Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Best wedges review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
noohks
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 43
Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : North east of lion city

PostSubject: Best wedges review   Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Which are the best wedges you have used?
Please share your reviews. scratch
Back to top Go down
eiji
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 6193
Join date : 2009-08-22
Age : 35
Location : Training

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:48 pm

what works for you may not work for another. no best, just whats right for you.

_________________
Callaway Razr Fit Xtreme 10.5* Ahina 60 R
PRGR EGG Spoon 15* MRC Fubuki Alpha 70S
Adams Super Hybrid XTD 19* MRC Fubuki AH R
Adams A12 Pro 23* GD Tour AD UT85 R
Callaway X Hot Pro 5-PW PX95 5.5
Titleist SM4 50*, 54*, 58* DG Spinner
Scotty Studio Select 2012 Golo 33"
Back to top Go down
http://www.idealparts.com.sg
joshcct
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 311
Join date : 2009-08-07

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:11 am

it's really individual preference. what you can do is join us at the SSN and try out the wedges used by GRians.
Back to top Go down
noohks
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 43
Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : North east of lion city

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:37 am

joshcct wrote:
it's really individual preference. what you can do is join us at the SSN and try out the wedges used by GRians.
Where is SSN?
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:56 am

I actualy have a love hate relationship with my wedges.

I am using Ping 's SW and Cleavage T588 51deg

I think for wedges , it depends alot on your feel and approach towards the short game...
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:57 am

noohks wrote:
joshcct wrote:
it's really individual preference. what you can do is join us at the SSN and try out the wedges used by GRians.
Where is SSN?

SSN = Stary Stary Night, i.e. Golf Republic's Wednesday evening range outing at MBGC.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:04 am

Also, this is from last year but the information is still pretty good.

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
TheFocalPoint
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3011
Join date : 2009-10-01

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:08 am

I can't get enough of my new xFT Wedges.. They're da bomb!
Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:28 pm

TheFocalPoint wrote:
I can't get enough of my new xFT Wedges.. They're da bomb!

TFP, with your skills... even a spade would be da bomb Smile

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
TheFocalPoint
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3011
Join date : 2009-10-01

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:42 pm

Technospaz wrote:
TheFocalPoint wrote:
I can't get enough of my new xFT Wedges.. They're da bomb!

TFP, with your skills... even a spade would be da bomb Smile

Skills? What skills? I haven't seen any and neither have any of my flightmates...
But i do make the ball bounce on water sometimes.... only to see it fall deep in.. Smile skill ah! Smile
Back to top Go down
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:15 pm

The best way is to go and get fitted. It really is a matter of preference at first but then every one has a different swing profiles and tendencies. I can tell you which wedges feels best to me but then it might not suit your personal taste or your game.

To answer your question from my point of view (so please, DO NOT quote me on this), I like a heavy head in my wedge. Especially with my lob wedge. I used to play a low-bounce wedge but lately I have been gaming a 10* bounce with good result. All I have to do is to get used to it to adjust.

Over the years, i found TM plays best for me. I like Cleveland and Callaways too, also Mizunos. But I stick to TM because it feels so familiar to me. Just my 2-cents.
Back to top Go down
noohks
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 43
Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : North east of lion city

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 6:35 pm

Yarra wrote:
The best way is to go and get fitted. It really is a matter of preference at first but then every one has a different swing profiles and tendencies. I can tell you which wedges feels best to me but then it might not suit your personal taste or your game.

To answer your question from my point of view (so please, DO NOT quote me on this), I like a heavy head in my wedge. Especially with my lob wedge. I used to play a low-bounce wedge but lately I have been gaming a 10* bounce with good result. All I have to do is to get used to it to adjust.

Over the years, i found TM plays best for me. I like Cleveland and Callaways too, also Mizunos. But I stick to TM because it feels so familiar to me. Just my 2-cents.

Any place to recommend to get fitted?
Back to top Go down
noohks
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 43
Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : North east of lion city

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Mon Jun 14, 2010 6:37 pm

Technospaz wrote:
noohks wrote:
joshcct wrote:
it's really individual preference. what you can do is join us at the SSN and try out the wedges used by GRians.
Where is SSN?

SSN = Stary Stary Night, i.e. Golf Republic's Wednesday evening range outing at MBGC.

Oic..sounds great!! Thanks!!
Back to top Go down
aural
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 319
Join date : 2010-04-12
Age : 38
Location : Toa Payoh

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:10 am

Anyone used Ztp wedge from TM? how's the feel? Soft on the bounce?
Back to top Go down
Yarra
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1043
Join date : 2010-03-01

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:17 am

noohks wrote:
Yarra wrote:
The best way is to go and get fitted. It really is a matter of preference at first but then every one has a different swing profiles and tendencies. I can tell you which wedges feels best to me but then it might not suit your personal taste or your game.

