Golf Republic Forum - Singapore's most active golfing forum.
 
HomeFAQCalendarRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
pocketace
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2087
Join date : 2009-11-30

PostSubject: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:32 am

Folks
as 2010 comes to an end. I look back at the state of my game last year and gave my own assessment of my own strengths and weaknesses

I'm resolved to work on my weakneses to improve my overall game. I'm sharing mine here. Care to share your thoughts?

Strengths: fw wood play and bunker play
weaknesses: driver, iron play from fw
Back to top Go down
pushslice
Caddy
Caddy


Posts : 5606
Join date : 2009-12-26

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:55 am

I'm pretty happy with my driving, hybrid shots and pitching. Quite consistent. Ok distances.
My iron play and putting was very erratic, sometimes good sometimes poor
My chipping was poor all year long (despite hours of lessons and weekly green practice)
My fairway wood play is still non-existent
My mental strength is poor (missed putts) but getting better

my 2011 resolution: buy new irons, switch to left hand putting, buy new fairway wood Laughing, few hours of lessons to hit woods and green practice with Slinger
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:27 pm

Seriously Bro PS, your tee to green is pretty good....so keep it up, I am sure your short game will be sharper.

Now....mine:

2010 post mortem
1. My driver has always been my weak link.....too short and if I push anymore, I will pull or do power fade

2. I beginning to feel that my irons are slightly better now. I am satisfied.

my 2011 resolution:
1. Need to invest in training my fairway wood

Back to top Go down
dmateo
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 1103
Join date : 2010-09-19
Location : Singapore

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:31 pm

Mine.
1. Driver is sh!t. Sorry but if 5 wood and 3 wood out drive driver that just means driver is crap.
2. Iron consistency goes down the hill.
3. Gym is destroying my game but got some pointer to work on the balance and trying to work on that.
4. Need to train more on putting

2011 resolution
1. Get weight down to 70's
2. Get a single swing for iron, wood and driver (hopefully can drive more than 200m)
3. 50% time for putt, chip and pitch.
Back to top Go down
bkll
Junior Golfer
Junior Golfer


Posts : 227
Join date : 2010-04-22

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:15 pm

First post...

Happy clubs: Very Happy
1. Wedges - Reliable as a good old friend.
2. Putter - After 10 years of jabbing my short putts, finally keeping it under control
3. Irons: Inconsistent but on track for improvement.

Sad clubs: Sad
1. Driver: Inconsistent. Distance gets shorter every year.
2. Fairway woods and long irons on long par 3s. When it matters, these guys will betray me.


2011 resolution:
1. Do not fiddle with the swing. Stick to one pattern.
2. Be more consistent on par 3s.
Back to top Go down
JohnBGLee
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 313
Join date : 2009-09-19
Age : 54
Location : look at my avatar

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:56 pm

I would like to share my experience too

2010 - Game - hit another HIO in May, Break 80 fr white and break 85 from Blue.
Not bad for me - in term of my age - near 50 and 5th year into golf.

Clubs - My faithful Nickent #4 hybrid, #3 wood and #3 hybrid and iron - best friend.

Need improvement - Driver and #5 iron. Putting - Must "cheong" the hole.


Resolution - improve my tee shot (Driver) - learn to hit a draw. Wink - stay focus throughout the game.

Cheers.
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:58 pm

wah....another HIO.....you the man !!!!

The closest I got to HIO was I missed it by one stroke.
Back to top Go down
JohnBGLee
Senior Golfer
Senior Golfer


Posts : 313
Join date : 2009-09-19
Age : 54
Location : look at my avatar

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Duval_S wrote:
wah....another HIO.....you the man !!!!

The closest I got to HIO was I missed it by one stroke.

Every golfer's dream - surely your turn will come.
Just up by one club.

Back to top Go down
TigaWood
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2411
Join date : 2009-11-29
Location : www.HuatLeow.com

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:12 pm

Last year was not a bad year for me.
1. Had a HIO after 20 years of golfing.
2. Played a personal best 9 hole on blue Tee in Ria Bintan last month with a one over.
3. After feedback from GR on my swing video, my ball striking improve. Used lesser hand and more core muscle.
4. Putting got better after a tip from DGMan.

