Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 What's the ruling!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
shorthitter
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals


Posts : 1725
Join date : 2009-06-17
Location : Laguna National Golf and Country Club

PostSubject: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:18 am

Training the caddies, on the green she marked the ball, while cleaning it she dropped it and it went in the water...

What's the rule, anyone know?
Back to top Go down
http://www.2telgolf.com
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:23 am

Why bother about the rules??.... Jump into the water and retrieve it
Back to top Go down
mizzy
Incredibly Active Golfer
Incredibly Active Golfer


Posts : 2702
Join date : 2009-12-11
Location : golf club graveyard

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:19 am

i suppose if you can retrieve it, no penalty.
if not use another ball will incur penalty.. i heard the penalty for using a different ball on the PGA commentary on saturday now i forgot..
Back to top Go down
mloy
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 4560
Join date : 2009-09-11
Age : 87
Location : East

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:41 am


I would think its not the fault of the golfer. So use another ball????? What's the answer? bounce

_________________
Laughter is the best medicine


Last edited by mloy on Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
rb990
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 23
Join date : 2010-08-04

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:09 am

If you can retrieve it, no penalty.
If the ball has to be replaced, 2 shots or loss of hole.
Quote :

15-1. General
A player must hole out with the ball played from the teeing ground,
unless the ball is lost or out of bounds or the player substitutes another
ball, whether or not substitution is permitted (see Rule 15-2). If a
player plays a wrong ball, see Rule 15-3.
15-2. Substituted Ball
A player may substitute a ball when proceeding under a Rule that
permits the player to play, drop or place another ball in completing the
play of a hole.The substituted ball becomes the ball in play.
If a player substitutes a ball when not permitted to do so under the
Rules, that substituted ball is not a wrong ball; it becomes the ball in play.
If the mistake is not corrected as provided in Rule 20-6 and the player
makes a stroke at a wrongly substituted ball, he loses the hole in match
play or incurs a penalty of two strokes in stroke play under the
applicable Rule and, in stroke play, must play out the hole with the
substituted ball.
Back to top Go down
tronos
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1121
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:22 am

can the caddie mark and pick up the ball?
Back to top Go down
rb990
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 23
Join date : 2010-08-04

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:37 am

I believe so, in fact, I believe even other players can do so. No mention of any penalty in the rules.
Quote :

16-1b. Lifting and Cleaning Ball
A ball on the putting green may be lifted and, if desired, cleaned.The
position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted and the ball must
be replaced (see Rule 20-1).
Back to top Go down
navik
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 260
Join date : 2010-01-05

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:44 pm

weesern wrote:
Why bother about the rules??.... Jump into the water and retrieve it

If the caddie is a beautiful hot chick and wearing a white t shirt, i support weesern's suggestion to ask the caddie to jump into the water. i believe there will b no penalty in this case Razz
Back to top Go down
X-Man
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 402
Join date : 2009-06-17
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:53 pm

So in other words, if the ball cannot be retrieved, the player will play with a substituted ball with 2 strokes penalty in stroke play.
Back to top Go down
shorthitter
Golf Professionals
Golf Professionals


Posts : 1725
Join date : 2009-06-17
Location : Laguna National Golf and Country Club

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:27 pm

Yep, ripped off right, clumsy caddy 2 stroke penalty... especially annoying if the birdie putt was less than 2 feet...... Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
http://www.2telgolf.com
weesern
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1594
Join date : 2009-06-21

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:38 pm

2 feet birdie? Push the caddy into the water!!
Back to top Go down
mloy
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 4560
Join date : 2009-09-11
Age : 87
Location : East

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:41 pm

weesern wrote:
2 feet birdie? Push the caddy into the water!!


ROFL That's a good one.

_________________
Laughter is the best medicine
Back to top Go down
garfield
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 217
Join date : 2009-09-13
Location : Latitude: 1º22´ North of the Equator, Longitude: 103º48´ East of Greenwich

PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:51 pm

weesern wrote:
2 feet birdie? Push the caddy into the water!!

Beer

ROFL
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: What's the ruling!   Today at 2:36 am

Back to top Go down
 
What's the ruling!
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Ruling on hitting consecutive shots into OB.
» Golf Rules: Post YOur Q here
» Question on golf rule
» BUAFL
» Preferred lies ruling?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: Golf Academy :: Golf Rules & Etiquette-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.