To answer your question from my point of view (so please, DO NOT quote me on this), I like a heavy head in my wedge. Especially with my lob wedge. I used to play a low-bounce wedge but lately I have been gaming a 10* bounce with good result. All I have to do is to get used to it to adjust.

Over the years, i found TM plays best for me. I like Cleveland and Callaways too, also Mizunos. But I stick to TM because it feels so familiar to me. Just my 2-cents.

Any place to recommend to get fitted?

You might want to PM DGman.
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:32 am

DGman not in town - he's over at The British Open prepping Zen for the tour players. He's one of the best fitters I have met, open, knowledgeable, and not pushy. And his recommendations haven't let me down yet

@aural - i have the Z-TP wedges back in Dubai. They are my backup set to the TM tour Y-cutters, and play slightly firmer with less spin than the Y-cutters (probably due to TM dulling edges of retail wedges so customers don't complain too much about balls getting shredded with every shot to the green). Cheap and good, no complaints about them.
Back to top Go down
aural
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 319
Join date : 2010-04-12
Age : 38
Location : Toa Payoh

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:44 am

Thanks bro. Was deciding to buy a 60 degree ztp since now can get at 139.
Back to top Go down
duffader
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5599
Join date : 2010-01-28

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:00 am

The TMs Z-TP works for me previously, then i change to vokeys which doesn't suit me at all cos i don't really like how it sits on setup. And Finally, due to two good souls, i came across Fourteen Wedges as well as the Geotech wedges. Oh my, its sits very nicely with zero offset and the leading edge is not rounded. So it makes the opening of the clubface shots much easier for me. Its always a process.... of trying till you find the right one for you.
Back to top Go down
TheFocalPoint
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 3011
Join date : 2009-10-01

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:04 am

aural wrote:
Thanks bro. Was deciding to buy a 60 degree ztp since now can get at 139.

Dude,

I think you should pop by to Far East Shopping Centre. Should be can get for $99, cuz the xFT wedges are going for $169. Highly doubt if the ztp is still $139.
Back to top Go down
aural
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 319
Join date : 2010-04-12
Age : 38
Location : Toa Payoh

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:07 am

TheFocalPoint wrote:
aural wrote:
Thanks bro. Was deciding to buy a 60 degree ztp since now can get at 139.

Dude,

I think you should pop by to Far East Shopping Centre. Should be can get for $99, cuz the xFT wedges are going for $169. Highly doubt if the ztp is still $139.

Lol. It's the lazy me again. I go look look see see. Thanks for the info
Back to top Go down
mengteck71
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1766
Join date : 2009-06-27
Age : 45

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:58 am

am waiting for my NIKE V-Rev Wedge to arrive Smile
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:03 pm

I really like nike vr forged (not 2010 version). Heavy head. pretty soft, can open face with low leading edge, and gives loads of spin. 58-60 got wide soles which i like. Shreds ball quickly though. Lukewa for best deal in town.

I found tm ztp to feel slightly firmer and produce less spin (for me). Possibly suitable for players who can generate enough spin already.

cg14 is a good all rounder but has slightly muted feeling (if you are a purist). I like the black ni finish. Light head. Its feel is very unique, dont find it in other wedges. Love it or hate it i guess.

Ping tour-w is another favorite. Forgiving, wide sole. solid, meaty feel. Ok spin but i think even less than ztp. Looks nice. Not heavy, not light.

Somehow i didnt like the feel of vokey. Spins loads just like nike vr. Got lots of model to fit your liking/style.

Never tried cally before.

Again, this is just personal preference. U really cant beat testing the wdges at ssn and find the one for you.
Back to top Go down
ghoonk
Honorary Landscaper
Honorary Landscaper


Posts : 2414
Join date : 2009-12-16
Age : 43
Location : Dubai / Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:33 pm

To be frank, wedges are largely a matter of preference. Some people like their wedges heavy, others prefer light. Some like sharp leading edges, others like more bounce. No such thing as the perfect wedges, just fond one that feels right for your game and stick with it. Wedges are about confidence, in my opinion Smile
Back to top Go down
slinger
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 5692
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wild Wild West

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:00 pm

i like my wedges that dun require me to putt.......
Back to top Go down
dkk
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 242
Join date : 2010-08-22

PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:09 am

TheFocalPoint wrote:
aural wrote:
Thanks bro. Was deciding to buy a 60 degree ztp since now can get at 139.

Dude,

I think you should pop by to Far East Shopping Centre. Should be can get for $99, cuz the xFT wedges are going for $169. Highly doubt if the ztp is still $139.

Visited GH and after discount, ZTP going for 139 and XFT going for 199/-

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Best wedges review   Today at 6:26 am

Back to top Go down
 
Best wedges review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Best wedges review
» Eidolan Wedges
» Pride Wedges...
» Cleveland CG15 Wedges
» Titleist Vokey Wedges with KBS Shafts

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Equipment Reviews-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.