Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
eden
Very Active Golfer
Very Active Golfer


Posts : 676
Join date : 2010-01-05

PostSubject: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sat Jul 17, 2010 1:54 pm

Anyone has one of these, any good??

know where can get good price?

Thanks
Back to top Go down
vyvy
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 353
Join date : 2009-11-30
Age : 33
Location : The sunny island

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sat Jul 17, 2010 3:18 pm

I gg funan now. U want me to help u check the pricing??
Back to top Go down
garfield
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 217
Join date : 2009-09-13
Location : Latitude: 1º22´ North of the Equator, Longitude: 103º48´ East of Greenwich

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sat Jul 17, 2010 6:20 pm

bought mine some 6 months ago for about $700+/-. i must say the slow motion feature is fantastic. it's useful to playback and review our swings.

however, the novelty of the slow motion feature sort of wore out after a while. the reason: i have to find someone to film me whilst on the golf course. most times, i keep the camera in the bag as i am too occupied to find my ball. where got time to film? :p
Back to top Go down
missmoon
Greens Committee Member
Greens Committee Member


Posts : 4006
Join date : 2009-06-17
Age : 71
Location : LaLa Land~

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:32 pm

I have casio ex-fc100.. no complain at all.

it takes near to perfect pictures in the day, but when comes to night, it requires a pair of very steady and stable hands to take proper sharp pictures.
Back to top Go down
http://www.golfrepublic.org
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:43 pm

Detail Review

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q210grouptravelzoom/page3.asp
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
ydk
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 52
Join date : 2010-02-19
Age : 35
Location : Teban Garden. You don't know where right?

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 am

www.bhphotovideo.com

The prices seem pretty reasonable to me. I myself am taking a look at some of the other casio models there. Seems that casio has many models suitable for filming the swing.

limyael: Would it work if i just a camera on a chair or tripod to film myself swinging?
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:42 am

missmoon wrote:
I have casio ex-fc100.. no complain at all.

it takes near to perfect pictures in the day, but when comes to night, it requires a pair of very steady and stable hands to take proper sharp pictures.

Moon, night time can take good pictures, I showed you that time at SSN. Just got to use the right night mode to take the picture. You used single snap with longer exposure time so pictures blur. Use the multiple snap night mode and your pics will be clear without need for flash. It takes longer to save the shot though, remember?
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:46 am

ydk wrote:
www.bhphotovideo.com

The prices seem pretty reasonable to me. I myself am taking a look at some of the other casio models there. Seems that casio has many models suitable for filming the swing.

limyael: Would it work if i just a camera on a chair or tripod to film myself swinging?

YDK, of course it will work, you just have to edit out the first part (editing is in-camera) where you will be walking back to the mat to hit the ball. Real time might be 30 seconds or so, but in slow mo, it's a very long time. 240 fps is the best setting I discovered, not too slow n not too fast.

I took some hi speed pics with the 40fps function adjusted to 24 fps (only selected pics are shown). At 40 fps, you only get 40 pics shot for a duration of one second only which is not long enough to capture a full swing. Slowed down to 24 fps, you get about 2.5 seconds of continuous shots. I also shot a pro's bunker swing in slow mo. Both were with the big brother (Casio FH-20) of the camera you are talking about here. See the threads below.

http://www.golfrepublic.org/swing-sequence-and-videos-f15/lam-chih-bing-s-swing-sequence-at-the-barclays-singapore-open-t2566.htm

http://www.golfrepublic.org/swing-sequence-and-videos-f15/tour-player-s-bunker-technique-in-slomo-vid-at-barclay-s-t2165.htm
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:08 pm

I am using Cannon G10, I think I gonna switch to casio for the high speed.

Bird, which is a good model?
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:13 pm

I was using the FH-20, now superceded by the FH-25 (20x zoom), which is similar in size to your G10. It's more prosumer.

But if you want more compact then the FH-100 mentioned here is sufficient. Using advanced functions for both models will take the shots about 5 seconds to save, rendering the camera inoperable during that time.

That's the tradeoff I found lor.
Back to top Go down
Khorkar
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2978
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 42
Location : Sinkapoh

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:26 pm

Birdman, I was looking at the FH20 for awhile but it never seem to drops its price. All the while, it is still going for 750ish.
Back to top Go down
Birdman
Course Marshal
Course Marshal


Posts : 3798
Join date : 2009-10-09
Age : 51
Location : Wherever my feet take me....

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:35 pm

Still got meh? I thought discontinued oredi. New model is the FH-25 now. Not sure if it's in Singapore yet though?
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 8:26 pm

Birdman wrote:
I was using the FH-20, now superceded by the FH-25 (20x zoom), which is similar in size to your G10. It's more prosumer.

But if you want more compact then the FH-100 mentioned here is sufficient. Using advanced functions for both models will take the shots about 5 seconds to save, rendering the camera inoperable during that time.

That's the tradeoff I found lor.

Checked the specs of the FH100, the lens is a bit slow, I was looking at below F2.8
With that10x zoom, I don't think we can get a fast lens.
I will get rid of my G10 and switch to Casio.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
Khorkar
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2978
Join date : 2009-06-19
Age : 42
Location : Sinkapoh

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:19 pm

Birdman wrote:
Still got meh? I thought discontinued oredi. New model is the FH-25 now. Not sure if it's in Singapore yet though?

The last i checked was abt 1-2 months ago.

I might want to give BHphotovideo a try. Buying online and paying for logistics, it is still cheaper.

LYL, thanks for the recommendations, are you planning to buy soon?
Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:57 am

Just sold my Cannon G10 and bought the Casio Ex-FH100 for $570.
Both are different class of camera, so it's hard to compare.
For picture quality especially, macro photography Cannon G10 beats Casio hands down.
But for high speed camera no other brand in the market can come close.

What I like about Casio:
1. High Speed
2. 24mm wide angle
3. Compact size
4. Good general photography
5. Value for money
6. Good build
7. 10x zoom

What I don't like:
1. Poor Macro
2. User interface (lack of direct button, too much menu driven)
3. Limited AP and SP range

Conclusion:
Basically Casio is only good for high speed filming and some point and shoot photography.
If you are a more serious photography and want to have a compact camera as a back up to your DSLR, Casio cant't do the job.
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:11 am

This close up shot was taken with Cannon G10.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:12 am

This shot was taken with Casio FH100



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:18 am

This food close up is by Casio.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:23 am

This food shot was by Cannon G10



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:24 am

Shot by Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:25 am

By Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:26 am

By Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Last edited by seebayho on Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:27 am

By Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:27 am

By Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Tue Jul 20, 2010 11:37 am

By Casio



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?   Today at 6:39 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Casio EX-FH100 camera - review and price?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Casio EX-F1 camera for golf professional
» Mizuno Charge iii Review
» Review: 2013 MG 350
» Question: Anyone knows whether there is any sale on oakly sunglass?
» Caddis Fly Rod Holder for $10

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Pro Shop :: Golf Equipment-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.