Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.

HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 

Getting back into Golf again, need some advice

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
hoppie
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer

PostSubject: Getting back into Golf again, need some advice   Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:50 am

Thanks for taking time to read my post, my virgin post here.

I started playing golf in 2004 and stopped for quite a while can't recall when but i think it's 2006 or 2007 that i stopped due to changing job and no kakis.

Recently decided to pick up the game again as my best friend was influence by his colleagues to start playing again, ok they are crazy over it just like when i started Razz

I got full set of equipment though abit old, some grips are already old till it disintegrate. Below are my Equipments inventory

Irons:
- Callaway Hawkeye 3 to 9 + SW + PW
- Cleveland 60degree Wedge

Woods:
- Taylormade R5 Driver with a custom shaft 55
- Taylormade vSteel FW3
- Kasco Tornado Hybrid 3

Putter:
- Odyssey 2ball putter

I just got back to the range tonight with my best friend after a long long break, still able to hit some balls surprisingly but miss like 20% of the shots though.

Like to get some advise here, should i go take up a refreshment course again? Ok i do not have handicap or PC, i was not very good anyway, played alot last time but din't improve Sad

Another question is regarding the Driver, i am thinking of getting a Stiff driver, may i ask the expert here what is the difference between my ancient eqn and the newer technology ones? As you can see mine are quite old.

My dilemma regarding the Driver is the grip was rubber and already disintegrate, should i get the grip done or ditch it and get a newer technology driver?