thinking of getting 1 myself...
Back to top Go down
JoeYee
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 17
Join date : 2010-05-05
Age : 49
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 7:49 am

Thanks everyone. Would go down to RSH Marina and check it out..
Back to top Go down
http://kyjoegolf.blogspot.com
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 2:41 pm

Yarra, I've been thinking of making the switch to Adams peanut, but am distracted by the new black hybrids. What do you recommend? I prefer more compact heads.

My 585H hybrids have been reshafted to Crossfire shafts, will be gaming them today to see how well they play
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 4:19 pm

bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?
Back to top Go down
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 4:22 pm

Ping G15! long and straight

_________________
Callaway Razr Fit Xtreme 10.5* Ahina 60 R
PRGR EGG Spoon 15* MRC Fubuki Alpha 70S
Adams Super Hybrid XTD 19* MRC Fubuki AH R
Adams A12 Pro 23* GD Tour AD UT85 R
Callaway X Hot Pro 5-PW PX95 5.5
Titleist SM4 50*, 54*, 58* DG Spinner
Scotty Studio Select 2012 Golo 33"
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 4:35 pm

ghoonk wrote:
Yarra, I've been thinking of making the switch to Adams peanut, but am distracted by the new black hybrids. What do you recommend? I prefer more compact heads.

My 585H hybrids have been reshafted to Crossfire shafts, will be gaming them today to see how well they play

I'd say the 15* Super Hybrid might replace your 3 wood with the right shaft. I have yet to hit it but according to my friends in the US, it is that good. Waiting for mine to come, 15* with either an HD8, PX (8A2) or my old, trusty Altus. The Adams Peanuts were good, the PNT2 is more forgiving than the original Peanut. But the Original Peanut is so anti-left it just don't suit me well.

But I like the Adams Idea Pro the most. They are getting cheaper now. I got 5 of them over the years and they always work best with Altus and hM2 shafts. High but flat trajectory, low spin and go miles. Some said that the Fubuki performing quite well, too. But I just have not tried the Fubuki Hybrid shafts yet.

Just DO NOT ever go to Adams 9031. It is even less forgiving than the original Peanut! Or you might want to try 585H with an Oban Devotion Hybrid shaft. Got a few lying around in my place right now. They are good and my friend is liking it in his 585H.
Back to top Go down
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 4:35 pm

pushslice wrote:
bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?

It's a good shaft, though...
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 4:53 pm

pushslice wrote:
bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?

Yup!
Back to top Go down
watermyforrest
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3248
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 41
Location : Serangoon Central

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sat May 15, 2010 5:27 pm

ghoonk wrote:
pushslice wrote:
bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?

Yup!

Beer

And Big Big cheers to Eric for his recommendation!
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sun May 16, 2010 2:37 am

watermyforrest wrote:
ghoonk wrote:
pushslice wrote:
bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?

Yup!

Beer

And Big Big cheers to Eric for his recommendation!

Took awhile to get used to the shafts (serves me right for not breaking them in before gaming them), but I positively KILLED some of my fairway shots with that combo today. The 585H in 21* almost got me onto the green in 2 on a 565 yd Par 5 after killing my drive 302 yards. Low spin, piercing trajectory, I highly recommend this shaft for hybrids Smile

Yarra, been looking for PNT2 and the Idea Pro -- found this on WRX :

2. $100 - Tour Adams Peanut 24º Aldila NV HB 105 "S" - 39" with Lamkin 85th Anniversary grip - Sorry NO headcover - 7g weight in sole - face and sole show light marks from use - top looks great - overall excellent condition

3. $110 - Tour Adams PNT2 22º Aldila NV HB 105 "S" - 39.5" with Golf Pride DD2 Yellow/Black grip - Sorry NO headcover - this one has the unmarked weight in the rear, so not sure what it weighs - face and sole show light marks from use - top looks great - overall excellent condition


What do you think? Go for it? Or are there better deals out there?
Back to top Go down
ironfist
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1210
Join date : 2009-07-30
Age : 29
Location : Serangoon Gardens

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sun May 16, 2010 3:26 am

i'm using the adams a7 4h and i must say, it's fantastic.

i had a cleveland hybrid which i thought was amazing in terms of feel, distance and trajectory, although i disliked the grip. but when i was looking for a 4h i decided to try the new adams a7 and it was such a difference from the cleveland for me. looks alone it looks great with the yellow and black template which matches the proforce shaft really well. the stock grip is average but i can live with it. headcover is no-nonsense. non of that fancy elaborate crap and design is simple which i like. but the killer thing is the feel. it just feels so good! it has a nice soft click and you can really tell where it comes off the face. trajectory is high and the ball just goes on forever. also, it's relatively inexpensive. you can find deals off ebay for under SGD$200 if you're lucky.

overall a very well made club from a brand well known for its hybrids. i say go for it. i'm in the market for an a7 3h myself. switching out the cleveland. Razz
Back to top Go down
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Sun May 16, 2010 5:03 am

ghoonk wrote:
watermyforrest wrote:
ghoonk wrote:
pushslice wrote:
bro, you got poisoned by WMF's crossfire?

Yup!

Beer

And Big Big cheers to Eric for his recommendation!