Still chasing for my extra 20M drive.

Believe this year my swing will be better!
Back to top Go down
http://www.HuatLeow.com
Slicer51
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2449
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 59
Location : Surabaya

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:30 pm

I hope you all do not mind I share mine too. I am 2-1/2 years into golf ( start very late, those whom know me, knew my age ).

Last year have been good year in my journey of golf.

- Had played 95 rounds in 2010.
- Having a hcp 28 in Jan 2010 and won 11 trohies in my small local society golf club tournament.
- My club dropped my hcp from 28 to 24 to 21 to 18 and now 14 ( now I suffer to play at my hcp Sad
- Driver : weak in the begining, tend to slice more often. improve by March, hitting more fade but distance only 180 to 190 m. By june distance improved to 200 m. Near end year about 210 to 230 m only ( add rolls of course )
- Irons : Always seems okay with short irons .. still weak with i5 up
- Recuse club : hitting well .. no complain
- 3 wood : only 50 / 50 chance in hitting well.
- chipping : ok ok but seems to be sharper near end of the year due to my coach.
- Bunker : I do not seems to hit well on hard sand (thin sand or wet sandn). Hit better in soft sand ( deep sand ). Still afraid of bunker in the begining of the year.. more confidence near 3/4 qtr of last year.
- Putting : sack ! good and bad .. distance control got better after teaching from my coach. avg put of 1.8 only.
- Bigger problem : I have a mental block in end Oct until mid Dec. My game was so bad until that I am afriad of the ball druing my address. Got back to my coach and spend 1/2 just talking about mental game. I brought a book called Zen golf The Mental game of golf from BFG. some of the topic reflect actually in my mental block stages. Very interesting indeed.


2011 Resolution :
- Try to play my hcp of 14 consistanly. I think I am most in 18 now
- Try to learn and understand the mental games and how to stay in control during my round or tournment
- Need to hit closer to the pin on my bunker shots
- Need to sharper more on my short chipping to get more up & down
- Need to improve my putting. I know it is not in my stroke, it is in my brain.
- Last of all .. Hope to able to have couple of round of golf with GR memeber here, when I am back in Singapore.




Back to top Go down
b.b.carabanesis
Newbie Golfer
Newbie Golfer


Posts : 92
Join date : 2011-01-03

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:20 am

Slicer51 wrote:
I hope you all do not mind I share mine too.

I mind but you already post and I already read. How?
Back to top Go down
Duval_S
Hall of Fame Golfer
Hall of Fame Golfer


Posts : 8185
Join date : 2009-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:24 am

Quote :
b.b.carabanesis wrote:
Slicer51 wrote:
I hope you all do not mind I share mine too.

I mind but you already post and I already read. How?




hmmm.....such post looks familiar...

welcome back?

Back to top Go down
Technospaz
Advisor
Advisor


Posts : 15650
Join date : 2009-06-18
Age : 41
Location : Typically OOB

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:24 am

b.b.carabanesis wrote:
Slicer51 wrote:
I hope you all do not mind I share mine too.

I mind but you already post and I already read. How?

Live with the pain?

_________________
Clearing my Storeroom of golfing goodies. Please help support Smile

"A ball will always come to rest halfway down a hill, unless there is sand or water at the bottom." Henry Beard
Back to top Go down
Slicer51
Super Active Golfer
Super Active Golfer


Posts : 2449
Join date : 2010-05-29
Age : 59
Location : Surabaya

PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:39 am

b.b.carabanesis wrote:
Slicer51 wrote:
I hope you all do not mind I share mine too.

I mind but you already post and I already read. How?

Thanks for writing again ? Laughing Laughing
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review   Today at 5:50 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Post 2010 Personal Golf Game Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 2010 Callaway Golf Catalog
» Vegas Golf Game
» MX-1000 Review
» Golf Digest Equipment Hot List 2010 is out!
» You may never trust another Golf Club review again

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Singapore Golf Forum - Golf Republic :: The Clubhouse :: Golf Talk-
Jump to:  
Friends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf RepublicFriends of Golf Republic
Copyright © 2009 Golf Republic. All Rights Reserved.