Took awhile to get used to the shafts (serves me right for not breaking them in before gaming them), but I positively KILLED some of my fairway shots with that combo today. The 585H in 21* almost got me onto the green in 2 on a 565 yd Par 5 after killing my drive 302 yards. Low spin, piercing trajectory, I highly recommend this shaft for hybrids Smile

Yarra, been looking for PNT2 and the Idea Pro -- found this on WRX :

2. $100 - Tour Adams Peanut 24º Aldila NV HB 105 "S" - 39" with Lamkin 85th Anniversary grip - Sorry NO headcover - 7g weight in sole - face and sole show light marks from use - top looks great - overall excellent condition

3. $110 - Tour Adams PNT2 22º Aldila NV HB 105 "S" - 39.5" with Golf Pride DD2 Yellow/Black grip - Sorry NO headcover - this one has the unmarked weight in the rear, so not sure what it weighs - face and sole show light marks from use - top looks great - overall excellent condition


What do you think? Go for it? Or are there better deals out there?

ghoong,

3. $110 - Tour Adams PNT2 22º Aldila NV HB 105 "S" - 39.5" with Golf Pride DD2 Yellow/Black grip - Sorry NO headcover - this one has the unmarked weight in the rear, so not sure what it weighs - face and sole show light marks from use - top looks great - overall excellent condition[/i]

My friend almost bought that one a few days ago but got a better offer. But it is a good one to consider. Check your PM, though...
Back to top Go down
JoeYee
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 17
Join date : 2010-05-05
Age : 49
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Tue May 18, 2010 6:04 pm

Went to Marina Square RSH yesterday and sadly, the Adam's peanut is out of stock! And from the mouth of the "ah neh" there, they were not too happy with the sales of Adams. First they are not going to bring in any more A7, and secondly he mentioned, those Speedline that they just brought in, they don't expect them to clear by end of the year!

So in the end, i bought a A4 Hybrid Fairway wood. Need to go to the range to get used to the Stiff shaft. Smile But i think it has potential!

Really, I seriously think that Adams is seriously under-rated!
Back to top Go down
http://kyjoegolf.blogspot.com
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Tue May 18, 2010 7:54 pm

First of all...I am not equipment expert nor junky.....Once awhile I go KLKK around GH and I feel that I need to practise my swing, I go and try equipment.....

Adams....the hybrid is good and forgiving....and you are right...very under rated....

I really hope they or GH can relook at their pricepoint becos currently its a bit pricey (in relative)
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Tue May 18, 2010 7:57 pm

Adams spends money on R&D, not marketing. I used to think they were just so-so, until I was enlightened by the Speedline and 9016D drivers.

foolwalking also showed me first hand how effective a tour-issued Peanut Hybrid with Altus Lime Green shaft was -- 200m with a gentle draw or fade on command....
Back to top Go down
mysticsea
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 488
Join date : 2009-09-07
Location : EW23

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Tue May 18, 2010 8:32 pm

i bought a set of the A7 from US for my gf. am thinking of getting another A7 3H too... do let me know if u guys wanna get a piece, maybe we can bundle and save of shipping...
Back to top Go down
foolwalking
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 117
Join date : 2010-02-02

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 21, 2010 4:11 pm

Hi all,

I have the Adams Idea Pro peanut tour issue w/ a Matrix Altus Lime shaft Smile. Best amongst all the hybrids i had played till date eg TM Burner Rescue/Titleist 909H.

The Idea Pro has a deep face which gives me all the confidence that i need through the bad lies. In addition, due to the deep face, it plays more like an iron than a wood which makes shaping the shots possible even with the hybrid. Certainly a club to stay in my club Smile

Ghoonk, you should know all about my Adams, right bro Smile ? It's Jeremy fyi Smile
Back to top Go down
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 21, 2010 4:20 pm

foolwalking wrote:
Hi all,

I have the Adams Idea Pro peanut tour issue w/ a Matrix Altus Lime shaft Smile. Best amongst all the hybrids i had played till date eg TM Burner Rescue/Titleist 909H.

The Idea Pro has a deep face which gives me all the confidence that i need through the bad lies. In addition, due to the deep face, it plays more like an iron than a wood which makes shaping the shots possible even with the hybrid. Certainly a club to stay in my club Smile

Ghoonk, you should know all about my Adams, right bro Smile ? It's Jeremy fyi Smile

thanks for the Iomic recommendation! Love those grips!
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Fri May 21, 2010 6:30 pm

foolwalking wrote:
Hi all,

I have the Adams Idea Pro peanut tour issue w/ a Matrix Altus Lime shaft Smile. Best amongst all the hybrids i had played till date eg TM Burner Rescue/Titleist 909H.

The Idea Pro has a deep face which gives me all the confidence that i need through the bad lies. In addition, due to the deep face, it plays more like an iron than a wood which makes shaping the shots possible even with the hybrid. Certainly a club to stay in my club Smile

Ghoonk, you should know all about my Adams, right bro Smile ? It's Jeremy fyi Smile

I know. I kena poisoned by your hybrid, now I can't get it out of my head...
Back to top Go down
foolwalking
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 117
Join date : 2010-02-02

PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Mon May 24, 2010 9:54 pm

U should get it in your bag too, Ghoonk Smile Still itchy for an Attas my friend .. btw, can you scout for me on WRX ? In addition, i am also really keen on a Matrix in the 70 grams stiff for my fairway wood Smile .. let me know if you get any luck there Smile
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?   Today at 10:29 am

Back to top Go down
 
Anyone tried the Adams Idea Hybrid and can give a review?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Any Srixon I-701 or Adams Idea Pro Forged users out there?
» adams idea tech v3 or adams idea black super?
» Adams CMB Irons
» Which blade should I try???
» Adams Idea MB2 blades

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.